We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Hotel Stelle Belle(Hakuba-mura)
US$244
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)
US$249
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$185
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laforet Club Hotel Hakuba Happo(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$227
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$168
US$137
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hakuba Tokyu Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
US$267
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$136
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hakuba Hifumi(Hakuba-mura)
US$227
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
69
28
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
28
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolympic ski jumpsthe busa family run hoteldiscount lift ticketsthe hotel staffonsen downstairsbeautiful hotelrooms are comfortablepleasant stayhot potbreakfast each morningshort walkriceend of the daystationskiinghappo
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 104 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
63
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

First of all I want to say that the owners (a family) go above and beyond to meet your needs. We made a mistake on our booking date and the owner let us check in at 0600 am instead of 1500 pm. The rooms are very comfortable, I would have loved bigger beds though as the beds are too small to sleep 2 in them.
Every time we needed to be dropped off somewhere the staff kindly did so (to the bus station or train station...). The bus terminal is about a 10 min walk which is right near the Main Street.
The shower are on the small size but the water is so hot and powerful that is all you need. Breakfast is great especially if you love continental like me. It's included in the price rooms. There is a washing machine/dryer, an onsen on site and a drink dispenser.
We tried the restaurant and had the BBQ which was very good and very well priced. Great atmosphere!
The only thing I can fault the hotel is the "cleaning". In 6 days I only asked for my room to be cleaned once as I understand it's a small hotel but there was a few things that needed to be done. Unfortunately when I came back the towels weren't changed or folded although they were visibly dirty, the full bins weren't emptied, beds weren't made, I completely ran out of toilet paper which wasn't replaced so I am not sure what cleaning involves? I definitely would stay here again though as it is very reasonably priced as well.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YAMANO HOTEL H, Manager at Hakuba Yamano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Dear all,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are really happy to hear your comments and we try to do our best to make your stay really comfortable and like at home. We are very sorry for all the trouble regarding the room cleaning. We would like to make it clear and hopefully none of our guests will have to go through you did.
Regarding our cleaning policy. Our staff will no enter your room unless you put the make-up room sign outside your door. Cleaning the room would mean from changing all the bedding, dusting, vacuuming, cleaning the bathroom, changing the towels or adding new toiletries, throwing the garbage etc. or just making the bed (if you put the card from the room which specifies that our staff can use the same sheets), for ecology reasons we do not change the towels from the room unless they are thrown on the floor/bathtub or by request at the reception to not clean the room just add new towels, toilet paper etc.
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Our family of 4 had two Japanese rooms on the 3rd floor for 2 nights.

1. The hotel owner picked us up from the train station when we arrived in Hakuba and sent us to the bus terminal upon departure. He also dropped us at our dinner restaurants.

2. The first day, our sons skied at Happo One. The owner arranged for them to be picked up by Spicy Ski rentals. Spicy then dropped them at Happo One. The next day, they skied at Happo 47. They were also picked up by shuttle.

3. The hotel is within walking distance of Happo town (15 minutes on icy paths). An easy walk after dinner. It was quiet at the hotel and we slept well.

4 The bathrooms are small but the shower jets are powerful.

A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

People care more about skiing when it comes to hotels in Hakuba, but this region is also known for the sunny fun times hiking (and other activities) in the summers!

Location & Transportation:

In my case, our family (of 3) reserved two nights with this hotel in mid-late June. Being a ski megapolis in Japan, Hakuba is not known for great transportation in summertime, so there is not much we can do when it comes to transportation into and out of the hotel, especially during low-seasons like this. Fortunately, the hotel offers shuttle service and it's pretty close to important places.

Not to mention, you can actually see the ski jump stadium used in Winter Olympics 1998 right from the hotel! I don't know if you can actually use those awesome stadiums, but they make a nice landmark as the two jump ramps are bright green and marked with big white "HAKUBA NAGANO", making your most memorable photo spots just a few steps outside the hotel.

When it comes to dinnertime, Echoland which is a big community street is pretty far, but the hotel manager offered to personally drive us there and pick us back up again. He's pretty kind and can even offer help on selection of restaurants.

Food Services:

The manager prepared a selection of breakfast eggs, sausages, and bread. On the check-out morning, the owner came in and comped some cherries too. The fruits for the mornings included melons, which were pretty juicy and sweet. A coffee machine is available in the dining hall.

Dinners can be served by chefs, but we did not have any dinner with the hotel's canteen.

Rooms and amenities:

We stayed in a Japanese style room. This is not a Ryokan, so we had to serve ourselves the bedding. The room has en-suite bathroom, TV, yukata (nightgowns, sleepwear, loungewear, etc.), tea set, plenty of AC sockets, and everything necessary to take a bath. The room was very clean.

In this hotel, you may wear yukata anywhere inside. (Some hotels prohibit leaving the room or floor in yukata.) Larger people may want to request large-sized yukata.

Hotel Facilities:

The hotel has vending machines (one for soft drink, one for beer), Japanese bathroom (ofuro, also popularly called onsen) with sauna, game and business rooms (closed in summer?), ski fitting rooms (obviously closed in summer!), free water, souvenir corner, and we were permitted to eat food from the convenience store in the dining room.

Go Hiking:

We went hiking. A gondola and two quad lifts are used in summertime to climb Mt. Happo. The full set of lift tickets for adults can be bought for 2900 yen, tax included. The manager offered to drive us there, but we decided to walk as it's only one kilometer away. I'll write further details and reviews of the mountain in a separate review.

Room Tip: There's a Japanese-style room with great view of Olympics Ramps.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chawanat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We booked a triple room for our 3 night stay and found the room to be quite spacious. The bathroom is very small however. The view from our room is right onto the ski jumps so that was quite a thrill. The restaurant staff are very welcoming. The manager did help us with ski gear hire and organised a ski lesson for us which was very welcomed as English isn't very available. The hotel also picked us up and dropped us at the train station which was great as the hotel is a little way out from the main village.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Patto_Trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Stayed 4 nights in Yamano Hotel in March. Our room was big and clean but very unmodern and worn out, for example there was stains on the walls, curtains and fabrics. Beds were a good size and comfortable. The bathroom had a deep bathtub and a good shower but only the bare minimum of toiletries i.e. soap and shampoo. The biggest disappointment was that there was no Japanese toilet, I love coming to Japan just for this. Breakfast was included but this too was pretty average. The staff and owners were friendly and helpful but I didn't experience any extra warmth and welcomeness as expressed in some of the reviews here. Most of the information we had to ask for and find out for ourselves. Hotel is in an ok location, with shoes on its walking distance to town and shops but with ski boots it’s another story so the best thing is to use the free shuttle bus or organise drop off with the hotel.

We rented skis and all gear from Spicy ski rental through the hotel and it was not good, the boots were very ill fitted and the pain they caused stopped both of us from skiing the last day.

As it was my first time skiing I had ski lessons with Evergreen, also booked through the hotel and again, not a very good experience. They pick you up at 9am but the lessons didn't start until 10.30am. Not much of the stated time of the lesson (morning lesson 10.30am-1pm) is actually spent skiing and this in spite of us being a very small group, a lot of the time is unfortunately spent waiting on things.

We also went to see the Snow monkeys which was a great experience. We organised this on our own with the help from the Information centre by the bus station in Hakuba town. It’s very easy and doesn't cost half as much as an organised tour and it also allows you to do things in your own time.

A big credit to the hotels flexibility, as the pain of the ski boots and the weather prevented us from skiing we cut our stay short by one day and the owners very kindly didn't charge us for this night. I'm not sure if this is standard or not but we very much appreciated this. Overall though, unfortunately I can’t say I was too impressed with this hotel, although it might be a good budget alternative for the less fussy ones.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MollyB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews