We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Cape Kamui
from US$104.32
More Info
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
346
163
31
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
346
163
31
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking lot rented a car high winds few times worth the trip beautiful place amazing views tip end lighthouse walk cape sapporo otaru sea summer japan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2019

It is an amazing scene. Unfortunately, when we visited there, the weather was so poor with heavy rain and strong wind. we were unable to complete whole path but only completed around 1/3 of it. The journey from Sapporo takes around 2 hours by driving.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank raymondcW2764GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2019

It was a really nice and sunny day with a lovely strong sea breeze. We had driven for almost two hours from Niseko along the coast and arrived at around 10am. There were not many people on the walk. As we were about to start the walk a couple of guys came up and began shutting the gates and preventing people from going through. We had just passed the entrance and since the guys did not speak English, we could not understand at the time who they were or why they were preventing people from going through so we continued onwards (as did some others).

The panoramic coastal views were magnificent. The path although undulating, was not difficult. We could not complete the entire route because about 15 to 20 minutes later a guy came up and said the path was closed to all visitors because of strong winds.

We then returned the way we came. The guy went on towards the tip of the cape (most likely to get the other visitors on the path to go back).

Despite not being able to walk towards the tip of the cape, we felt lucky to have seen some of the views along the walk.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Fit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2019

It takes 30-45 min walk to the far end of the cape and about 30 min in return(no more photo taking). Very nice view and well maintained foot path. Best to go late afternoon to have great sunset view.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2019

We were waiting for a nice, sunny day to make this trip to the Shakotan Peninsula and to visit Cape Kamui. It seems like everyone else there had the same idea because it was pretty crowded.
The water was beautiful - a true Shakotan blue!
I could only make it half-way and never did get to the end because it took me almost a half hour to get to the halfway point. By that time, I was too hot and exhausted anyway. Also, I would have missed the last public bus taking us back to Otaru if I had gone all the way to the end.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank hawaiisensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2019

Highly recommended. Take the walk towards the tip of the cape to enjoy the magnificent views. Lovely sea breeze. The route goes up and down and is well paved generally with some flights to conquer. Doable for elderles if done at a slow pace with intermittent rests. Some sections are a little narrow but it was not so crowded and most visitors are considerate to let one party go by first. Alternatively turn body sideways and both and pass by. There are handrails along the path which helps. This Cape is nicer than Cape Shakotan because of this scenic path on it in my opinion. Must wear suitable walking shoes.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Sherwyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews