We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Bacchus

Bacchus
Ranked #6 of 118 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: ¡Do a culinary trip through Italy in a rural late XIX century house! We are specialists in artisanal italian cuisine. We cook with classic and fresh ingredients that give unique flavors to our plates. Inside the restaurant, walls vibrate with art collections, which create different spaces that fill the house with color.
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Home made pasta. Meat eater husband had vegetarian spaghetti dish and loved it. Best lasagna of my life! Yes, I've been to great restaurants in Italy that wished they had food this good! Fine dining yet cozy. Food reasonably priced. Wine a little pricey but a decent wine list. We sat outside on the terrace and weren't sure we made a good choice when we first arrived because there weren't many customers but within half an hour the place was full. The focaccia was great so I'm betting the pizzas are wonderful too. Our only complaint is that we don't live here to be able to eat here often! Our compliments to all the staff as well as the chef!

Thank floppyhatgigglinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Costa Rica, service outstanding! Good wine selection, with Spanish, Chilean and Argentinean wineries.
My favorite grilled octopus with angel hair pasta, in general the meat is great, shrimps are super.

Best if you can get a table outside.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EFraenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

The food was incredible service impeccable. Had chicken parmagine real tender and waiter Melis the best waiter mauricio great also wife had cannoli I t was great a must visit for 2 for40.00 fine dining

Thank nmrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Q, Waiter at Bacchus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Customer,

We thank you for your comments. Hope we can serve you back soon.

Best regards.

Melis V.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Bacchus is an awesome please, if you can get a seat/table outside. The inside is as cold as a meat locker, unless you ask them to wind down the AC. The menu, as with so many places in CR has changed, but for the worst. They have removed some favorites such as the veal starter which was killer, BRING IT BACK!!!

The pulpo was an awesome starter, but the pasta de mariscos was "just average". Pasta didn't taste homemade and the seafood tasted like it came out of the frozen section in Pricesmart (Costa Rica's version of Costco).

They have a great wine selection, however the glasses had, seemed to not have been aired so it had a very "corky" taste at first. However, seemed to mellow during the meal.

I'm all over good service (and serving food on warm plates), which the service was good, but......... Is there any need to have 4 people attending to your table? If it's larger than 6 or 8 yes, anything less, overkill. Food again, as other restaurants, served on cold plates.

Great place, bring back the veal, air the wine, wind down the AC inside and let people enjoy their meal without a waiter/waitress coming over every 5 minutes.

Thank MrBrinxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Q, Manager at Bacchus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Customer,

We thank you for your comments. I do apologize for any inconvenient caused, however I would like to answer some of your inquiries, our Veal with Tuna Sauce it is always available for our customers, even though we do not have it on our menu. The Menu as every year we do change some of our dishes that do not accomplish the expectatives from our customers, for new ones, offering a variety of Italian dishes. Recipes from small towns in Italy. All of our pastas are home-made in our Restaurant, I am really sorry yours had a different taste, as well as our sea food is freshly delivery daily. Our waiters are here to offer a quality service and customer satisfaction. Our Restaurant is located at a very warm place from a Costa Rica and therefore the A/C is a mandatory requirement from all of our customers, we can definetly warm up the temperature as our customers request.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope we can serve you back soon.

Best Regards.

Mario Q.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Bacchus offers some of the finest Italian gastronomy in a very nice setting in an old house in Santa Ana. Very quiet, intimate and beautiful. The food is simply delicious and dishes are really nicely presented. Home meat pasta are a must, as well as the meat and seafood. It is expensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ochassot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Q, Manager at Bacchus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Customer,

We thank you for your comments. Hope we can serve you back soon.

Best Regards.

Mario Q.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Ciudad Colon, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Escazu, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing