We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$177
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Hotels.com
US$177
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Agoda.com
US$155
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
Booking.comUS$220
eDreamsUS$220
Orbitz.comUS$177
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
99
228
124
57
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
228
124
57
37
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I was expecting a small little ryokan given that it's out in the suburbs, but was amazed to see how big the hotel was. The lobby was huge, and I mean really huge! There was also a very big souvenir shop just beside the lobby area. And speaking of huge, the dining area was also a big giant hall.

Rooms
With such a big hotel, the room was relatively small, but I think it's just right for two people. We stayed in a tatami room. The room was relatively clean, except for the carpeting at the small end of the room facing the windows. But that was a small problem though since we spent most of the time on the tatami anyway. Not much space for our luggage, esp since we fear damaging the tatami mats, so we placed our luggages on the carpet area which made that area quite crowded if we want to sit and enjoy the view. The room had a very large picture window which was perfect for enjoying the beautiful lake. Since it was a tatami room, the low table was set in the middle of the room with some tea and snacks. The decors were simple and they even had an old rotary phone in the room, and it's still working :-) At night when you're out to dinner, the staff will come in and set the tatami beds. We arrived before dinner so the beds were not yet set up. It's a minor hassle, but if you'd like to take a nap, then you'd have to set your own bed. I was so tired, I just laid on the tatami mat and got one of the pillows and had a snooze :-) They have yukatas (kimonos) for you to wear if you wish, and you can wear them anywhere in the hotel.

Meals
We've had a chance to have dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was great, we enjoyed the fresh sushi, different kinds of curry (black, brown and white), hot Japanese soup, yummy white rice with Japanese condiments, soft Japanese tofu, grilled fish, and tender teppan beef. There was so many choices. Water and coffee/tea were also available. The dining hall was packed with people and when one group left, another sat. The staff were very efficient, quick to clean up used plates and emptied table for a new group to sit. Since it was Xmas Eve when we were there, Santa Claus also made a stop to give us some gifts :-) Breakfast was also nice, but more Japanese choices and very limited Western selections, and limited fresh fruits.

Wifi/Power Sockets
They said the hotel had wifi at the lobby but we weren't able to connect that night. No wifi in the room definitely. Limited power sockets in the room, I had to charge my camera battery in the bathroom while charging my phone in the room :-)

Hotel Grounds
A big spacious lobby, and a coffee lounge which apparently is not very popular with the guests but has really nice big windows and excellent views of the lake. Outside, you can see lights along the shore lining the lake at night. They even offer big coats for free use when you're going outdoors to enjoy the light, in case you're wearing just your yukata. They also said there were fireworks every night, but we didn't see it. Anyhow, it's just a few minutes according to our guide, nothing really special. It was really dark out so we couldn't see the lake at night. We did go walk around the shore and saw some really beautiful big white swans swimming along the shore and seemingly enjoying our company as they came nearer to us as we approached. In the morning, we woke up to a breathtaking scene of the lake and snowy Edo Mt Fuji (Mt Yotei) in the far background. There is also a common area when you come out of the elevator on the first floor where you can sit and enjoy the view, they have a couple of lounge chairs and coffee tables in the area. A very large souvenir shop with lots of Hokkaido food and souvenir items is available by the lobby. Prices were pretty much standard.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kormensandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Fantastic view of lake toya! beautiful in winter! too bad we arrived at night. but woke up early to see the sunrise just hitting the top of the mountain!

accomodations are very much acceptable. relaxing. clean. staff are friendly.

a bit of a big hotel and a bit difficult taking your luggage around with you.

we arrived and the hotel was full..so we took care of our own luggage.

We enjoyed the tatami room.

Room tip: of course, get a room with a view!!! :)
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yokolok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Nice view, can oversee the entire lake. There is fireworks at night for around 20mins.
our rooms are abit far from the main lobby. Need to drag luggage around.
breakfast place is big, there is hotsping egg and hokkaido milk. good!!!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishingstar_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My 14-year-old son and I, as a part of 35 people tour group,visitted Hokkaido during 21-27 July 2012. We stayed one night here on July 25. There were a lot of visitors on the day we stayed, since there was a firework at night on the lake. Anyway,the firework wasn't so impressive as we had expected.
The lobby and the restaurant were large. So we felt disappointed the find a typical small room.
Moreover, the food at dinner and breakfast seemed to be similar. Half of the members in our tour group complained about the food.
I had some problem about loading data via WIFI internet. But the staff at the front counter didn't seem to understand English, nor showed some attitude to help. I went back to the reception a few hour later in hope that I would find someone who could help. But all in vain.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borvornchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here tonight and first impression is that the hotel lobby is huge. Everything seems to be XL except for the room, find it rather small.

The dining hall is big and huge variety of food... Consist of Asian, jap and western cuisine. But only average quality.

Corridors are dirty but good views in the room overlooking lake toya. Fireworks at night at 9pm.

The onsen here is good though, huge! There is an outdoor onsen too. Lots of play stuff for kids, big wave pools, slides and game rooms. Pretty quiet after 10pm though. Not much activities after that.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simplytravelandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews