We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$200
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laforet Club Hotel Hakuba Happo(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$154
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hakuba Hananosato(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
Hotel Stelle Belle(Hakuba-mura)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$174
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$158
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morino Lodge(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
US$379
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$601
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$408/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
91
12
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
12
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate onsenjapanese style ryokansmall dishesbeef shabu shabuomakaserice porridgeminute walk from the hotelski facilitiesjapanese breakfastthe busdeluxe roomnot hesitate to stay here againgood sizejapanese experiencefree shuttlesashimiyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2015

Glad I booked this ryokan. Stayed here for 2 nights. Love the serene environment. Excellent service. Always making sure you are comfortable and ever ready to lend a helping hand with a smile. We booked a room with a private onsen. Huge room with very comfortable beds. Love the private onsen. My 5 years old enjoyed it so much. Food is lovely. The breakfast and kaiseki dinner was so delicious!! We enjoyed our dinner there very much and regretted not having it on the first night. The staff even asked what my kid would like to have for tomorrow's dinner and they delivered it excellently. If you would like to have your meals elsewhere, there are plently of restaurants just within walking distance. Really couldn't find any fault with this ryokan. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the room with private onsen. No regrets.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba. How was the spring time in Hakuba? It must have been very refreshing and comfortable with a moderate weather. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our deluxe rooms with a private onsen. Yes, the spacious room and its’ private onsen is suitable for a family with small children like yours. We are also happy you loved our food. Please come and visit us again. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

Once again to experience the fantastic Japanese service spirit. It's a simple, comfortable Japanese Ryokan offer the best service. All staffs are friendly and helpful. Although we can't dine in the room, we still feel good quality time when we dine in the dining room. We stayed in their new suite this time and thanks for free upgrade for my birthday! I do appreciate all service from hearts. That's real service spirit. If you would like to experience Japanese style ryokan experience in hakuba. Different than western style hotel you can have around the world.Wanna enjoy skiing and hot apring! This is one of the great chice.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank skyjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Japanese style and had a relaxed time. And thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your precious birthday. We hope you had a wonderful one. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

We are dinner at the restaurant at this hotel while we were staying in Hakuba. The staff were very attentive and explained each course as it arrived. We ordered the most expensive set menu which included higher quality meat and fish such as wagyu shinshu beef. We enjoyed the meal which was the best meal we ate in Hakuba.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Wilcoxm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Thank you very much for dining at our restaurant. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba. It is our pleasure you enjoyed the dinner. We are proud of our elegant and delicate Japanese cuisines. All the ingredients we serve are carefully selected and prepared, and fresh seasonal ingredients are used for main dishes. Thank you very much for the good rating. Please come and stay with us next time. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

It felt like coming home and this was only our second stay here. We were travelling with friends who were staying for their fifth visit. At our first breakfast we saw a number of other people from our previous stay!

Tomohiko and his wonderful family and team cohesively and seamlessly run a very tight ship. They work extremely hard to make sure our stay is as comfortable as possible. We were travelling with two small children and I can't thank the Hifumi enough for all they did to enable our holiday to be as relaxing as possible. They went well above and beyond to assist us and I am very grateful.

We used the family onsen daily and dined in house on three occasions (the food is incredible as is the service.) I don't think I ever saw the same impeccable little porcelain dish more than once. I nearly took a photo of every course that came out! The price was well under what you could expect to pay for the quality and attention to detail.

The breakfasts, included in the cost of accommodation, were a choice of Japanese or western and you just decide the day before what time you would like it and you can trust it will be at your table the next morning; on time every time.

Location could not be better as it's 8 minutes walking distance to the bus station and spicy ski rentals within the centre of town. Tomohiko and team know every bus and train to advise you on anywhere and of course, other local information as well.

This time we had a standard room which I thought I'd be a bit sad about as last time we had a lovely big suite. It was still very lovely and big and we were really happy with our room. The rooms were comfortable and extremely clean and we enjoyed coming back to our room each afternoon to relax before our onsen and going to dinner. FYI there is an Asahi beer machine conveniently located enroute to the onsen. There is also a water fountain always available for a glass of water.

This is a lovely traditional Japanese guest house but what makes it so very special are the beautiful people who own and run it. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Whatever your style of room, you will be happy here.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank julesandheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Thank you very much for your continuous visit. We are very happy to see more and more guests coming back and staying with us every year. It was nice to see your family again. It is lovely but not very easy to travel with small children especially when you travel abroad. So it is good to hear that you could relax yourself at our hotel with a bit of our help. Thank you very much for all the good comments in detail and the good rating. Please come back. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile

This is simply a fantastic place to stay. The dinners were exquisite with the waitresses giving English explanations of how to eat each course. A few examples of the service-
Running late via a bus connection our driver called ahead to the Hifumi, he then gave us his phone where the manager of the Hifumi wanted to know what we would like for dinner on our arrival, not thinking too much we said teriyaki, tomago, tempura and sushi and it was waiting for us on arrival ( and it was great food).
Another example- at dinner the waitress wanted to know if we had any requests. My son said tayaki (bean filled fish shaped pancakes) they had a giggle and we worked out this is more of a street stall dessert dish. At breakfast there were tayaki! I suspect one of the staff got them on their way home after dinner and brought them in for
us.
Wifi was great in our room and the private onsen very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Thank you very much for your stay. We are really happy for the wonderful meeting with you at this modern-Japanese hotel in Hakuba. We are happy to hear that you liked our dinners. And taiyaki was a good one, wasn't it? We have some dinner courses, but we are open to listen to your requests as much as we can. All the staff are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again with nice food, comfortable onsen, and smiles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews