We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
151
26
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
26
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open fire king singles ski package highly recommend this hotel the bus family holiday a great place to stay local restaurants his team friendly atmosphere ski lodge days skiing escal plaza ski season josh bradbury slopes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Josh and his super team simply can't do enough for you. It started with Mayumi at Japan Powder, such great service. This made me change my ski plans to Aqua. I stayed for 7 nights as a solo guest with my 1st night in one of the log cabins, a great experience only made possible by Josh going that extra mile. The hotel has a wonderful log fire, bar, an expansive floor to ceiling glass surround aspect & stunning height ceiling creating great light and spaciousness. Lovely guests, friendly and super helpful staff create a real inclusive vibe, so nice for solo guests. I stayed in the huge traditional garden room with the view being all snow. Comfy western beds, the Japanese features, & its unusual spaciousness made it lovely to enjoy. Ensuite bathroom compact but good, little step here. Great buffet breakfast while watching the snow fall. The hotel's pick up & drop off service for everything was excellent (many thanks Luke). The ski school is accessible by short trip on public shuttle or hotel shuttle initially. My stay was during the 1st week of spring with mainly blue skies, plentiful snow & it also snowed. Great time to go, uncrowded, get lots of personal attention everywhere, particularly at Aqua. Class sizes in group ski lessons are smaller. Goryu is less crowded than Happo. It's an easy commute on shuttles between resorts but timetable less extensive in spring. Despite travelling solo I had a great stay. It's Josh's stand-out ability to pick great staff that would bring me back for their wonderful hospitality.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank obrienK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Great hotel. We actually stayed in one of the three cabins just over the road from the hotel. We were in the middle one which while sleeping 4 is designed for a family 2 adults and 2 children as everyone is in the same room upstairs. Not sure if all the cabins are set up similarly. Mattresses (1 king & 2 singles) on the floor but super comfortable. Well heated. Toilet and hand basin upstairs with another toilet and shower/bath downstairs. Small adequate kitchen and living room to suit 4 people. Breakfast was included so we ate at the hotel, wiled away evenings in front of the open fire playing cards with friends also staying there. The staff even set up a meal right in front of the fire for us on night. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Really nice casual atmosphere. Lovely big open bar, seating, restaurant area floor to ceiling glass nice outlook over the snow. Pick up on arrival from where the bus dropped us in the village. Walkable distance to the snow although we used the pick up service provided by the hotel up and back each day. On our final day Josh the owner offered to take anyone interested directly to Cortina another resort at the end of the Hakuba valley. We were dropped and picked up at times that suited. Wonderful service totally recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wilson0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Heard good things about Aqua Alpine, both the location and amenities were incredible, a short walk to the mountain but even being so close they still offered a shuttle service! Very impressed with the design of the building and how cosy it felt. The bar and facilities offered also kept me from getting bored when i wasn't hitting the slopes. The staff were helpful in offering advice on where to eat or check out around the village which was also a great help!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

A very welcoming and warm hotel made particularly so by the friendly helpful and professional staff. The atmosphere is more like a ski lodge and it's a very western place in a very Japanese area so it's very user friendly for Australians and full of them. There is a large communal room with a bar and the restaurant has a very western menu. Our room has a few quirks like steps up and down into the bathroom and a small basin but otherwise is very comfortable. A great place to stay!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaCharles, Owner at Aqua Alpine Hakuba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback Tania and thanks for staying with us . Hope to see you again in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Travelled to Hakuba for a ski holiday. We arrived very late and were greeted by the staff no problems they assisted us with our luggage to the rooms.
Had 2 evening meals at the Restaurant at the hotel which were awesome. I can strongly recommend the Snow crab lasagne for a main plus the steaks.
The hotel has a very friendly atmosphere with the log fire it’s beautiful. Make great cocktails. The staff are great. Thank you we had a great time. Will be back for sure.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank marieAm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaCharles, Owner at Aqua Alpine Hakuba, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you Marie, great to see you and the family in Hakuba again . We look forward to the next time as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews