We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$790
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Westin.com
US$709
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Hotels.com
US$797
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$797
TravelocityUS$797
PricelineUS$790
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
178
138
31
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
138
31
20
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2020

I hardly know where to begin. The staff to a man/woman is friendly, helpful and professional.
The best and most amazing example of this is that a staff member drove my passport, that I had left in the safe, to Chitose Airport, a 2 hour drive, so I would not miss my flight!
Everything works perfectly and the breakfast and dinner buffets are varied, healthy, and tasty.
The rooms are all two story little apartments complete with a fridge and counter space.
The onsen is modern with a lovely view over the mountain (when outside standing up)
Access to the ski hill is easily made by either a short chair ride or a 5 min ride in the monorail

Room tip: all the rooms would have good views and easy access to the elevator bank
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelskikayak1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WestinRusutsu, 支配人 at The Westin Rusutsu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Dear travelskikayak1111,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Rusutsu Resort again for your winter vacation. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with us here.
We are delighted to hear that you made it to the flight with your passport. We were so happy with how it turned out. Our team is always working hard to exceed guest's expectation and hearing your warm words is definitely our most proud time.
We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and relaxing, and we really look forward to welcoming you back, possibly near the future.

Until then be well.

The Westin Rusutsu Resort
General Manager
Atsushi Miyazaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020

We met up with several Japanese friends and had a wonderfully enjoyable stay. Here's a summary:

ABSOLUTELY GREAT:
- The onsen staff who found my wedding ring; I'm especially grateful even though reception could not provide a name. It's always so reassuring in Japan that if you lose something, there's a 99.9% chance that you'll get it back!
- Heavenly beds always unbeleivably comfortable providing a great night's sleep after long days of skiing.
- The team of Indonesian girls at the lobby lounge were always so joyful and engaging. Bravo!
- The food & drinks at the lounge for Platinum Members was very good
- The onsen was always fantastic both early morning and late afternoon
- Our Bi-Level suite was great for gatherings with our Japanese friends and will always generate happy memories
- Loved the Sony blue-tooth speaker with crystal clear deep sound
- The cleaning staff always did a great job.

ATTENTION REQUIRED:
- If you take the trouble to employ specialists to reach out to guests in advance then they should answer all the questions (and not create confusion, especially at check-in after tiring overnight travel).
- Bi-Level rooms with no toilet upstairs adjacent to the primary beds is a very poor archectural design.
- Occasionally my wife wanted to eat Japanese breakfast whilst I wanted Western food. The staff allowed us to do this even though we only one voucher for two of us ....but maybe one per person is a better method.
- Breakfast food was very good but did not vary at all over 6 days. How about some variety?

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank steveamcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 January 2020

This is our 6th stay at the Rusutsu Resort but the first time we have booked directly on the Marriott website as we were only able to book the week before we left. We were amazed to be told at reception that our exceedingly expensive rate did not include breakfast. Every other visit it was part of our room rate before and after Westin took over.The website did not give a breakfast option. We are Marriot members and our son works in a Marriott hotel in Australia. Reception staff were not helpful, when we queried breakfast not being included, their only comment was you have a very nice room. Our room is identical to the rooms we had previously! We have fabulous memories of our stays at the Westin and relaxing over breakfast. We hope the service improves during the week. It is also perculiar that with 3 adults in the room you only get 2 amenities packs. To the credit of housekeeping they provided, when requested, some bowls and spoons to eat what we could buy at the supermarket for breakfast. Previously we would have rated the hotel 5+ but price and lack of service might have us looking else where.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank Voyager65139810789
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
WestinRusutsu, Director of Sales at The Westin Rusutsu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Dear Voyager65139810789,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Rusutsu Resort for your recent stay.
Especially, it was your 6th stay with us. Thank you very much.

We appreciate for taking your precious time to share your experiences with us.

It is truly regrettable that our associate’s service did not meet your expectation especially about the breakfast option and amenity service for three people.

As for the breakfast option, we offer “stay for breakfast” package on the brand website. However, our receptionist should have offered the assistance with a clear explanation.

Secondly about in-room amenity, we arrange and change the set up depending on the number of adults. We will analyze what was missing and how improve these service issues. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, which occurred in your room.

We will share your important feedback with our related managements and take immediate action to exceed your expectation.

If there is a chance, we do hope you come back to the Westin Rusutsu Resort for 7th stay with us.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming back to The Westin Rusutsu Resort.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
The Westin Rusutsu Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2020

As stated in the title, this is a different kind of review because my friends and I did not actually stay here. The reason for this review was because I wanted to talk about how amazing the Westin staff were when my friends and I stupidly got ourselves stuck on the Rusutsu West Mountain for night skiing despite our RV being parked at the East Mountain. Unbeknownst to us, the gondola between the two mountains stops operating at a certain point and we were faced with quite the walk back to the parking lot. After talking to Nene and Tetsumi at the front desk, they graciously called for a van to drive us back to our RV... AND WE WEREN'T EVEN GUESTS!

Because of Nene, Tetsumi and Saiki (our driver) we are definitely going to come back and stay at the Westin Rusutsu and actively promote this hotel to any family and friends planning a trip to Hokkaido moving forward.

From the three lost Canadians, どうもありがとうございました。 あなたのおもてなしは非常に高く評価されました.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank richfitzwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 January 2020

Amazing resort with great facilities. Room slightly older in design but so comfortable. Lot's of great food options available.Mountain basically on our doorstep. My family and i had the best time here. We will be back.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jessicamA5669EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews