We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
wilkiaj
Brisbane, Australia

Busy due to the mining boom, but very clean

Review of Hotel Koniambo
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Nov 2011
Enjoyed my stay there, breakfast was good and the buffet at night was excellent for money , although the quality of the prawns was below average

Date of stay: November 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
S$157
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$157
1.4 km from Hotel Koniambo
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
2.6 km from Hotel Koniambo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pacifik Appartels
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Hotel Koniambo
Free Wifi
Free parking
S$122
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$122
6.5 km from Hotel Koniambo
Free Wifi
Free parking
chambre
    3.6 km from Hotel Koniambo
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      S$196
    • Priceline
    52.0 km from Hotel Koniambo
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Piscine
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    43.4 km from Hotel Koniambo
    Free parking
    Pool
    • Agoda.com
    15.0 km from Hotel Koniambo
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    41.8 km from Hotel Koniambo
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    63.5 km from Hotel Koniambo
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Kone
    Reviews (159)
    Filter reviews
    159 results
    Traveller rating
    10
    51
    52
    33
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    10
    51
    52
    33
    13
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    17 - 22 of 159 reviews
    Reviewed 21 October 2011

    We stayed one night in a Junior Suite. The room was big and cleaned but furniture was very essential therefore the atmosphere inside was not really warm.
    The same for the restaurant that was more like a canteen and price was pretty expensive compared to what the buffet offers.
    Staff very kind and helpful. Beautiful tropical garden and good position.

    Date of stay: September 2011
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank CleoBs
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 July 2011

    If your on holiday give this place a miss. Very expensive bog standard motel room for the price of a 5 star hotel in Auckland. Managed to get a slightly better room by paying extra otherwise we were going to choose the car to sleep in. Staff friendly and helpful, but you would only want to stay here if a business paying and your working locally. They offered a buffet at a high price, but the atmosphere was so terrible we ate at another hotel. Refurbishments ongoing and cannot find anything to recommend it.

    Date of stay: June 2011
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank JimStrider
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 February 2011

    We arrived from New Zealand in November and Hotel Koniambo has been "home" for the last 11 weeks and possibly the next two as well.
    Built 4 yrs ago, Hotel Koniambo is comfortable, clean and well presented. The staff from the groundsman to room service ladies and receptionists are friendly and helpful. The receptionists have good English, (though it is helpful to greet in French). My husband and I have an airconditioned duplex mezzanine apartment with a kitchenette... (1 of 8).
    We have not used the restaurant which is very popular locally for lunches and dinner.
    The lead up to Christmas was a little noisy with year end parties, but it is usually very quiet. I rarely hear the aircraft that service Kone 4 times a week. The airport is directly opposite the hotel.
    Yes, we had a water cut in December. The water pump supplying all Kone was out of action for two days, but that is life. Internet connection is a little slow at times, but I have no complaints. I love the tropical gardens and the huge mountain range past the airport. Kone is a warm 2.5 km walk away.
    I would recommend Hotel Koniambo to friends and family.

    Date of stay: November 2010
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank seasprite_7002
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 December 2010

    We just left this "hotel" today Dec 10th - it currently has no running water. That is correct no flushing toilet, no showers and no espresso in the morning. The breakfast that was included in the room was nothing more than canned fruit, box cereals, runny scramble eggs, greasy bacon and sausage - I guess perfect for a mining but they too were complaining

    So do yourself a favor and stay clear of this road side motel

    Date of stay: December 2010
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Downwarddingo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 September 2010

    The hotel lacks outlook and ambience. Has the atmosphere of a truck stop on an Arizona back road and has motel type rooms at a resort price. The mining companies appear to be the main clientele here and the rooms are appointed accordingly. The staff were extremely friendly but they couldn't find my reservation for 20 minutes, gave me the price of the room when I arrived and then a different one (higher) when I left. I felt more like just another mining company employee than a valued guest.

    Date of stay: September 2010
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Bill S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews