We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$452
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/21
Hotels.com
US$452
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/21
FindHotel
US$350
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/12/21
Orbitz.comUS$452
CheapTicketsUS$452
Trip.comUS$493
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
9
9
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
9
4
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2019

Plus: The Lake Suite hotel only opened in August 2019, so we were among the first guests and therefore report in detail here.
The Lake Suite is the new building connected to Toya Sun Palace. The Lake Suite seems rather 5 star, the older parts probably not.
Entrance and lobby 10 (10), really nice with lots of air and water.
Rooms 10 (10), beautiful. Balcony with excellent view of the lake. Watch the fireworks in the summer.
Food 8 (10). Great choice for buffet dinner plus extra beef or sashimi served at the table. Breakfast a little less stunning maybe for non-Asians. Also, the menu does not seem to change (over the three days we stayed).
Onsen 11 (10). Roof-top onsen with infinity pool and perfect view of Lake Toya and Mt Yotei. Not sure you can do better. Plus private onsen in room.
Minus: We had a room for two occupied with two kids (on an extra bed). Unsurprisingly, there was little space and we had to be creative with hiding the suitcases.
Restaurant was in the "old" part of Sun Palace where the atmosphere is good but not as nice as in The Lake Suite. As mentioned, the breakfast was not perfect (choice of coffees, continental breakfast). Also, the menu does not seem to change (over the three days we stayed).
Level of English spoken was sometimes just at average Japanese standards.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LionelKarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2019

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous! The design is very modern, yet there are traditional Japanese aspects incorporated as well. Every room has a view of Lake Toya and you can also soak in the onsen while you look over the stunning view. The lounge area are filled with chairs over looking Lake Toya and the lounge also offer some free drinks and snacks during check in for all guests. The price tag is well worth for what's offered in the hotel.

A couple of things which I think the hotel can improve on is the finer details found in other hotels/onsen. There was no tea prepared for us upon arrival to our room, though the lady that bought us to our room was pretty courteous while showing us the features of the room. Also, there is no luggage rack in the room, so we had to leave our luggage and bags on the floor or the couch which is not sanitary.

They also have a public onsen on the 8th floor of the hotel as well as a tiny gym. Depending on your room package, your meals could either be inside the hotel restaurant or be a buffet at a restaurant at their parent hotel next to them, which is a short three minute walk over.

There are four types of rooms at the hotel. First, there is the universal room which there is only one on each floor. There's also the corner rooms on both ends of a floor and the garden terrace room which is found only on the first floor. The last time is the terrace rooms which fill the rest of the hotel out.

Room tip: Book early for the universal room!
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccsnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2021 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2020
Google Translation

Room tip: 7階は、すぐ上が露天風呂だったので移動しやくてよかったです。
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews
<