We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & service, can't fault a thing”
Review of The Fleece Inn

The Fleece Inn
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 21/10
20:00
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bretforton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Fleece Inn is the perfect rural retreat just a stone's throw from the beautiful Cotswold's boasting roaring open fires for the winter months, open garden and apple orchard for the summer sun and a friendly welcome all year round. With real ales and traditional ciders aplenty this historical pub is a favourite with CAMRA members and the welcoming atmosphere and good food attract visitors from all over the world.
Reviewed 5 June 2021

Super meal in the beautiful orchard at The Fleece Inn in Bretforton last night. Although it was busy, as you'd expect on a lovely summer's evening, there was very little wait for drinks or for our food which came promptly. The ordering app works really well, although we still preferred to order our food from one of the delightful waitresses who are now armed with iPads for efficient & speedy ordering. We had poached smoked haddock with panko-breaded Vale asparagus, smoked salmon salad, the Moving Mountains veggie burger, and the asparagus-season special pizza with parma ham. All delicious. And our kids made light work of their halloumi sticks, fish & chips and pizzas. At a time when the whole hospitality industry is struggling to recruit staff, you couldn't tell at The Fleece last night. Very well done!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank katharines525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Still wondering how could they have a slot for a couple for lunch on a glorious bank holiday day, yet glad they had. And glad we found it, despite satnav saying our dedtination was in the middle of nowhere (don't trust it and check your way beforehand).
Not your regular pub - much more restaurant quality, and I loved the asparagus specials. Very good local ales, while wine selection was small but good and very honestly priced. Service was great and the inside dining room looks like a Tudor period drama set - apart from the fact that it is original.
Only negative side, it's not closer to home to visit regularly!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank ManuRecovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

We were drving around the Evesham area trying to find one of the old asparagus pubs, and the name of the Fleece popped up. So off we went to find it. Tucked away in a corner off the main road. The parking was difficult as the inn does not have its own parking.But we made it and went into the yard area. There was plenty of seating here and in the garden, so we were happy to be directed to a table. Two or three young women were serving very efficiently and there was a good choice of local bitters and ciders. The pub had a feel of Old England about it and this was a most enjoyable visit.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank 1NigelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

We had read very mixed reports about this place so unsure what to expect. We needn't have worried the food and service were excellent.
It is tiny but full of atmosphere, stone floors, open fire, genuine oak beams.
We both ordered their famous steak and ale pies with chips, peas and gravy. These were served very promptly by a a pleasant cheerful lady. They were the best steak and ale pies ever. Packed ful of melt in the mouth beef. We asked for extra gravy and 2 minutes later a jug arrived at our table.
Deserts were quite nice. My pana cotta was a bit solid but very tasty. Hubbies sticky toffee pudding was light and delicious.
All in all lovely meal with excellent service. Will return if we visit this area again.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank Jasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

We chose this as National Trust members who were going to be in the area and it looked like a nice treat for the first meal out since Lockdown ended. Parking is difficult (nothing in the Inn itself so it has to be on nearby roads) so please allow plenty of time.
Inside we got the feeling the main problem was lack of staff. As soon as we sat down we were rushed to give our full order. Usually you order drinks first and then get time to read the menu. We had looked online beforehand so had a idea. I asked for pizza because of this, and it was available but we were not offered a pizza menu on the day so we wouldn’t have known otherwise. The asparagus soup was delicious and came with generous butter for the bread. There was quite a wait for the main meal. My enormous pizza was delicious (too much for one!) but my husband’s fish and Chips were disappointing with the ‘hand cut’ chips thick and very dry inside. Then we waited and waited for our plates to be cleared and a second drink to arrive. We then waited a further long time for our desserts (ordered at the beginning if you remember). Due to COVID Regs you don’t feel you can get up and go looking for staff. Finally someone came and asked if we wanted anything else. This made us realise our pudding wasn’t coming so as we didn’t feel like waiting any longer we paid and went. We were also chilly inside and had to ask for a blanket. It was rather dark too. Perhaps the fire is usually lit but wasn’t allowed at the present time. With all that has happened this year it seems churlish to complain and hopefully there will be improvements as the season goes on. It looked very attractive outside and we wish all the staff the best.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Pioneer55499879928
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Fleece Inn also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Evesham, Worcestershire
 
Evesham, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.