We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barefoot Sukau Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Sukau Backpackers B&B(Sukau)(Great Value!)
US$17
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast(Sukau)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$24
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$42
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel City Star(Sandakan)
US$16
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$46
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$17
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel New Sabah(Sandakan)
US$11
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Sanbay Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$21
US$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
13
23
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
23
16
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We undertook the 2 night 3 day package. We were lucky as on a couple of occasions it was only ourselves and our guide on the river cruise trip.

The river cruising was excellent each time staying over the allotted time allocated. Our guide was brilliant at spotting wildlife especially on the night cruise.

There are posters and literature around the restaurant which help you to identify what wildlife you have seen.

The rooms here are very basic with thin walls. We could hear the fella next door snoring. Bathrooms are adequate but you wouldn't want to hang around in it any longer than is necessary. Hot water is available and towels are provided.

Food is tasty and varied enough over the 3 days.

There are great views from the restaurant lounge area. You can easily spot wildlife from there even when not on a cruise we watched at least 2 groups of monkeys work there way across the rock opposite.

Transfers were easy enough with friendly driver.

This stay is all about the wildlife. If your looking for home comforts dont stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareyS-ClareyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We were supposed to stay in Sukau Greenview B&B, but due to some problems we stayed at this place. Overall, the Barefoot lodge proved to be a good but a basic place to stay. Restaurant and river cruise are great. Food was average. Rooms are basic, but if you come to Sukau, you seek for adventures and jungles, so you do not need luxury rooms. Beer is available at reception (local brand - Skol for 6RM per can). However, you can bring your own alcohol and drink it in the lodge (restaurant).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bah881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We opted for the 2 day 1 night package and although a bit expensive, we got value for money! We got picked up from our lodge Paganakan Dii in an aircon people carrier, with our guide and two other girls who were also on a package. We made a stop at the Gormantong Caves, we had the option to join them but decided to save the cash and by all accounts we didn't miss much.

When we arrived at Sukau, it really is an isolated little village on the river down a long winding track, if you didnt know it was there you wouldn't stumble upon it! We received a warm welcome from the staff and immediately fell in love with the surroundings, when they say on the river, they're not exaggerating! Lunch was simple yet tasty and we had a few hours to kill before our first afternoon cruise. The room was basic but little things like the towels arranged in the shape of a lotus flower was a nice touch.

We ended up doing an afternoon and a night cruise, both of which were jam packed full of animal sightings. Although we didnt see any wild orang-utans we did see the following: Herd of 40 Elephants (many which crossed the river and swam right past our little boat), Macaques, Probiscus Monkeys, Crocodile (named Frankie!), Civet, Rhinoceros Horn-bill, Storm stork, Crested Serpent Eagle to name a few of the daytime sights. At night the guides really come into their own and managed to point out things that would've been invisible to most! Blue eared kingfisher, stork billed kingsfisher and a very rare sighting of an endangered flat headed cat. We felt really lucky to see all of these animals and the guides knowledge played a huge part in our experience.

We wanted to do an early morning cruise as well, but due to a recent downpour some of the mountain side had slid into the road and emergency road repairs had to be conducted. This meant that unavoidably the one road in and out of Sukau would be closed for 24hrs so we had to leave the following morning at half 7, not giving us enough time for the morning cruise. The management was apologetic and I think this was reflected in the price we paid as it was far cheaper than we had anticipated. Really great experience and would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: If you can try and do all three cruise (afternoon, night & morning)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We did several cruises and enjoyed all of them. Great guide was provided who could provide lots of facts.
However, the room was the most basic we saw during our travel through borneo. It was still ok but on the edge.
What is inacceptable are the prices for the shuttle service. Since there are no alternatives, they can charge what they want. For the trip from the hotel to the junction, from where the bus to semporna leaves, they charged us far too much - but you have no choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filantrOpO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We did enjoy our stay here, mostly thanks to the fantastic guide Juan who - along with the boatmen - turned out to be a fantastic wildlife spotter and very knowledgeable about it. This was, after all, what we came here for. The food was good, served as a buffet at specified times. Beer is available on site, there's no wifi though. Rooms are very basic but most of all, they could use some renovation. Using the bathroom was rather a dread.
Package services offered by the lodge are overpriced compared to their walk-in rates and their pickup from Sandakan is a sheer rip off - we managed to get to and from Barefoot for a quarter of their quoted price.
We took all the cruises (morning, afternoon, evening) and can recommend all of them. Weather is a factor, if it rains heavily there's not much to see, you may have to wait until the next day. It's about 40min walking to the village and 15 min to the next lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasia_mip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews