We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
69
30
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
30
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolympic ski jumpsthe hotel staffa family run hoteldiscount lift ticketsbeautiful hotelrooms are spaciousend of the dayhapposlopes
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2015

Our first family ski holiday to Hakuba (travelling with 6 year old son) was a great success and much fun - in no small part due to Keito-san, Monica's (and daughter Erica) genuine hospitality. The hotel is well located, especially once one has conquered the ski traverse home from Happoone to Namiyake, putting you about 50 metres from the hotel entrance. Keito-san and Monica added the personal touches with restaurant recommendations, in house dining recommendations, assistance with drop off and pickups. The hotel room we stayed in had comfortable western beds together with the option of the traditional tatami bedding in an upstairs loft. And to top it off, the in-house onsen was perfect for relaxation at the end of the day for tired ski legs.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to seeing you next year:)

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scopemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Stayed here in January 2015. It was our first time at the snow and staying at this hotel made it even more memorable. We were originally going to stay at a cheaper hotel in Hakuba as arranged by our travel agent, but after reading previous reviews of Yamano, we decided to stay here instead, and we are SO glad we did.

Keita and Monica were lovely hosts and were more than willing to give us help with local restaurants, making bookings for us and even driving us there when needed. On our first day, Keita picked us up from our ski rental shop so we wouldn't have to carry the gear back! There was also a lovely English man who does the driving (dont remember his name, sorry.)

The room was great, massive compared to our hotels in Tokyo!!! Small bathrooms but that is usual for Japan. I'm into looking after the environment, so I'm glad that room service was optional, you could get them to make up your bed with the same sheets. The hotel was nice and quiet too, mostly Australian families staying here. The Onsen was seriously unreal, we went in it twice a day!!! Breakfast was good- a mix of cereal, toast, eggs and even chicken nuggets and chips. Was a nice start to a day out on the slopes. Location is ideal, a bit of a walk to any restaurants and cafes, but good for the bus and for slopes nearby.

Would definitely return here again :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a western room but we caught a glimpse at the Japanese style and wish we had gone for that instead! Great size western room though :)
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

The Yamano Hotel has a homely feel. It is run by a friendly and welcoming couple. It has an in-house restaurant, which does a hearty breakfast and serves dinner, as well as an onsen. We stayed here during both of our trips to Japan. It is conveniently located just 100 m from the bus stop to nearby resorts. The western/Japanese rooms are exceptional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2014

What do I say that hasn't already been said many, many times before and for good reason?!
Keita and Monica are the most lovely people, going on and above what is expected from any host. They sincerely made our trip and we are hoping to stay there again this season. Rooms are nice and quiet. Small bathrooms (compared to western) but clean and adequate. Buffet breakfast is delicious! Located perfectly between Happo and Echo land. Ski busses literally stop outside. I took a nice photo of one of our rooms that overlooked the huuuuge olympic ski jump.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Thank you Keita-san and your lovely staff for our stay. Your tips about ski areas, restaurants, ski rentals were really helpful for us. The lovely dinners, the onsen, and the wonderful Japanese room we had plus the surrounding scenery made our first stay in a Japanese ski resort a very enjoyable one. The hotel is located in Happo one at 200 m from the main ski area. If you want to go to Hakuba 47 or Goryu ski area the bus stop is in front of the hotel.
Our daughter is a picky eater and we were worried that staying in Japan we will have only Japanese breakfasts but the hotel offers a Western - Japanese buffet breakfast that was great for us. You can do your rentals while coming to Hakuba and the hotels offers discounted ski rental and ski passes. I would recommend you to ask for ski passes options instead of pre-ordering them in advance. The owner manager really understands what hospitality is all about and speaks fluent English. Extremely comfortable and overall a brilliant experience. We live in Europe so always choosing a ski resort from France or Austria was a priority on our ski holiday list but the Japanese culture, incredible hospitality combined with skiing changed us. We have already booked our next holiday at Yamano Hotel and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Choose a Japanese room and sleep on futons.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews