We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zamora Estate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Studio Hotel(Santa Ana)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Canal Grande(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
US$36
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Aloft.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luisiana(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Los Candiles(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vista Canyon Inn(Santa Ana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
41
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We just had dinner at Zamora estate and stayed the night and it was fabulous. If you are looking to get away from the regular corporate hotels and looking for a real Costa Rican stay with comfort this place should be top of your list. Ana and Roman will take great care of you and you feel like house guests rather than just guests in a hotel. They have beautiful surroundings, over 200 bird species, vineyards and much more.

Ana's food is superb and she gets all her food fresh and organic from local producers and the local markets. You can actually go with her and she will also teach you to cook!!

All in all this place is fabulous and please do not look anywhere else.

Room Tip: Eat there every night!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We loved our few days at Zamora - really good 5 star accommodation at reasonable prices and Roman and Ana could not have been more helpful. Roman arranged car rental from the Hotel and saved us a lot of hassle (for a more reasonable price than we had been quoted online). They could not have been more helpful and it is a good spot to start or end your trip to Costa Rica, and is easier to get to the airport than from San Jose. It is also close to the main highway that takes you to the west of the country. We were only sorry we didn't have another few nights there to have a good look around the beautiful gardens or enjoy the pool a bit more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We chose Zamora Estates for our last night of our Costa Rica vacation because it looked like a peaceful, convenient and comfortable place to spend the night before a long day of travel home. Unfortunately, it was anything but peaceful the night we were there because, unbeknownst to us, the estate had booked a wedding with 108 guests and a very loud band. Because of that we felt like we were in the way like uninvited guests. So we stayed confined to our rooms as much as we could. My children were unable to use the pool because it would have been in between the wedding ceremony and the reception. The band played very loudly until about midnight making it difficult to get any rest.

With all of that said, I can attest to the beautiful grounds, charming rooms and good food. Had it not been for the wedding, it would have been the perfect place for us to stay. I don't fault the owners for booking the wedding, I just wish that they had informed us ahead of time so that we could have chosen a quieter place under the circumstances. It was one of the more expensive places we stayed during our trip (we had two rooms for 4 adults and two children, and paid over $446 for the night plus ride to the airport). Because of the situation, I don't think we got what we paid for -- the tranquil sanctuary that their website promises. My advice to travelers would be to give this place a try but make it a condition of your booking that you be informed of any weddings that coincide with your visit and the option to cancel the reservation under those circumstances.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Arrived in San Jose on a late flight. Our travel agency recommended this place. It is lovely. everything in the reviews is true. We ended up spending 1 & 1/2 nights. Roman and Ana have a great place. We went into the city the next day to site see and wished we would have just hung out at Zamora Estates. Ana is a fabulous cook. She prepared a delicious breakfast both mornings and dinner as well. We saw many species of birds on the property. Next stop was La Fortuna. So far we haven't come across a better meal. We will stay there again if we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wehadfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I cannot say enough about our great stay at Zamora! Roman & Ana were such warm and welcoming hosts - offering us wine, allowing us to explore the grounds, spending time to chat with us about the rest of our trip. Roman even offered to plan our next trip to Costa Rica - yes, please! Ana is a FABULOUS cook and so nice! The breakfasts were super tasty & we even got to experience one of her dinners as well. YUM! The bungalows were very cozy, clean and we enjoyed also hanging out at the pool. We were even fortunate enough to be there on massage day & get a couple of massages scheduled. SO RELAXING! And the birds, flowers and wildlife just on their estate alone were beautiful. (I'll post pictures). DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teampickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews