We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
19
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifehakuba goryutrain stationkokiforestjapanonsen
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Going to Hakuba is good during the winter season but staying at Il Bosco will make it Great! Koki and Naomi were the perfect hosts. The food were remarkable especially their freshly baked breads in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipst3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

This place was magic. Koki and his wife Naomi were such gracious and accommodating guests. They emailed a few days before and asked if they could pick us up from the train station and they did, which made it so easy. The house was very big, warm and welcoming. With a beautiful fire and sitting area, a private bath and incredible food cooked by Koki each morning and night, we could not have asked for anything more. Only a short walk to the ski hill, it was the perfect location. They are affiliated with a ski rental shop were you get a discount, which is also a bonus. We LOVED our stay and cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you so much!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lgreen1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

Staying at Il Bosco, nestled away on the quiet part of Hakuba Goryu was a stupendous experience. Koki and Nomi are really sweet, kind and formidable hosts. Koki happens to be a superb cook, rustling up delicious breakfast or if requested, a fantastic Italian dinner, which was an icing on the cake after a long day in the cold. It was such a unique and a wonderful experience, sitting by the warm fire, marvelling at the snowy forested village surroundings or relaxing in the onsen after ski ing. Amazing value and a real gem of a place! Top marks

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank 2ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I stayed at Il Bosco for almost a week with a friend in February 2016. We where very satisfied and Koki, the hotel owner, is amazing. He is really that kind of person that spread happiness around him, always smiling and do everything he can to make the guests happy.
- Rooms are clean and nice
- Koki worked in an Italian restaurant and is a very good chef! I recommend to eat dinner in the hotel at least some of the evenings
- Great Jacuzzi Japanese style to enjoy after a day of skiing
- Cozy "lobby" with an open fire and couches
- Internet worked well without any issues

The hotel is slightly more westernised than other small family hotels we stayed at in Japan. I think this was a great thing to combine the best parts of Europe and Japan.

I recommend hotel Il Bosco for everyone who want a harmonised stay in Japan and enjoy the Japanese hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastianbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

What a great experience here. Our stay started with an e-mail from the owner, Koki, several days before our expected arrival asking how we were reaching the hotel and offering to pick us up.

Between Koki and his wife Naomi, they handled getting everyone where they needed to be, even though the hotel was only 15 minutes walking (or 2 minutes by ski-back trail) from the Goryu base area.

The rooms were large with space to spread out ski gear and kick back. The main living room is loaded with books and games and a great wood stove to relax by.

There was a common private 'onsen' which was really great. The bathrooms are typical Japanese pre-fab, so it was nice to wash at the onsen before and after a good soak. There is a free washing machine for guest use, but you need to hang clothes to dry in the room.

Food was really top-notch. Every breakfast had a basket of freshly baked breads (still hot), and a unique hot main dish.

Be sure to ask Koki for the best places to score good snow for skiing, as he and his wife are backcountry skiers and know the area well.

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sammybk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews