We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast(Sukau)(Great Value!)
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$43/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
13
23
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
23
16
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2015

What a find! I stayed at Barefoot Lodge (recommended by a family friend) with my husband and his parents for two nights and had a truly wonderful stay. The lodge's location is absolutely breathtaking, situated alongside the river, running through the rainforest.

Our rooms were simple but very pleasant and had private bathrooms with heated electric showers. We were glad of the wall-mounted fans to keep cool. The staff were lovely and very welcoming and catered for my vegetarian diet with good dishes every day.

We went on a total of 5 boat tours (two morning trips, two afternoon trips and one after dark) and saw a great variety of animals including a pygmy elephant, a snake, frog, owl, monitor lizard, several different types of monkey, various birds and an orang utan with her tiny baby! Our guide Jesse was fantastic and could spot the most camouflaged animals amongst the trees.

We will definitely return on future trips to Borneo! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2014

If you're fine with roughing it with the accommodations, and love adventures and wildlife, this should be a place you should to visit. The other tourists along with the staff are very friendly, and there is wildlife everywhere. You should definitely take their river tours, even if it's raining like heck, because we saw an elephant, hornbills, proboscis monkeys, kingfishers, all sorts of animals. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly, and the food is great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lyza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

I stayed in the dorm, originally had it to myself but when a group of four arrived they also joined me - in a room with four beds. The extra mattress on the floor certainly did not leave much space to move around!

The river cruises were surprisingly quiet as the guides hardly gave any information on the animals other than their names.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mangosorbet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

We did stay 3 nights in Barefoot. The staff is very friendly, the food is perfect, river cruises are a great experience. We spotted elephants, different species of monkeys, crocodiles, many birds etc.
The accommodation is very basic, no airco, not very clean, we had some flees in our bed, the sewer system did not work that well, leaking water mains etc.
Barefoot is offering a great nature experience the accommodation however needs refurbishment. Due to the poor accommodation the price is to high.

Room Tip: It's about nature. Do not expect great rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levi2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The whole experience was very good. River cruises were nice and our guide was very funny and helpful with explanation. They picked us at the airport and took back there with no extra fee.
The accomodation was quite wild.. The room was not clean to be honest. It was full of insects and the bathroom was not that good (no box shower i.e.).
It is quite cheap compared with the other lodge.
All the meals could be improved.
I suggest to stay there 2 days and 1 only night.. It'd be enough. Do all the 4 river cruises and that's it. We saw birds, different kind of monkeys, orang, cocodriles, snakes, frogs, varano, etc

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews