We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Aburaya Tosen(Yamanouchi-machi)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Shibu Hotel(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$388
US$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$195
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Okushiga Kogen Hotel(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$170
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Wafu no Yado MASUYA(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$263
US$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Shimaya Ryokan(Yamanouchi-machi)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shunran no Yado Sakaeya(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$170
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Shibu-onsen Kokuya(Yamanouchi-machi)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$429
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Jinpyokaku(Yamanouchi-machi)
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$608
US$447
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
375
49
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
49
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslion dancesnow monkeysprivate onsentrain stationthe ownertaiko drumbreakfast and dinnertravel agentmanaging directorshiga kogenhot springstatami matstraditional japanese mealenglish speaking stafffree shuttlebeautiful experienceminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2017

We stayed 1 night. The staff is extremely nice, no complaints, the ladies at the restaurant were cheerful and helpful, we were driven to the monkey park and to the train station and all in all the service was very good. Also the lobby looks quite nice and we haven't tried the onsen. But the accommodation was very depressing. The corridor was suffused in a heavy cigarettes smoke smell, the walls of the room dirty, the tiny bathroom looked as it haven't been renovated from the 70s and the food was not tasty at all. Totally not worth the price we paid around 320$ per night.

Stayed: April 2017
2  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

I suspect the majority of people will come to this spot only to see the Japanese macaque monkeys, who are absolutely amazing and well worth the journey. Walking up from the station it appears there is little else here in a rather run down town that suggests past prosperity, a gold rush perhaps? But now large long abandoned apartments with broken windows look rather forlorn. Anyway a warm and friendly welcome at this Ryokan and the excellent provision of a quick transfer by their mini bus to the snow monkeys was most appreciated. The authentic Japanese evening meal in a large dining area was very good, we dressed up and this is expected. Our room was spacious and warm, the bathroom was very small and dark, best avoided. Traditional breakfast, a bit of a culture shock, and no coffee, we were told to go downstairs and buy some in the bar! Overall a good one nighter to see the monkeys but nothing to eulogise about.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

If you are going to make the trip to see the famous Japanese Snow Monkey (Jigokudani Yaen Koen) in Yudanaka or just visiting the Onsen (Hot spring bath) area of Yudanaka were natural hot spring water is abundant, then you should reward yourself by staying at Ryokan Biyunoyado Nagano. I visited April 19 and 20th 2017. I took the Shinkansen (bullet train) from Tokyo to Nagano (8,200¥ or approx $80.00 )in approx one hour thirty minutes. To get to Yudanaka you will need to exit in Nagano, which was host to the Winter Olympics in 1998. You will need to change from the JR train to the "Dentetsu" train line and get on the Rapid Express for approx one hour 1,200¥ or approx $11.00). When you book at Ryokan Biyunoyado, one of the staff will be waiting outside of the train station holding a sign with either your name on it or the hotel name. You will then take a short 5 minute ride to the hotel where the staff will be waiting for your arrival and to greet you with a deep bow. After you check inn the staff will escort you to your room and explain how everything works . I stayed in Suite Biyunoma, a traditional japanese style room on the seventh floor with my very own private Onsen on the patio outside. The Suite and Onsen was absolutely perfect. The Onsen was super clean and not too hot or cold. The room was fully stocked with all the amenities and everything one could think of or need. Your room also comes with a beautiful Yakata robe for you to wear to and fro the Onsen as well as dinner and also comes with an Ha Ten (jacket) to wear over your Yakata if you should so choose. Such details have been well thought out as when you enter the bathroom not only do the lights switch on and off automatically but even the toilet seat lid is automatic and of course flush too. Japanese toilets are the best in the world and most come with built in bidgets. My beautiful suite on the 7th floor has a great view of the city, surrounding mountains and with a rolling mountain river. I was a little skeptical of sleeping on a futon on the floor but it was really quite comfortable and the linens are of course top notch. The hotel also has rooms with western style beds if you prefer.
When you check inn you choose what time you would like to eat your dinner and breakfast. You go to the 8th floor at your chosen dinner time where the wait staff is waiting to greet you and have prepared a table for you accordingly as to how many people are in your party and wether or not you prefer western or Japanese style. Of course you should chose Japanese style. I was skeptical as to wether or not to order Japanese style, but I did. I can not even begin to tell you how delicious everything was and how unique it is as the presentation is gorgeous. All I can say here is that it's truly amazing and it's way more then just eating, it's an amazing experience all together that must not be missed.
So I can honestly tell you that if you deserve a treat and want to spoil yourself, choosing Ryokan Biyunoyado Nagano is a great choice and you won't be disappointed. In addition the two Onsen on the ground floor are also fully equipped and have indoor and outdoor areas. there is also two private Onsens on the roof that can be rented out for a very fair price and of course if your with your loved one or on your honeymoon that is a must do as well. There is instructions in your room printed in English for the novice Onsen user. The spas on the ground floor are not coed, but the rooftop ones are private so they're yours to use as you so choose.
The hotel also provides free transportation to and fro the Snow Monkey Mountain. The staff can advise you on all the details or look for my review in trip advisor on that. If you want to go skiing or snowboarding the hotel can make all of those arrangements as well. Even though the ski slopes were still open I did not have enough time to take advantage of the ski resorts. You can see many of the ski runs from the surrounding area and I must say that skiing there looks awesome as well.. So next year look for my review on the ski resorts in the Yudanaka area. Shigakogen is a Japanese National Park , has the highest altitude resort in Japan. There is many things to do and see in the summer as well with great hiking trails. Until then, take care, travel lots and travel far.
Paul (Paco) Klett
#50 plus countries

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Pacohonollulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigShaw, kuroko at Ryokan Biyunoyado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks, for your great write-up, especially about Biyu-no-ma room.
Your words humble biyu and staff.
Look forward to hearing/ reading your impressions of Shigakogen National park next time too.
Most appreciated
from Biyu (from Craig, sorry not to have met you this time)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We stayed for 2 nights and weren't expecting the welcome we received. Staff were very friendly and could not have been more helpful. They even brought my son and I a coffee when we were sitting outside with our feet in the footpath!

We had 2 evening meals, both of which were Japanese cuisine and were of a very high standard. The waiting staff were attentive and very professional when serving and extremely friendly and chatty outside the dining room.

The rooms were large with all amenities you would need and the bars etc were good (provided you don't mind karaoke)!

Overall, an excellent experience with top quality service and facilities made this a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trent_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This was by far the most traditional hot spring hotel, but still having a modern feel to it. Staying at this hotel definitely showed me how traditional they're and cultural. The food was so authentic it was such a great experience! I accidentally came down for dinner the first night and forgot to wear my kimono and learned about it, from then on I wore it haha!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stermaneric808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews