We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Shibu Hotel(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Ichinoyu Katei(Yamanouchi-machi)
US$234
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Aburaya Tosen(Yamanouchi-machi)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Jinpyokaku(Yamanouchi-machi)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Yudanaka Seifuso(Yamanouchi-machi)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Shimaya Ryokan(Yamanouchi-machi)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$86
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Yorozuya Annex Yurakuan(Yamanouchi-machi)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Senshinkan Matsuya(Yamanouchi-machi)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Wafu no Yado MASUYA(Yamanouchi-machi)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku(Yamanouchi-machi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
373
49
17
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
49
17
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslion dancesnow monkeystrain stationprivate onsenthe owner's wifetaiko drumbreakfast and dinnertravel agentview hotelshiga kogenhot springsmanaging directortatami matstraditional japanese mealbeautiful experienceenglish speaking staffminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place, the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, I have never received such hospitality.

Hotel is great and the room was brilliant, their is a private rooftop spa and the main spa on the bottom floor consists of a jaccusi style onsen and a main onsen.

The locals are so friendly and always willing to help


Well worth a visit

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Recently spent two nights at this Ryokan. I fractured a bone in my foot while hiking in the snow monkey park during my stay. They really took fantastic care of me and my family. In a stressful situation as this, being from out of the country, with only simple language skills, having to navigate an emergency room visit, cancel the remainder of our trip and navigate back to Tokyo via rail, this hotel really came through. They provided substantial support to make it easy for me to be seen in the emergency room with translation help and transportation from a staff member. Also, special shuttle service to Nagano train station. We received 5 star treatment and could not have asked for more. This hotel really stands out in the care they show their guests-the owner was personally involved in making sure we were treated well-a model of Japanese hospitality. Special thanks to Craig who assisted us throughout the difficulties-very friendly and capable.

Additionally, the room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, the dinners and breakfast very enjoyable. My only regrets was not being able to explore the town more and take advantage of the onsen. Would not hesitate to stay here again and hopefully will return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boodaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

How blessed we are to have experienced such an amazing ryokan! Biyunoyado is amongst our most wonderful and memorable experiences in Japan.

Upon checking in, we were very fortunate to meet the owners Masao-san and his lovely wife, Yuki-san; whom by the way, speaks perfect English. It is evident that the staff truly enjoy working at Biyunoyado, providing a level of excellence and warmth in hospitality that only comes from the heart. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and provided great suggestions of the quaint neighborhood, shops and nearby towns, which I strongly recommend to all visitors. As we encountered other ryokan guests from the United States, Australia, Europe and Asia, I was impressed with the multi-lingual abilities of some of the staff. For the most part and fortunate for us, the staff understands English, although perhaps for some, are a little shy/humble to converse.

We understand that Yuki-san designed The Issa Room we stayed in. She has an amazing and refined sense of style. The room is a seamless balance of eastern and western elegance and decor, with tatami mats, wood floors, a raised bed, leather recliner chairs, and an outdoor private bath with a panoramic view overlooking the town and picturesque mountains. After settling in to our room, we decided to unwind after a long day on the Shinkansen with a soak in the bath before dinner. It was peaceful and relaxing; and as if in slow motion, the fog rolled in...it was breathtakingly dreamy.

The meals (breakfast and kaiseki-style dinner) were beautifully presented and delicious. I simply had to pause to admire the amazing attention to detail - it was a work of art. The food was perfectly seasoned and the subtleties and balance in the law of opposites was flawless...the slightly salty, hint of umami, essence of bitter or sour, with the subtly sweet. I've never before described food as "magical"...yet, this is the one word that comes to mind. I get a little misty eyed when I think of the ringo shiso maki - heavenly.

As I write this review, I'm transported back to our experience at Biyunoyado and long to enjoy it once again. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Issa Room will be an amazing experience.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yoshioka808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We stayed here for a short visit while visiting Nagano area. The location is central to many of the activities in the area. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, they are multi-lingual.

We had dinner & breakfast in the ryokan and every meal was incredibly good. The dining areas are small rooms, so there is no problem with excessive noise and foot traffic.

The room was very clean and neatly presented. This was our first experience using an onsen, it was very relaxing to say the least. The room had two reclining chairs which were great for relaxing after the onsen. I really like the in-room nespresso machine as it is my favorite. The view from the room overlooked the snow capped mountains and the town below. In the evening, you can watch the residents of the town make their way to the publc baths. It is a very relaxing and peaceful feeling you get from this. Perhaps, it might remind you of being somewhere like switzerland.

We had very tight travel schedules, the staff & Yuki personally took care of our specific needs in order to make sure we made it to our station in time. There is a shuttle van which takes you to the local train stations and the monkey park. The van driver runs on a very precise schedule, so if you plan accordingly, you will get he most out of your day.

We cannot express our thanks to Yuki and her staff. We felt as if we were the most important visitors in the entire ryokan! We look forward to visiting this area again, when we do, we will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnCovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Upon arriving (very) early, we easily deposited our luggage after the usual administrative part. After taking our time getting through the town, onsen and having lunch, we checked in and were escorted to our very cozy tatami room. It's spacious enough, with a separate toilet and bathroom.

Dinner was a very elaborate Kaiseki (Japanese multi-course dinner) and was just enough not to feel too overwhelmed. The bath in the roof hot tub was perfect to relax for the upcoming night's sleep!

The beds were prepared during dinner (as usual with ryokans) and were very comfortable to sleep in. The next day, after breakfast, we left with much less jetlag and were ready for our next destination!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews