We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Laforet Club Hotel Hakuba Happo(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$324
US$292
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$157
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
US$275
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hotel Stelle Belle(Hakuba-mura)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morino Lodge(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
90
12
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
12
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate onsenjapanese style ryokansmall dishesbeef shabu shabuomakaserice porridgeminute walk from the hotelski facilitiesjapanese breakfastthe busdeluxe roomnot hesitate to stay here againgood sizejapanese experiencefree shuttlesashimiyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hakuba Hifumi in the Nagomi suite for 5 nights early January. It was an amazing experience and well worh the money we paid. The staff were well versed in English, extremely helpful (brought me breakfast to my room when i was not up for dining downstairs) and were just downright genuinely happy to help with everything. They organised our ski passes when we arrived, lessons at the drop of a hat, transport, EVERYTHING! The facilities were top notch as was the food, the room was enormous and the bed suprising comfy. We enjoyed our stay immensely and are disappointed and sad we couldnt extend it. 5 stars all round for this incredible hotel and the effort the staff put in for an amazing experience all round.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ashleighnewton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you very much for your stay. It is our pleasure you enjoyed your stay.

I was really worried about you on the first day when you could not ski down the mountain due to snow shortage, making you very unconscious. So we all the staff felt relieved just seeing your wife’s lovely smile at the time of departure!

We will start renovating Hotel Hakuba Hifumi in this spring to make much more comfortable rooms and a lounge etc. newly.

Please kindly visit Hakuba again.
We are hoping we will have a lot of snow in the next winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Make sure you stop here for some gorgeous Japanese dining! We had a dinner with family here and we were so pleasantly happy! The set meals were served in traditional beautiful Japanese presentation- the staff were so eager to help we felt so welcome! Even at the end of the meal- when it was snowing heavily and late in the evening- before we even had the opportunity to ask they offered us a curtesy drop off back at our hotel! Make sure you have the Almond jelly desert- the sashimi and sushi are all top class!
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Celia-Jane U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, マネージャー at Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel.

You all are such a heartful family and made us very happy.

Hakuba does not have enough snow yet, but we are sure you will enjoy Hakuba's great powdery snow during the rest of your stay!

We look forward to seeing you again here in Hakuba.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Great place for the family. Service was excellent. Dinner was really good - recommend shabu shabu set. The room we took was the Nagumi room that had a separate bathing area with the hot spring water - big enough for 4. A bit on the high side in cost for this room. Other rooms are great too

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel.
We are sorry for the snow shortage, but feel happy to hear you actually enjoyed your stay. We will keep try our best to make Hakuba more enjoyable not only in skiing but also in other entertainments. Please visit Hakuba again.

We will renew our hotel from the coming spring throughout summer.
A Luxury room with private onsen and a healing & relaxing space will be newly ready. Number of guest rooms in our hotel will be totally 10 after the renewal, compared to 13 which we have now. We are sure it will give you much more peaceful space and time to relax. Please come and visit us again to experience the renovated!

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

A place with the best host, small family run hotel, everyone in the team is always there to help you with anything you need, be it ski information, restaurants, directions. The owner is there to greet you and make sure your stay is good. The food in the restaurant is also superb, make sure you do the dinner omakase!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jktravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thank you very much for your visit to our hotel.

We’re sorry you could not enjoy good skiing because of snow shortage in the mild winter. For the next winter season, however, we are hoping that you will enjoy Hakuba’s real powder-snow!

Please come to Hakuba and visit us again! Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

The Hifumi is my favourite place to stay anywhere in the world and the owners & staff make us feel like returning family. This was our third stay here.

On this visit we opted for a standard traditional room. It was a great size and we had room for a sitting area also. The bathroom was also a good size with ample toiletries and towels.

Arrival (& departure) transfers are offered as well as shuttles to Happo ski field - although it's only a short walk through the village if you decide to walk as the village is at the base of the mountain. The visitor centre is only a couple hundred metres also.

The hotel onsens (which we booked for an hour each day) are a welcome relief at the end of the day, as is the asahi beer machine.

The breakfasts are plentiful and I look forward to their granola so much! Their dinners are an absolute show-stopper though and at a price too good to be true.

The great joy we feel from coming here though has so much to do with the family who own it and the staff they have there. Such beautiful people who it seems cannot do enough to ensure your comfort.

We are already looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank julesandheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hakubahifumi, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel Hakuba Hifumi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel. We were very happy to see you again.
It is a pity we faced lack of snow this season. For all that, we could see your wonderful smile again and we were all delighted.

We will keep trying desperately to make our guests’ precious time wonderful ones. We appreciate your continuous visits. We are always waiting for you in Hakuba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews