We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Moderate everything you need to be comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Lets keep it short, the headline says it all. Personally I don't like letting people know of places where I like the people so much they become life friends but this is the case again. Than again to visit Japan is an experience unto no other as most of the people are great but theres always the exception when their special. On the constructive side, the diner menu needs some attention to variety but its still decent. Breakfast was very nice rooms are comfortable and this is a small family run business thats nestled away from the screaming down under rhetoric in the village. All in all if you want quiet clean and personal service. This is probably as good as it gets. Like family. Although Gakto the head manager might not speak to you when you first meet him but he's one of those people you love at first sight. (^W^). Watch out for the wild ducks in the onsen. LOL!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 99 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
63
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

First of all I want to say that the owners (a family) go above and beyond to meet your needs. We made a mistake on our booking date and the owner let us check in at 0600 am instead of 1500 pm. The rooms are very comfortable, I would have loved bigger beds though as the beds are too small to sleep 2 in them.
Every time we needed to be dropped off somewhere the staff kindly did so (to the bus station or train station...). The bus terminal is about a 10 min walk which is right near the Main Street.
The shower are on the small size but the water is so hot and powerful that is all you need. Breakfast is great especially if you love continental like me. It's included in the price rooms. There is a washing machine/dryer, an onsen on site and a drink dispenser.
We tried the restaurant and had the BBQ which was very good and very well priced. Great atmosphere!
The only thing I can fault the hotel is the "cleaning". In 6 days I only asked for my room to be cleaned once as I understand it's a small hotel but there was a few things that needed to be done. Unfortunately when I came back the towels weren't changed or folded although they were visibly dirty, the full bins weren't emptied, beds weren't made, I completely ran out of toilet paper which wasn't replaced so I am not sure what cleaning involves? I definitely would stay here again though as it is very reasonably priced as well.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YAMANO HOTEL H, Manager at Hakuba Yamano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Dear all,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are really happy to hear your comments and we try to do our best to make your stay really comfortable and like at home. We are very sorry for all the trouble regarding the room cleaning. We would like to make it clear and hopefully none of our guests will have to go through you did.
Regarding our cleaning policy. Our staff will no enter your room unless you put the make-up room sign outside your door. Cleaning the room would mean from changing all the bedding, dusting, vacuuming, cleaning the bathroom, changing the towels or adding new toiletries, throwing the garbage etc. or just making the bed (if you put the card from the room which specifies that our staff can use the same sheets), for ecology reasons we do not change the towels from the room unless they are thrown on the floor/bathtub or by request at the reception to not clean the room just add new towels, toilet paper etc.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Our family of 4 had two Japanese rooms on the 3rd floor for 2 nights.

1. The hotel owner picked us up from the train station when we arrived in Hakuba and sent us to the bus terminal upon departure. He also dropped us at our dinner restaurants.

2. The first day, our sons skied at Happo One. The owner arranged for them to be picked up by Spicy Ski rentals. Spicy then dropped them at Happo One. The next day, they skied at Happo 47. They were also picked up by shuttle.

3. The hotel is within walking distance of Happo town (15 minutes on icy paths). An easy walk after dinner. It was quiet at the hotel and we slept well.

4 The bathrooms are small but the shower jets are powerful.

A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

People care more about skiing when it comes to hotels in Hakuba, but this region is also known for the sunny fun times hiking (and other activities) in the summers!

Location & Transportation:

In my case, our family (of 3) reserved two nights with this hotel in mid-late June. Being a ski megapolis in Japan, Hakuba is not known for great transportation in summertime, so there is not much we can do when it comes to transportation into and out of the hotel, especially during low-seasons like this. Fortunately, the hotel offers shuttle service and it's pretty close to important places.

Not to mention, you can actually see the ski jump stadium used in Winter Olympics 1998 right from the hotel! I don't know if you can actually use those awesome stadiums, but they make a nice landmark as the two jump ramps are bright green and marked with big white "HAKUBA NAGANO", making your most memorable photo spots just a few steps outside the hotel.

When it comes to dinnertime, Echoland which is a big community street is pretty far, but the hotel manager offered to personally drive us there and pick us back up again. He's pretty kind and can even offer help on selection of restaurants.

Food Services:

The manager prepared a selection of breakfast eggs, sausages, and bread. On the check-out morning, the owner came in and comped some cherries too. The fruits for the mornings included melons, which were pretty juicy and sweet. A coffee machine is available in the dining hall.

Dinners can be served by chefs, but we did not have any dinner with the hotel's canteen.

Rooms and amenities:

We stayed in a Japanese style room. This is not a Ryokan, so we had to serve ourselves the bedding. The room has en-suite bathroom, TV, yukata (nightgowns, sleepwear, loungewear, etc.), tea set, plenty of AC sockets, and everything necessary to take a bath. The room was very clean.

In this hotel, you may wear yukata anywhere inside. (Some hotels prohibit leaving the room or floor in yukata.) Larger people may want to request large-sized yukata.

Hotel Facilities:

The hotel has vending machines (one for soft drink, one for beer), Japanese bathroom (ofuro, also popularly called onsen) with sauna, game and business rooms (closed in summer?), ski fitting rooms (obviously closed in summer!), free water, souvenir corner, and we were permitted to eat food from the convenience store in the dining room.

Go Hiking:

We went hiking. A gondola and two quad lifts are used in summertime to climb Mt. Happo. The full set of lift tickets for adults can be bought for 2900 yen, tax included. The manager offered to drive us there, but we decided to walk as it's only one kilometer away. I'll write further details and reviews of the mountain in a separate review.

Room Tip: There's a Japanese-style room with great view of Olympics Ramps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chawanat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We booked a triple room for our 3 night stay and found the room to be quite spacious. The bathroom is very small however. The view from our room is right onto the ski jumps so that was quite a thrill. The restaurant staff are very welcoming. The manager did help us with ski gear hire and organised a ski lesson for us which was very welcomed as English isn't very available. The hotel also picked us up and dropped us at the train station which was great as the hotel is a little way out from the main village.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Patto_Trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Restaurant & Hotel Traumerei
Restaurant & Hotel Traumerei
#16 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
49 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#17 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
70 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Goryukan
Hotel Goryukan
#24 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#4 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
235 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#33 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
41 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Herb no Yado Kunugi
Herb no Yado Kunugi
#26 of 102 in Hakuba-mura
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Yamano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Yamano Hotel

Address: 3477 Hokujo | In fron of Jump Stadium, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#5 Family Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: $155 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba Yamano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best powder skiing holiday in Hakuba!Hakuba Yamano Hotel offers cozy accommodation, great mountain views, easy access to ski resorts, hot spring & sauna, delicious food and knowledgeable staff. Ranked by Michelin Green Guide Book for 2009 for its superior service, food and rooms.There are 5, 7 Nights and 10 Night Packages including Lift Passes available. Packages can be booked with breakfast and dinner or with breakfast only.A delicious breakfast, a mix of Western and Japanese and transfers in Hakuba when you stay. You can also choose a Japanese style dinner or a 5 course Western dinner included package. Also for early bird bookings we offer 15% off from our rates/person/night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Rakuten so you can book your Hakuba Yamano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamano Hotel Hakuba Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing