We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
32
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtsaint emilionpierreestatemeadowswinerycenturieschateautastinghostsbordeaux
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights on our two week journey through southwestern France and it was by far the best place we stayed at.

Pierre and Alix, the hosts, where so warm and welcoming. They helped out with anything and everything!

The Chateau itself is nothing but magical, none of the pictures you can find does it justice. It truly is a fairytale castle with a wonderful green surrounding of trees, meadows and vines.

This is our first 5/5 review we have given but if we could've it would have been 6/5.

/ Olle and Linnéa

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Olle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Chateaux de Pitray is the most perfect place to stay in Bordeaux: it is a real fairytale castle near Saint-Emilion, surrounded by forest and vineyards,and hosted by the lovely and friendly Pierre and Alix. We felt as we were their private guests!

We stayed three nights in the green room of 40 sqm with a bathroom of 25 sqm and separate toilet. A big and delicious breakfast was served in a classy dining room full of old and beautiful furniture and objects. The whole castle looks like it is taken directly out of a movie from the 19th century. So wonderful and royal!

We enjoyed the swimming pool, and had a very interesting tour in the Pitray winery. Pierre and Alix were very helpful and gave excellent tips for restaurants, other wine castles and things to see. They did everything they could to make our stay pleasant.

If you want to stay in one wine castle, Pitray is definitely the one!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014

Me and three friends decided to stay in Chateau de Pitray for a few nights on our road trip from the south of France to Paris in August and we are so glad that we did. Chateau de Pitray is stunning, picturesque and extremely comfortable. The pool was the perfect temperature to cool off in and the surrounding land and gardens were perfect for a picnic with a few bottles of their own beautiful red.

Pierre and Alix were both extremely welcoming and gracious hosts, the breakfast was incredible, they were always available for us to ask information, seek local advice and supply us with the picnic utensils needed for our mentioned picnic above.

I will definitely stay again when heading back to the region and I highly recommend anyone looking for accommodation to look no further, perfect for couples, friends and families.

Thank Pierre and Alix

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

A small group of my friends and I used Chateau Pitray as our home base for a week of bicycle riding. The chateau is an amazing structure which was constructed in the 1860's and has been maintained and updated in a very tastful manner. The five sleeping rooms and common areas are well decorated and everything fits together very nicely. I was in the Red Room which was huge with an equally large and well light bathroom. Pierre and Alix were very gracious hosts who always seemed to know what we needed. The meals were exceptional and well presented.

I would definitely come back here on my next trip to the Bordeaux region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family and I just had to spend a few nights at this wonderful dreamy chateau in France. The owners were very gracious and helpful when we arrived and the breakfast and wine tour were so special just for us. The estate has several themed rooms and we stayed in the green room that had an adjoining room and bath. The antique feeling and ambiance will last a lifetime. If you are in the area, this is a must for a stayover at a very reasonable cost. Check out their website for details on the rooms. http://www.chateau-pitray.com/

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimolandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews