We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Like Staying in the 1800s”
Review of Chateau de Pitray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardegan-et-Tourtirac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Pitray
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Staying here made me feel like I living in the late 1800s. Not only does this the chateau have INCREDIBLE curb appeal, we got this wonderful sense of peace on Day 1 of our stay as we walked through the forested pathways. As we walked around the castle/chateau, we went from forest to field to vineyards.

Our rooms had 14-foot ceilings, possibly higher, with a massive ensuite as big or bigger than most hotel rooms we stay at. The bed was great (I’m very fussy when it comes to beds). Owners Pierre & Alix have done an incredible job as custodians of this 500-year-old family property. The heritage in the windows and doors is so well preserved; and the walls—great old wallpaper or wood paneling, with an 8’ x 4’ coat of arms, along with many family portraits from 3 or 4 different centuries.

Pierre is a classic French gentleman, ex-Navy but with a quick wit. His sense of humor is as dry as his wine (which I thought was a bargain at 17 euros!). If you ask him he will give you a tour of his winery. He’s in the Castille Batillon appellation, only a few kilometers outs of the more famous (and much more richly valued, he sighs with a wry smile) Saint Emilion appellation.

Breakfast was traditional French breakfast, along with eggs—different breads, tea & coffee and various fruits, yogurt etc. Each morning at breakfast you overlook the meadow. I didn’t know whether to expect to see Snow White or a herd of deer come out from behind the forest edge into view while eating, but that’s the setting you get.

Pierre—who speaks good English—also had some great suggestions for dinner and day trips.

We did swim in their HUGE inground pool one very hot day, along with their grandchildren. There is no A/C, but the thick stone walls of this chateau--built in 1868--are a very cooling insulation.

It was the best experience. I wish our scheduled allowed us to stay longer. We will return.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are equally beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilandgasinvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2016

Stay here if you are looking for a unique, historical experience and a taste of local wine making flavor. It is the exact opposite of impersonal chain hotels.

Staying with Pierre and Alix, the Duke and Dutchess of the Chateau, is a magical experience. You travel back in time to a more distinguished era, and you dine and lounge peacefully as you imagine people did centuries ago while looking at the same vineyards. Pierre and Alix do a wonderful job of maintaining the property, as every oil painting, taxidermy, book, piano or decorative medallion is spotless and gorgeous.

A wonderful value, and unforgettable experience.

Definitely take a tour of the grounds and winery with Pierre. Their wine is delicious! Pierre even helped us pack a crate to bring home with us.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LifeAdventuresLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights on our two week journey through southwestern France and it was by far the best place we stayed at.

Pierre and Alix, the hosts, where so warm and welcoming. They helped out with anything and everything!

The Chateau itself is nothing but magical, none of the pictures you can find does it justice. It truly is a fairytale castle with a wonderful green surrounding of trees, meadows and vines.

This is our first 5/5 review we have given but if we could've it would have been 6/5.

/ Olle and Linnéa

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Olle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Chateaux de Pitray is the most perfect place to stay in Bordeaux: it is a real fairytale castle near Saint-Emilion, surrounded by forest and vineyards,and hosted by the lovely and friendly Pierre and Alix. We felt as we were their private guests!

We stayed three nights in the green room of 40 sqm with a bathroom of 25 sqm and separate toilet. A big and delicious breakfast was served in a classy dining room full of old and beautiful furniture and objects. The whole castle looks like it is taken directly out of a movie from the 19th century. So wonderful and royal!

We enjoyed the swimming pool, and had a very interesting tour in the Pitray winery. Pierre and Alix were very helpful and gave excellent tips for restaurants, other wine castles and things to see. They did everything they could to make our stay pleasant.

If you want to stay in one wine castle, Pitray is definitely the one!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014

Me and three friends decided to stay in Chateau de Pitray for a few nights on our road trip from the south of France to Paris in August and we are so glad that we did. Chateau de Pitray is stunning, picturesque and extremely comfortable. The pool was the perfect temperature to cool off in and the surrounding land and gardens were perfect for a picnic with a few bottles of their own beautiful red.

Pierre and Alix were both extremely welcoming and gracious hosts, the breakfast was incredible, they were always available for us to ask information, seek local advice and supply us with the picnic utensils needed for our mentioned picnic above.

I will definitely stay again when heading back to the region and I highly recommend anyone looking for accommodation to look no further, perfect for couples, friends and families.

Thank Pierre and Alix

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de Pitray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Pitray

Address: Pitray | Gardegan-et-Tourtirac, 33350 Gardegan-et-Tourtirac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Gardegan-et-Tourtirac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gardegan-et-Tourtirac
Price Range: $404 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chateau De Pitray Hotel Gardegan-Et-Tourtirac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing