We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Aburaya Tosen(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$348/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Shibu Hotel(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Yudanaka Seifuso(Yamanouchi-machi)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Wafu no Yado MASUYA(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$377/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Shimaya Ryokan(Yamanouchi-machi)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hotel Tsubakino(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Shibu-onsen Kokuya(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$435
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Jinpyokaku(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$543
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
375
49
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
49
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslion dancesnow monkeystrain stationprivate rooftopthe ownerbreakfast and dinnertravel agentshiga kogenhot springsmanaging directortatami matstraditional japanese mealenglish speaking stafffree shuttleminute drivesister hotelsurrounding mountains
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable experience at our first traditionally Ryokan in Japan. The staff goes out of their way to ensure that guests are getting the most out of their stay.

For us, an Australian English-speaking staff member named Mitch was very helpful in making sure we were taking care of. He mad sure we had meals ready at the correct times and explained previously unfamiliar procedures at this style of accommodation. He also helped us plan some local activities during our two-night stay.

Our favorite parts of our stay in Yamanouchi were the snow monkeys, the private rooftop onsen, and the dining experience. The free shuttle service to the monkey park was a great convenience, though we elected to walk back to experience some of the local flavor of Yamanouchi (which we found really cool, despite many other reviews describing the town as depressing... albeit the town was very quiet while we were there). The rooftop onsen at Biyunoyado is totally worth the nominal fee... we used it twice and it was a comfortable way to experience an onsen. Finally, the food at Biyunoyado was anazing.... a really cool way to experience a broad range of traditional Japanese foods.

If we return to Japan in the winter, we'd absolutely return to Ryokan Biyunoyado in Yamanouchi!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank thGrassyKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Our expectations were high after our first stay in Dec 2012....however this time we were given a smaller room, as the hotel was full. We could not remember if there were english/chinese TV channels in 2012, but was a bit disappointed that there were not english or chinese TV channels in the hotel room this time. There was also no moisturiser in the hotel room, but such was provided in the onsen bath area, so it was OK.

The meals provided were good, and the staff who served us, has a bubbly character which made us feel very welcome. The onsen bath places were good, but this time, we were given small bath towel in the room, whereas in the past, such towels were readily available in the onsen.

Would have rated this ryokan an excellent one if not for some of the not so positives described above. The free pickup and sendoff at the train station were prompt and service was delivered with smiles.....which we liked!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank star06star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I visited specifically to ski Shiga Kogen and surrounding mountains. The Ryokan Biyu is surrounded by over 25 different ski areas, and is partnered with Epic Ski Adventures to provide amazing guided ski tours for all skill levels. Instead of staying at a sleepy hotel at the base of a ski mountain, visit this amazing ryokan for a culturally immersive experience.

The hotel's onsen (hot spring), which features an indoor, outdoor and rooftop pool, is perfect for relaxing your muscles after a day of skiing. When the snow is lacking, the friendly hotel staff can help with planning other day activities in the Yudanaka and Nagano area.

Can't wait to visit again next year!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the town of Yudanaka have great views of the mountain, and views of the sunset
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

If you're seeking fresh powder and runs for days, Nagano should be on your radar. This ryokan, or traditional Japanese hotel, is tucked in between a multitude of slopes in the mountains of Nagano.

I'm not a huge snow person, being from Hawaii, but I went to Park City, Utah a lot in my youth and learned to ski, snowboard, and ice skate there. I've been to Nagano a few times to snowboard, and this ryokan is by far the best accommodation I've stayed at while being here. The onsen in particular are spectacular. 100% naturally fed from a spring, this hotel has 3 different bathing areas - two are down stairs and are included in your stay (they alternate each day between men and women for either side so stay multiple days to experience both!). The third is a rooftop onsen with fabulous views and the same great water. This one requires a reservation with a fee but for me - especially with my tattoo making some Japanese uncomfortable - it was worth it. For the most part, however, a majority of the people staying in this ryokan are foreigners who either don't mind or don't care about tattoos, so feel free to go to the general onsen downstairs. And there are inside and outside baths in both of the downstairs facilities!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Just returned after staying 2 nites primarily to enjoy the onsen and visit the snow monkey park. Hotel is located near the Yudanaka Station. Shuttle was waiting there for incoming guests to take us to hotel. MItch, a foreigner from Australia who worked at hotel was there to explain check-in process in english. He was very knowledge and friendly. Other workers also also spoke a little english. Half board (breakfast/dinner) was included in our room rate. Recommended, since there were not too many restaurants in area and would be difficult to get to trekking in the snow. Meals were delicious Japanese fare.
Unfortunately, we were told that the snow monkey park was closed the last few days due to heavy snowfall and they did not know when it was going to be reopened. We were disappointed and we able to stroll to nearby Shibu Onsen which had many touristy shops, sake brewery, etc. The morning we were leaving the hotel notified us that the Snow Monkey park had reopened and they would take us there in the morning before our 1130 train. What service....Snow monkeys were quite an experience and were able to make our train on time.
Highly recommend this hotel for the friendly accommodating staff, great location, ono food, nice onsen and overall Ryokan experience.

Room Tip: Include half board (breakfast/dinner).
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bcfmats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews