We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little taverna off the beaten track”
Review of Taverna del Borgo

Taverna del Borgo
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 May 2015

We stumbled into this place on a Sunday with no reservation, when this small family-run restaurant (mother waiting and son cooking) was completely full. The mother-owner-waitress offered us a table in 20-30 minutes, which was promptly ready when we were back after a quick visit to the splendid borgo of Castello di Serravalle. She was patient and accommodating in helping us with the selection, so we each tried two dfferent first courses (tagliatelle al ragu, mezzelune con ricotta e porcini), shared tigelle with local salumi, and all tried one yogurt mousse with blueberry, with local Pignoletto - all excellent. The place itself is small and welcoming, the service attentive (even if the owner-waitress gets very busy tending to all the tables by herself). In four we spent Eur 95, for four first courses, two portions of tigelle with salumi, one dessert, wine, water, and coffee. We will go back, as it makes a nice "gita fuori porta", but reserving first.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcellos375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2015

I often tell my friends going to Italy, rent a car and get lost, you will have the best experience. Castello di Serravalle is a gem of a little medieval town on the hills between Modena and Bologna and the restaurant Taverna del Borgo is outstanding. In this elegant yet simple place we had hand made pasta with marinated mushrooms, tigelle (a little round bread served with pork cold cuts, cheeses and veggies) and a delicious salamino which is a rich chocolate dessert with a hint of amaretto. Do make your way to this little town and have wake after a rich wonderful meal.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bidibibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2014

i've been here for a relaxing night! The location it's really amazing and romantic!! Perfect for a couple! The dinner also was tasty and very good! Prices also were good! We spent around 55€ for 2!

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank Fede_Ita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A wonderful small restaurant where we stopped by for dinner. Very reasonably priced and truly authentic specialities were the greatest feature of this excellent meal for our family of four.

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank SkidadJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This small taverna sited on the top of the hill in the small village of Castello di Serravalle is an excellent place to stop off and join with local people in having a lunch that reflects the area and at a very reasonable price.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna del Borgo also viewed

Castello di Serravalle, Valsamoggia
Castello di Serravalle, Valsamoggia
 
Castello di Serravalle, Valsamoggia
Castello di Serravalle, Valsamoggia
 

Been to Taverna del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing