We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Heart of Costa Rica”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Ana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zamora Estate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for just one night at the end of our 2 week holiday, but wished we could have stayed much longer. Zamora Estate is truly an oasis, a tranquil and luxurious place just a short distance from downtown San Jose, and just 20 minutes from the airport. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, and have great rustic charm, overlooking ponds and lovely gardens rich in wildlife. The owners are delightful hosts who are very welcoming and made us feel instantly at home. Roman chatted to us about his vines and vineyards and we couldn't help feeling that he is really onto something..... maybe the next big thing in Costa Rica! Ana is a superb cook and we can honestly say we have never tasted any meal quite as delicious as the dinner she prepared for us. We were tempted not to write this review at all, there are some things which are just best kept secret. We hope to be back next year to trya bottle of Zamora Estate's first vintage. We think it will be spectacular.

Room Tip: Try to book room Number 1 for the best view over the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyA922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

We just had dinner at Zamora estate and stayed the night and it was fabulous. If you are looking to get away from the regular corporate hotels and looking for a real Costa Rican stay with comfort this place should be top of your list. Ana and Roman will take great care of you and you feel like house guests rather than just guests in a hotel. They have beautiful surroundings, over 200 bird species, vineyards and much more.

Ana's food is superb and she gets all her food fresh and organic from local producers and the local markets. You can actually go with her and she will also teach you to cook!!

All in all this place is fabulous and please do not look anywhere else.

Room Tip: Eat there every night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We loved our few days at Zamora - really good 5 star accommodation at reasonable prices and Roman and Ana could not have been more helpful. Roman arranged car rental from the Hotel and saved us a lot of hassle (for a more reasonable price than we had been quoted online). They could not have been more helpful and it is a good spot to start or end your trip to Costa Rica, and is easier to get to the airport than from San Jose. It is also close to the main highway that takes you to the west of the country. We were only sorry we didn't have another few nights there to have a good look around the beautiful gardens or enjoy the pool a bit more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We chose Zamora Estates for our last night of our Costa Rica vacation because it looked like a peaceful, convenient and comfortable place to spend the night before a long day of travel home. Unfortunately, it was anything but peaceful the night we were there because, unbeknownst to us, the estate had booked a wedding with 108 guests and a very loud band. Because of that we felt like we were in the way like uninvited guests. So we stayed confined to our rooms as much as we could. My children were unable to use the pool because it would have been in between the wedding ceremony and the reception. The band played very loudly until about midnight making it difficult to get any rest.

With all of that said, I can attest to the beautiful grounds, charming rooms and good food. Had it not been for the wedding, it would have been the perfect place for us to stay. I don't fault the owners for booking the wedding, I just wish that they had informed us ahead of time so that we could have chosen a quieter place under the circumstances. It was one of the more expensive places we stayed during our trip (we had two rooms for 4 adults and two children, and paid over $446 for the night plus ride to the airport). Because of the situation, I don't think we got what we paid for -- the tranquil sanctuary that their website promises. My advice to travelers would be to give this place a try but make it a condition of your booking that you be informed of any weddings that coincide with your visit and the option to cancel the reservation under those circumstances.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Arrived in San Jose on a late flight. Our travel agency recommended this place. It is lovely. everything in the reviews is true. We ended up spending 1 & 1/2 nights. Roman and Ana have a great place. We went into the city the next day to site see and wished we would have just hung out at Zamora Estates. Ana is a fabulous cook. She prepared a delicious breakfast both mornings and dinner as well. We saw many species of birds on the property. Next stop was La Fortuna. So far we haven't come across a better meal. We will stay there again if we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wehadfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
1,004 reviews
0.0 km away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
592 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#7 of 8 in Santa Ana
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
586 reviews
0.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamora Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamora Estate Hotel

Address: 250 meters north of Bacchus, Santa Ana 347, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range: $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamora Estate Hotel and Cafe Lago Restaurant & Bar are a unique concept of a boutique hotel, restaurant, bar, event center and organic vineyard all in harmony with the environment located in the midst of a wildlife sanctuary in the middle of the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing