We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpine Villa Nozawa
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Kawaichiya Ryokan(Nozawaonsen-mura)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Nozawa View Hotel Shimataya(Nozawaonsen-mura)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen(Nozawaonsen-mura)
US$253
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Onsen Ryokan Jonnobi(Nozawaonsen-mura)
US$253
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Nozawa Onsen Kiriya Ryokan(Nozawaonsen-mura)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Address Nozawa(Nozawaonsen-mura)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Shikinoyado Shinazawa(Nozawaonsen-mura)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Ryokan Sakaya(Nozawaonsen-mura)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Tokiwaya Ryokan(Nozawaonsen-mura)
US$288
US$223
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nozawa Central Hotel(Nozawaonsen-mura)
US$117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
144
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog firethanks guysshort walknozawa holidaysswiss bakerydinner recommendationsgreat friendssnowboard holidaysnow monkeyscommon roomski lessonsnew friendsaches and painsother guestslift ticketsjapanese decoraustralian families
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Spent a magical 6 nights with our family at Villa Nozawa. The staff could not do enough to make sure we were settled in the Villa but also to make sure we had a good understanding on the town, the snow, the runs and any activities we wanted. Ash and team were exceptional – sorry for not recalling all names! We were very well looked after by all.

The rooms were a good size and we were in a quad room which felt spacious despite all our gear. Fabulous view over the village with the snow covered houses, beautifully warm and light. Good hanging space for damp clothing.

We were on the 4th floor which I thought would be a struggle after a day’s skiing but I think the short climb up and down actually helped ease out the limbs! The very nearby Onsen helped too!

Hiring the gear was effortless through the Villa’s store - we were assisted to the hire location, fitted promptly and professionally, gear delivered direct to our villa whilst we were at dinner. No issues with quality, variety or fit. Very happy with it all. The drying room downstairs was a very good size and super warm to ensure all gear dried in time for the next day.

The lounge area was a lot of fun, social but quiet area to sit when needed. Card and board games available for evenings and dine in deliveries organised when too tired to venture out. Breakfast was fabulous! Cereals and fruit laid out and a hot option offered which was delicious and varied daily.

The ski fields could be accessed from some 100m away then chair lift and ski over to the main gondola if you want to go higher.

Access to the beautiful township was an easy and interesting walk of 10 or so minutes and the nearby restaurants a treat which we revisited due to easy proximity and fabulous taste!

Can’t fault the place, the staff or the accommodations. Truly an enjoyable stay.

Thank you Villa Nozawa - it wont be our last visit!

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank asquarehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Villa Nozawa and had the most amazing time.

The staff particularly Ash, was so friendly and accommodating and made sure we were looked after at all times. Ash greeted us every day with a huge smile and wonderful advice. The staff recommended and booked us into great restaurants and always provided us with great eating options. All staff were warm and friendly and really made us feel at home.

The villa is located close to the Karasawa slope which made getting to all parts of the mountain extremely easy. There is a fantastic teppan restaurant across the road and a beautiful Swiss bakery only a few minutes walk selling yummy calzones and pizzas. Being only a short 10 min walk through the gorgeous village to get to the Main Street it was located in a great spot.

The rooms were a great size, the beds comfy and had gorgeous views of the surrounding mountains. Bathrooms were clean and tidy.

We hired all our gear through nozawa rentals and our gear was delivered to the villa and was returned for us which was nice and easy. They also serviced my board which was great.

Wine was cold and cheap! (Staff has it chilled ready for us every afternoon!) The common room was stocked with great games and people and it was a great spot to hang out with the other guests after a day boarding.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and always served with a smile!

There isn’t a thing a could fault from our stay at Villa Nozawa. If I could give 10 stars I would.

We will be taking our kids back next year and our friends and family and will definitely be staying here again!

Thanks for a trip to remember!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lissy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Loved our 10 nights here. Lovely atmosphere. Managers Gab and Kyoko and their team are wonderful hosts. Location about 200m from Karasawa lift area was very suitable for us. Maybe many people like to stay on snow, but with a toddler, we wanted to be close to lifts (to tag team babysitting arrangements) and in easy access to the town. Can easily walk to all areas of town for restaurants etc. We chose the Japanese style tatami rooms with shared bathroom. Futons are perhaps not as comfortable as a bed, but we wanted to have a more traditional experience. Guests are encouraged to utilize the nearby onsen rather than the showers (shared). Shower dressing area is heated, but not the shower area. Not a big problem though. Great staff - very friendly and hospitable. Great breakfast provided daily. Access to kitchen if required, drying room, equipment storage, common room, bar.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Judysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raphsa, Front Office Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Hi Judysim, thanks for the review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Nozawa Onsen. Sounds like it was a great location for your family! Hope to see you back again soon. Arigatou Gozaimashita from Gab, Kyoko, Mark, Yoshi and all the team at Nozawa Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

One word - incredible!

Couldn't be happier with our choice of accommodation at Villa Nozawa!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was amazing.

Location was ideal.

Rooms were spacious and warm.

Family friendly and very well run lodge.

I will be going back next year!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raphsa, Front Office Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Konnichiwa Steve, thanks for your review. Happy to hear you enjoyed Villa Nozawa. It is in a great location with very spacious rooms for a Japanese style lodge. Look forward to seeing you next year. Arigatou Gozaimashita from Mark, Yoshiko, Gab, Kyoko, Yuko and the rest of the team at Nozawa Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We visited for 8 nights with our adult aged children. We didn't want a backpacker style hostel so chose Villa Nozawa over a number of other options Nozawa Holidays have available.
Directions from Tokyo and Ilyama station are very easy to follow - buses meet the Shinkansen for the short ride to Nozawa Onsen. The short walk from the bus stop is easy even with your bags in tow.
We hired skies through Nozawa Holidays and this was a quick and easy process to get fitted and they were then delivered to the lodge.
NOTE - ski hire is very expensive in relative terms to what other things cost - for the week it cost us over $1300 for the 4 of us in skis/boots/poles, there are no cheap options apart from bringing your own.
Villa Nozawa itself is lovely, the rooms are of simple Japanese decor and we booked a twin Tatami room and a double (western) bed room, which for us was far more comfortable (albeit still firm) than the tatami matts, especially for us with dodgy backs to begin with.
The rooms are really lovely and spacious - having a balcony in the twin room was a bonus as they are at the back of the building which is quieter. Our western room overlooked the front - no balcony and quite a bit of noise coming up from the entry doors and car park area (snow blower, late night revelry etc..)
Guests are asked to keep noise down after 10pm in the accom wings which is nice.
Each floor had shared toilets and the showers are located on the lower ground floor. Guests are encouraged to Onsen nearby but personally I found the Onsen water way too hot for me and the showers are great - clean, hot and strong water pressure.
Breakfast consists of cereal (muesli/cornflakes) milk, tinned fruit, toast and a daily special which varied - pancakes (the best), fruit n yoghurt and rice or noodles dishes. Breakfast is only served between 7.30 and 8.30 - personally I think breakfast should be served until at least 9, not everyone is wanting to hit the slopes first thing and there was no chance of a sleep in if you wanted breakfast. The use of the kitchen is not available until midday and there is nowhere nearby to grab breakfast if you miss it.
The staff are wonderful - they were so helpful during our stay with dinner recommendations, directions and just general knowledge. There is always someone around happy to help you - you can even drop off your washing to be done for a very small fee.
The proximity to the lift was an absolute bonus for me - I hate walking in ski boots but it literally took 5min from the door to the ticket office/lift.
It's a very easy walk into the town center each day for coffee / dinner or just a wander around which I totally enjoyed.
The whole experience was so easy from booking to paying, arranging lessons and ski hire, directions - everything, it was all very well run and I wouldn't hesitate recommending others stay here.
Would I stay here again - ABSOLUTELY !!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank kidsb4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews