We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
133
125
71
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
125
71
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake crossingchillihuge fireplacerooms are spaciousgreat place to staysnow capped mountainsrestaurant menuviewspatagonia
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Wonderful site and hotel in a Chilean national park. We experienced this hotel while crossing the Andes from Chile to Argentina. If a quiet, peaceful, experience close to nature is your desire, this is the place. The crossing was spectacularly beautiful. I wouldn't do it in a hurry.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We stayed here overnight during our crossing of the Andes by buses and ferries from San Carlos de Bariloche to Puerto Varas. Some people make the total crossing in one day, but we were pleased we accepted advice and took two days. We consider that we would have absorbed less of the scenery etc, had we tried to make the crossing in only one day.
The six storey hotel is in two parts, both built of wood in a very Swiss style. The older section is only used in "high season". The dining room is very busy at lunch serving people making the full crossing in one day. All meals served to us, were very ordinary, at best. The dining room incorporates a huge Expresso machine, which we were told later, is only used to make how water. The coffee served at breakfast on the second day, was like nothing we had ever tasted before and hope to never come across again. It was pale, of a strange "un-coffee" colour and undrinkable. The breakfast waiter seemed to be a clone of Manuel, from the TV series Fawlty Towers.

Our room was quite large and comfortable. It had bed lights and adequate heating. The security safe was the smallest we had ever seen & almost useless.

The excursions on offer did not appeal to us. But the hotel nestles just in front of a high steep escarpment, covered with very thick and varied vegetation, and complete with cascades and waterfalls. After travelling non-stop for the past three weeks, we were glad to have a break and to be able to amble up the various paths through the jungle, to listen to the birds and generally to simply absorb the pleasant environment.

Room Tip: There is minimal noise from the very limited traffic using the unsealed road in front of the hotel. Views from the front rooms are good.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dstargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

After a long morning travelling from Puerto Varas to Peulla, it was wonderful to stop & take in the relaxed atmosphere. A really pretty, quiet, restful place to stay.
Beautiful vistas, good food......

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the mountains
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

I love to stay a few days with the all-inclusive promoción. This ideal location is sure to reduce tension and stress. The tourists pass through at midday and then the place is quiet. Staff is friendly and helpful. Food is plentiful. Have been visiting here since 1966.

Room Tip: All have spectacular views
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerCello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The overnight stay at this hotel was an integral part of our crossing the Andes by boat and motor coach. There really wasn't much to do, but we were all struck by the beauty and peacefulness of the place. The hotel reminded me of accommodations at our own U.S. national parks -- simple, but clean and comfortable. The food was fine, if not fancy. Staff was unobtrusive but helpful when needed.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bryen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews