We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and unique overnight stop at reasonable price”
Review of B&B Cave

B&B Cave
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Cave
Ranked #3 of 6 Troo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this unique overnight stop en route to the south of France. It is a little tricky to find and we weren't sure we were in the right place until we were greeted by Barbara and Bernard with a welcome glass of wine. Really quaint and not at all as basic as we thought. Spacious, very French and a fantastically modern bathroom. Lovely little terrace where breakfast was brought to you from the owners' house above. In comparison to some of the very standard hotels we stayed at this was very good value for money. Visit the little cave museum and ALS the cave wine vault for good slur local wine. Little else to see and do and on,y 1 restaurant within walking distance but this was a great stop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline123868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed one night in September as part of a driving holiday round France and by my own assumption, this was probably going to be the most quirky of the selection of B&B. We were not let down
After a long drive and calling Barbara to get the final directions, we were welcomed to the B&B up the hill and shown our room.
Well Cro Magnon meets space age is one way to describe it, with the Cave itself, the comfortable bedroom and then the space age, very contemporary bathroom- what a surprise!!!!
Barbara and Bernard brought us a small carafe of wine on arrival, which we sat out on the little terrace and had conversations with them both about their home and the village. Very welcoming
Being a Sunday evening, there was not much option about where to eat, but the place they recommended fitted the bill.
There were surprises of the entertaining kind in the bathroom, provided by the basin with the sensors and the options available on the shower.
A very comfortable night's sleep with no light polution whatsoever, was followed by breakfast including plenty of coffee, lovely bread and selection of confitures.
Bernard and Barbara are lovely hosts and thier B&B is equally filled with character.
The only down side of the place it that we believe the space age shower and its humidity is not so easily dealt with by the cave itself, which did lead to it smelling a little dank.
That said, we have stayed in other places which were not as clean, where the hosts were seriously unfriendly and where the location just didn't live up to the "press"
B&B Cave and Troo is well worth the visit, even if it is one night only.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMG272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

What an experience! We were expecting something pretty basic and were pleasantly surprised. Bernard the owner was very welcoming and offered us a nice glass of local wine on arrival, which he joined us for. It helps if you have a smattering of English as his is pretty basic. We didn't get to meet his wife Barbara, but she was very helpful when booking the room.
The room is amazing. It is a little damp, but what do you expect from a cave?!! There are two double beds in there and all kinds of books and hats and curios to look at. The shelves are fully stocked for plates etc if you have to eat in (there were no restaurants open within walking distance, but we were there out of season). While the room has a really old fashioned feel, the bathroom has been recently refurbished and was great. Bernard took huge pleasure in demonstrating the new shower with its 4 different shower heads!! Breakfast was great with fresh local bread, still warm, and a selection of 4 local fruit jams.
Overall, great fun for stopping over for a night or two.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Sleeping in a cave is special. You smell some humidity what is normal in a cave. Cery Nice breakfeast: bread was still hot. Nice place and cheap. Unique experience

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bulgardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Absolutely authentic, even to the point of the room being musty and dank!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandBandRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troo hotels
0.7 km away
L'Ile o Reflets
L'Ile o Reflets
#1 of 6 in Troo
88 reviews
0.1 km away
Chateau de la Voute
0.1 km away
Cote Sud
Cote Sud
#2 of 6 in Troo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Cave

Address: Escalier Saint Gabriel, 41800 Troo, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Troo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Troo
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing