We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & fuzzy hospitality in Nagano”
Review of Ryokan Biyunoyado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2017

My family stay at Ryokan Biyunoyado during the snow blanketed month of March 2017 was a very warm and fuzzy experience for us. From the most welcoming and friendly staff to the beautifully decorated rooms and most elegantly presented delicious meals made our stay an awesome experience! We dressed in an authentic yukata (casual evening kimono)every evening with footwear provided by our Japanese style inn. We were transported by the staff to see the snow monkeys and after a wonderful visit we soaked in the on property onsen (warm healthy natural mineral bath)! So relaxing! The wondeful time that we've experienced at Ryokan Biyunoyado, the gorgeous mountains, friendly village, and visit to the ski/snow boarding slopes makes us want to return again! We were even able to sing at the karaoke room and shop for omiyage (gifts from the area) on the premises. So much fun! Ryokan Biyunoyado is a must to stay at when you go to Nagano!!!

Room Tip: The view of the mountains and village and private onsen on the balcony would be my suggested choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017

We stayed 1 night. The staff is extremely nice, no complaints, the ladies at the restaurant were cheerful and helpful, we were driven to the monkey park and to the train station and all in all the service was very good. Also the lobby looks quite nice and we haven't tried the onsen. But the accommodation was very depressing. The corridor was suffused in a heavy cigarettes smoke smell, the walls of the room dirty, the tiny bathroom looked as it haven't been renovated from the 70s and the food was not tasty at all. Totally not worth the price we paid around 320$ per night.

Stayed: April 2017
2  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

I suspect the majority of people will come to this spot only to see the Japanese macaque monkeys, who are absolutely amazing and well worth the journey. Walking up from the station it appears there is little else here in a rather run down town that suggests past prosperity, a gold rush perhaps? But now large long abandoned apartments with broken windows look rather forlorn. Anyway a warm and friendly welcome at this Ryokan and the excellent provision of a quick transfer by their mini bus to the snow monkeys was most appreciated. The authentic Japanese evening meal in a large dining area was very good, we dressed up and this is expected. Our room was spacious and warm, the bathroom was very small and dark, best avoided. Traditional breakfast, a bit of a culture shock, and no coffee, we were told to go downstairs and buy some in the bar! Overall a good one nighter to see the monkeys but nothing to eulogise about.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

If you are going to make the trip to see the famous Japanese Snow Monkey (Jigokudani Yaen Koen) in Yudanaka or just visiting the Onsen (Hot spring bath) area of Yudanaka were natural hot spring water is abundant, then you should reward yourself by staying at Ryokan Biyunoyado Nagano. I visited April 19 and 20th 2017. I took the Shinkansen (bullet train) from Tokyo to Nagano (8,200¥ or approx $80.00 )in approx one hour thirty minutes. To get to Yudanaka you will need to exit in Nagano, which was host to the Winter Olympics in 1998. You will need to change from the JR train to the "Dentetsu" train line and get on the Rapid Express for approx one hour 1,200¥ or approx $11.00). When you book at Ryokan Biyunoyado, one of the staff will be waiting outside of the train station holding a sign with either your name on it or the hotel name. You will then take a short 5 minute ride to the hotel where the staff will be waiting for your arrival and to greet you with a deep bow. After you check inn the staff will escort you to your room and explain how everything works . I stayed in Suite Biyunoma, a traditional japanese style room on the seventh floor with my very own private Onsen on the patio outside. The Suite and Onsen was absolutely perfect. The Onsen was super clean and not too hot or cold. The room was fully stocked with all the amenities and everything one could think of or need. Your room also comes with a beautiful Yakata robe for you to wear to and fro the Onsen as well as dinner and also comes with an Ha Ten (jacket) to wear over your Yakata if you should so choose. Such details have been well thought out as when you enter the bathroom not only do the lights switch on and off automatically but even the toilet seat lid is automatic and of course flush too. Japanese toilets are the best in the world and most come with built in bidgets. My beautiful suite on the 7th floor has a great view of the city, surrounding mountains and with a rolling mountain river. I was a little skeptical of sleeping on a futon on the floor but it was really quite comfortable and the linens are of course top notch. The hotel also has rooms with western style beds if you prefer.
When you check inn you choose what time you would like to eat your dinner and breakfast. You go to the 8th floor at your chosen dinner time where the wait staff is waiting to greet you and have prepared a table for you accordingly as to how many people are in your party and wether or not you prefer western or Japanese style. Of course you should chose Japanese style. I was skeptical as to wether or not to order Japanese style, but I did. I can not even begin to tell you how delicious everything was and how unique it is as the presentation is gorgeous. All I can say here is that it's truly amazing and it's way more then just eating, it's an amazing experience all together that must not be missed.
So I can honestly tell you that if you deserve a treat and want to spoil yourself, choosing Ryokan Biyunoyado Nagano is a great choice and you won't be disappointed. In addition the two Onsen on the ground floor are also fully equipped and have indoor and outdoor areas. there is also two private Onsens on the roof that can be rented out for a very fair price and of course if your with your loved one or on your honeymoon that is a must do as well. There is instructions in your room printed in English for the novice Onsen user. The spas on the ground floor are not coed, but the rooftop ones are private so they're yours to use as you so choose.
The hotel also provides free transportation to and fro the Snow Monkey Mountain. The staff can advise you on all the details or look for my review in trip advisor on that. If you want to go skiing or snowboarding the hotel can make all of those arrangements as well. Even though the ski slopes were still open I did not have enough time to take advantage of the ski resorts. You can see many of the ski runs from the surrounding area and I must say that skiing there looks awesome as well.. So next year look for my review on the ski resorts in the Yudanaka area. Shigakogen is a Japanese National Park , has the highest altitude resort in Japan. There is many things to do and see in the summer as well with great hiking trails. Until then, take care, travel lots and travel far.
Paul (Paco) Klett
#50 plus countries

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Pacohonollulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigShaw, kuroko at Ryokan Biyunoyado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks, for your great write-up, especially about Biyu-no-ma room.
Your words humble biyu and staff.
Look forward to hearing/ reading your impressions of Shigakogen National park next time too.
Most appreciated
from Biyu (from Craig, sorry not to have met you this time)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We stayed for 2 nights and weren't expecting the welcome we received. Staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful. They even brought my son and I a coffee when we were sitting outside with our feet in the footpath!

We had 2 evening meals, both of which were Japanese cuisine and were of a very high standard. The waiting staff were attentive and very professional when serving and extremely friendly and chatty outside the dining room.

The rooms were large with all amenities you would need and the bars etc were good (provided you don't mind karaoke)!

Overall, an excellent experience with top quality service and facilities made this a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trent_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shimaya Ryokan
Shimaya Ryokan
#1 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
576 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Aburaya Tosen
Aburaya Tosen
#13 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
160 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
#6 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Yudanaka Seifuso
Yudanaka Seifuso
#3 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
238 reviews
Okushiga Kogen Hotel
#7 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
186 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shibu Hotel
Shibu Hotel
#11 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Biyunoyado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Biyunoyado

Address: 2951-1 Hirao | (Yudanaka Onsen), Yamanouchi-machi, Shimotakai-gun 381-0401, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Price Range: S$264 - S$630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Biyunoyado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Japanese Experience including Tatami Rooms & Magical Ryokan Dinner & Breakfast. A limited number of rooms have Westerner Orientated Beds. You'll feel the pride of Yudanaka's Mineral Springs in our 100% Natural Overflowing-Non-recycled HotSprings. Our staff will show a Ryokan tradition in an international atmosphere. Book the private 9th floor rooftop HotSpring Tub for your Floating Sake dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Ryokan Biyunoyado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Biyunoyado Hotel Yamanouchi-Machi
Ryokan Biyunoyado Japan/Nagano Prefecture - Yamanouchi-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing