We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$88
TravelocityUS$88
TripadvisorUS$88
Orbitz.comUS$88
ZenHotels.comUS$94
StayForLong
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
9
48
52
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
48
52
33
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Stayed here on a business trip and found the staff helpful and friendly however my room was badly in need of an update as in deed is most of the hotel.

The Bar and Restaurant are a decent enough place to relax in however the buffet meal choices are limited and a bit disappointing with little variety or change over the 3 nights I stayed.

Plenty of secure off street parking if you have a vehicle with you.

If you are travelling North from Noumea I would suggest you try the new Sheraton Deva resort near Bourail. had lunch there one day and was most impressed from what I saw but not really convenient for me as i need to be in Kone for my work.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EmmanuelCebile, Manager at Hotel Koniambo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2015

Hello,
thank you taking time to send us your comment.
We plan some works of refreshment in the hotel during the year.
We have the formule Buffet for the lunch and diner at the restaurant.
Furthermore we have the snack at the terrasse Bar, close to the pool, for the Lunch
The hotel Sheraton Deva is a beautiful establishment, very recently opened. It is located in Bourail, at 1 hour driving of Kone. It is a hotel 5 stars with services very different from Koniambo
I look forward to welcome you at Koniambo.
Best Wishes
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The food was hit and miss but the accomodation for its rural locations was good. AC, large screen Tv's livley bar at nights was fun.

The hotel managment did their best to accomodate my needs despite causing a massive issue with washing my passport.

Enjoyed my time will stay again if im in region.

Room tip: get a second floor suite much better.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1984AlexH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for a single night in early July on our driving trip around Grande Terre. The rooms were fine. The bar was pleasant. There were a few tables of workers from local construction and they were all well behaved. The buffet dinner was very nice with freshly cooked fish and sausages and steaks. The breakfast spread was very nice also. The free wifi was adequate and kept the kids sedated. I wish we'd been able to explore the area a little more.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kent_L71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Outside of Noumea there is not a lot of choices for hotels in New Caledonia. I choose this hotel because I wanted to tour the north and it is probably one of the last decent hotels while heading north. There is not a lot of choices in New Caledonia for hotels outside of Noumea. It is such a shame because I found the Island to be breathtaking and underrated has a tourist destination. I found the hotel to be very nice. The hotel is used by a lot of the area mine workers. I was worried if they would speak english but the clerk at the desk spoke english reasonably well and was such a delight to talk with. The rooms were clean and the TV and had an english channel. The had a swimming pool with a bar area. The dinner buffet was good at the restaurant. They had lots of salads, some seafood including snails a variety of meats including Kangaroo,Veal, a variety of sausages. I agree with the others about the price. The hotel is a little expensive. However I do think it is on par with other hotels in the area and in New Caledonia. New Caledonia is not a bargain destination overall. If you come here and don't expect a five star resort I think you will be happy.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffbl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
René-Pierre D, General Manager at Hotel Koniambo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel, I will certainly pass them on to our staff.
Just to clarify: we belong to the chain of the Great Hotels of the North Caledonian, and you can find best hotels in the Northern Group to discover New Caledonia as the Hotel Malabou to POUM and Koulnoué Village on the east coast, to HIENGHENE.
Our hotels are simple but comfortable and welcoming, everyone speaks English, and our buffets are renowned for the quality of our food (local products).
Again thank you for your comments and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

New Caledonia is not necessarily famous for service, although the bar went up in many places in recent years.
In my eyes, and although the place in itself is nothing to write home about, the Hotel Koniambo sets the bar very high with the most amazing staff and dedication.
The 'Bonsoir' and smile at reception, a large and clean room, a good bed, the most effective waiters with the great and varied buffet at night made this week's stay in Kone a very pleasant one.
The manager who recently took over told me how proud he was about the staff that had taken ownership of their workplace and would do anything they can to make it a great experience for guests.
This is obviously not a seaside resort hotel, since it's about 2.5 k from the centre of Koné, across the street from Koné airport and at this stage mainly a hotel for people working on the newly built Koniambo Nickel mine and metallurgical complex.
If you wish to go for a run, expect to run along the road for about 1 k before you can take other streets/tracks.
I was there for three nights this week and the only trouble I experienced was with the WIFI network. It worked OK for emails on the first 2 nights (skype did not), but on night 3, there was just no way to making it work, no matter what I tried.
But since I had an excellent internet connection on the mine, the WIFI troubles were not really an issue and allowed me to enjoy the evening buffet and great service without working.

Room tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. If you're at the front, the noise from the bar & restaurant and from the main road can be annoying.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
René-Pierre D, Directeur général at Hotel Koniambo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your kind appreciation of our services, and especially our staff. As you can read on Trip Advisor, some reviews say the exact opposite, it is best that you be made ​​your own opinion. Our staff is helpful and smiling naturally, it is a "trademark" of Melanesian .... Your compliments on their work is a valuable reward, and I thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews