We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent property, history and hosts!”
Review of Chateau de Pitray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardegan-et-Tourtirac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Pitray
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Stay here if you are looking for a unique, historical experience and a taste of local wine making flavor. It is the exact opposite of impersonal chain hotels.

Staying with Pierre and Alix, the Duke and Dutchess of the Chateau, is a magical experience. You travel back in time to a more distinguished era, and you dine and lounge peacefully as you imagine people did centuries ago while looking at the same vineyards. Pierre and Alix do a wonderful job of maintaining the property, as every oil painting, taxidermy, book, piano or decorative medallion is spotless and gorgeous.

A wonderful value, and unforgettable experience.

Definitely take a tour of the grounds and winery with Pierre. Their wine is delicious! Pierre even helped us pack a crate to bring home with us.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LifeAdventuresLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights on our two week journey through southwestern France and it was by far the best place we stayed at.

Pierre and Alix, the hosts, where so warm and welcoming. They helped out with anything and everything!

The Chateau itself is nothing but magical, none of the pictures you can find does it justice. It truly is a fairytale castle with a wonderful green surrounding of trees, meadows and vines.

This is our first 5/5 review we have given but if we could've it would have been 6/5.

/ Olle and Linnéa

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Olle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Chateaux de Pitray is the most perfect place to stay in Bordeaux: it is a real fairytale castle near Saint-Emilion, surrounded by forest and vineyards,and hosted by the lovely and friendly Pierre and Alix. We felt as we were their private guests!

We stayed three nights in the green room of 40 sqm with a bathroom of 25 sqm and separate toilet. A big and delicious breakfast was served in a classy dining room full of old and beautiful furniture and objects. The whole castle looks like it is taken directly out of a movie from the 19th century. So wonderful and royal!

We enjoyed the swimming pool, and had a very interesting tour in the Pitray winery. Pierre and Alix were very helpful and gave excellent tips for restaurants, other wine castles and things to see. They did everything they could to make our stay pleasant.

If you want to stay in one wine castle, Pitray is definitely the one!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014

Me and three friends decided to stay in Chateau de Pitray for a few nights on our road trip from the south of France to Paris in August and we are so glad that we did. Chateau de Pitray is stunning, picturesque and extremely comfortable. The pool was the perfect temperature to cool off in and the surrounding land and gardens were perfect for a picnic with a few bottles of their own beautiful red.

Pierre and Alix were both extremely welcoming and gracious hosts, the breakfast was incredible, they were always available for us to ask information, seek local advice and supply us with the picnic utensils needed for our mentioned picnic above.

I will definitely stay again when heading back to the region and I highly recommend anyone looking for accommodation to look no further, perfect for couples, friends and families.

Thank Pierre and Alix

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

A small group of my friends and I used Chateau Pitray as our home base for a week of bicycle riding. The chateau is an amazing structure which was constructed in the 1860's and has been maintained and updated in a very tastful manner. The five sleeping rooms and common areas are well decorated and everything fits together very nicely. I was in the Red Room which was huge with an equally large and well light bathroom. Pierre and Alix were very gracious hosts who always seemed to know what we needed. The meals were exceptional and well presented.

I would definitely come back here on my next trip to the Bordeaux region.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de Pitray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Pitray

Address: Pitray | Gardegan-et-Tourtirac, 33350 Gardegan-et-Tourtirac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Gardegan-et-Tourtirac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gardegan-et-Tourtirac
Price Range: $405 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chateau De Pitray Hotel Gardegan-Et-Tourtirac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing