We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
48
12
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
12
8
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

a very well established hotel with sizable rooms. Stay in individual cottage that can stay up to 4 person. Bed is comfortable. TV available. Experience for dinner is not good as we are isolated in a separate place for dinner, a restaurant nearby, with half opened lights. We ate in a dim environment and in rush as there is only 2 of us having dinner there. Not sure if that is because a tour is occupying the whole main building as the staffs didn't explain at all. Food tasted alright but it is all pre-made and reheat with microwave.

Fridge is not available in room but there is a shared one in main building. Overall the room is clean and comfortable. Just not having good experience for dinner. Staffs cannot speak English or mandarin.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank sharonng620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
potato_pappy, オーナー at Biei Potato no Oka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.
During peak congestion periods, such as the sightseeing season in the summer, the rates will be higher. July 21 that you stayed on was in the most high season in Biei Town. The fare in the case of use by 2 people with breakfast and dinner will be 17,000 yen per person and the fare by 4 people will be 12,000 yen per person.
The dinner at the dining room of the main building had been almost fully booked by many tourists from China and some Japanese families on that day. We would like the customers staying in high-grade rooms to enjoy their dinner in quiet and comfortable atmosphere, so we asked the restaurant on-site “Blanc Rouge” to provide a table for you. However we are sorry that you felt uncomfortable with such our correspondence.
Although we would like to refrain from making comments about the dishes and the atmosphere of the restaurant because the management of the restaurant “Blanc Rouge” is different from our hotel “Potato Village," we often hear from a lot of our guests that they are satisfied with the meals and spending a good time in the relaxing home atmosphere.
Also, on that day, we had three staffs for English speakers and three staffs for Mandarin speakers at our hotel. We are sorry that we couldn’t help you when you needed help at the restaurant.
Those comments we received will be used as our important references and we will step up our efforts to meet our guests’ needs all the more.
Thank you very much for giving us many useful advice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile



We had a great 5 nights stay at Potato no Oka in Biei, Hokkaido, Japan during the flowers blooming season in mid of July 2016.
=The location is very good and close to a lots of point of interest such as Ken and Marry, seven stars, mild seven, Tomita Farm and etc. We can go to visit Lavendar farms easily.
=The room price is not expensive at all, we booked with dinner. It's really worth for money. The room is quite big and it's so clean.
=All the staffs are friendly and have a high level of service mind. The owner is very kind, he speaks good english and he is very helpful for advising the point of interest in the area.
=Foods are excellent here. We found that the foods are so good, the owner use fresh ingredients which produce from the farms in the area. The foods are very healthy and they are very delicious. For breakfast, we paid only 800 yen per person, but we had a lots of choice, such as bread, conflake, scrambled egg, sausage, salad, yogurt, milk and orange juice. Of course, it include english breakfast tea and fresh 100 percent coffee.

In short, we highly recommend to stay here, you will have a great times like we did and you won't be disappoint for sure.

Date of stay: July 2016
1  Thank jamkallaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
potato_pappy, オーナー at Biei Potato no Oka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

I am glad to hear that you had good time staying here at Potato no Oka. I like your photo with Yukata in the lavender field!! Yes, our location is very good. Potato no Oka is located in the middle of “Patchwork hills area”. Please come back here in winter because Biei is also beautiful during winter. You can enjoy cross-country skiing at our place. If you do not want to drive on snow, you do not have to drive because our driver will be able to pick you up at the station. Anyways, I am looking forward to hearing from you again next time you visit Hokkaido!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Me and my friend stayed here during winter this year as we wanted to do the cross country snow ski conducted by the hostel. This charming hostel is situated right on the patchwork hill and the dining area has a great view of the surrounding. Our western style room has a view that look out to the field with a small hut.

We really enjoyed the cross country ski around biei hill. It totally surreal skiing through the hill, enjoying the view.

We are pleasant surprised when the owner came round during dinner time to explain about the food we are eating. The western style Breakfast was plentiful with cereal, toast, sausage, egg and milk/orange. dinner was a visual spread on the table.

Overall we had a good time here in biei due to the warm hospitality in potato no oka. Would definitely stay here again if we are coming back to biei.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craneyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
potato_pappy, オーナー at Biei Potato no Oka, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Thank you very much for your comment. I am very glad to hear that you could enjoy our cross country skiing tour. Cross-country skiing is very easy. It is like “walking” on snow. Many customers from overseas enjoy cross country skiing tour every winter. Please come back again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I visited in early May with my friends. When we first arrived, we were impressed with the buildings’ European-style and welcoming stained glass windows. Photographs of the beautiful views found in the surrounding areas were displayed on the wall inside the main building. Outside the main building, we found many romantic looking bungalows which are perfect for families. They also had a cute restaurant. Since this hotel is built on the Potato Hills, the restaurant listed a variety of potato dishes on their menu. I felt that the beef stew was one of their best dishes.

The friendly staff recommended places for us to visit, all within a day’s driving distance. Driving through open fields which were right next to the snow-capped mountains was very relaxing and memorable. We enjoyed the cool and crisp air while walking through the surrounding fields that were filled with wild flowers. I was surprised to even find butterbur along the pathways. I would recommend a visit to this location; it’s serene, beautiful and the people are great!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1985agneshayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
potato_pappy, オーナー at Biei Potato no Oka, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

I am very glad to hear that you could enjoy staying here. We have many customers who love taking photographs with big cameras. The photos of the beautiful views you found in the surrounding areas were taken by one of our customers. I hope that I will hear from you again next time you visit Hokkaido!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We had a wonderful time staying here. I stayed here with my husband and two children in August 2015. The staffs took time in explain the details of recommended places to visit. All the recommendations were worth visiting. If you want to see the flowers, you have to go in the right seasons. So research when the flowers you want to see are blooming. The owner came out while we were eating dinner and explained in details how and where each ingredient is grown and harvested, which was very nice. I have never encountered a restaurant or owner of a hotel who would take time in doing this wonderful things. For breakfast we could have both orange juice and milk, and plenty of food with 1.5 eggs on the plate!! My husband and children were happy with the breakfast. The surrounding nature is very relaxing. I was impressed that they planted sunflowers and other flowers right in front of the windows of the room we stayed. I really appreciated their sensitivity and thoughts. Very family friendly! I got to meet with other people from all over the world in the meeting room. You have to know that the whole town has some fancy atmosphere with clean facilities and cheese and wine. This means that all the hotels are a bit more than other areas in Hokkaido. Even so, this Biei Poteto no Oka was very affordable with great quality of food and services!

Room tip: We stayed in the Log house room called Hoshino Yume. It was very quiet and recommended for a family with children.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hanamomonoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
potato_pappy, オーナー at Biei Potato no Oka, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016


Thank you very much for choosing “Potato no Oka”. We have many families visiting from all over the world every day. Especially cottage rooms with private bathroom and kitchen are suitable for the families with small children. For families with children over 7 years old, log house rooms are also nice too. We will have the sunflowers in front of the log house rooms this year again! Anyways, thank you very much for staying at “Potato no Oka”. I am looking forward to hearing from you next time you visit Hokkaido!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews