We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Sunrise Katsuura(Nachikatsura-cho)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Hotel Nagisaya(Nachikatsura-cho)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$185
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hotel Urashima(Nachikatsura-cho)
US$187
US$116
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Hotel Nakanoshima(Nachikatsura-cho)
US$379
US$352
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$526/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Urashima Sanjokan(Nachikatsura-cho)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Charmant(Nachikatsura-cho)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yukai Resort Koshinoyu(Nachikatsura-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oyado Hana(Nachikatsura-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
26
36
31
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
36
31
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathsashimiview of the bayjapanese style roomoutdoor onsenretroriebathingforeignersroutepilgrimagenachiarcadedinnerkaraokelobbyfacilities
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We stay here for a night.
Check in was fast.
A lady named Rie was assigned to serve us. She is very polite, friendly & is able to communicate well in English.

The outdoor onsen is highly recommended .

The room is big, enough for 3 persons & 3 large luggage bags, a small living area with coffee table & sofa to relax & enjoy the sea view.

Dinner & breakfast are fantastic!
Staff service is great!
Onsen is awesome!

Will definitely return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank SoHengHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

I booked this place mainly because of the reviews saying the food was good (and the fact that there's not really many other places to stay around there). The rooms were dated and simple as expected, and the 70's decor in the lobby was in dire need of a remodel (and a dusting).

The food, as promised, was the highlight. The dinner buffet was one of the best mid range spreads I've seen in Japan, and the fresh sashimi slicing performance was a nice touch. The steak was actually well done and not bloody like most Japanese roast beef. Breakfast was similarly great. All of the food had English labels so you know what you're eating.

Bathing are was not expansive, but suitable. Indoor pool was awfully slippery due to the mineral buildup on the wooden floor of the tub. When stepping into the pool, USE THE HANDRAIL. You WILL fall if you're not careful. The hotel clearly is aware of this and has some signs posted about it (only in Japanese though). The outdoor pool was nice, and offers a good view of the bay if you stand up. The decor in the changing room was probably the most offensive in the whole place. Lots of brown glass and wicker. Endearingly tacky.

There's a very retro area beyond the hotel shop with a super outdated arcade with some 70s and 80s machines and some restaurants that look they've been closed for decades. A small "snack" bar opens downstairs at night and we went to check it out simply for the kitschy charm it offered, but they said they only for 90 minute all you can drink karaoke specials, so we bailed. A shame they are willing to lose money on this since it looks like no one ever goes in there.

The staff was very accommodating, but expect little to no English. A few of the workers gave us some "secret" amenities and assistance that wouldn't have happened elsewhere.

Nachi is a hell of an isolated spot, but I would gladly return to stay here again. There's something about these old hotels from the 60s/70s Showa era that is very evocative of a time when the country was booming. This hotel was once a lively, bustling vacation hub, but the empty banquet halls and unlit side corridors are a sad sign of the times. Thankfully, there's still some life left in this place and it's worth a visit.

Room Tip: all rooms face the bay, so you're guaranteed a good view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KTJ_Kyoto_JPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night in the ' moon' room with private bath. Everything was excellent. Even though the staff are not good at English they tried to find a staff who knew mandarin. Good was very delicious. The open private bath was marvelous and we could see stars ahead. Though it was a bit cold since the shower was also outdoor. The public open bath was having very good view of the sea. Service from staff was unbeatable and I could see the true spirit of Japanese. Very recommended .

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Siuting M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

First of all, I enjoyed my 3 day stay in this quirky hotel. Yes the lobby is dated, the bathroom seems to have tile from the 1950's, everything needs a bit of renovating, and the constant traditional Japanese music playing over the speakers really makes you feel you are in a Wes Anderson movie. But our room was large, the heating system worked great, staff was pleasant, and the view of the bay was nice. But if I rated the hotel above average, you'll certainly think I'm being insincere. Our room constantly smelled of cigarettes and tatami; the bathroom had a nasty odor coming from the drain; the clientele is mostly older Japanese who pile off tour buses and yell down the halls (I'm delighted actually that they have so much fun!), and if you don't speak Japanese you'll struggle to use the phone or communicate with staff. However, if you are staying in this little town, this is one of the best lodgings you will find. No internet in the rooms, but supposedly available in the lobby. The breakfast buffet has a good variety of food.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SanFranMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Since we could only travel on weekends, the rate is higher than weekdays. The Japanese style room was old but comfortable enough to have a good sleep. Attached bathroom looks old, better to use the hotel's onsen.

Comes with buffet dinner and breakfast. Had lots of varieties to choose, more than anyone could try all. The restaurant staff were friendly and came around regularly asking if we wanted certain food.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the ocean. Nice view to relax indoor.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews