We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$24
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.comUS$24
eDreamsUS$24
Agoda.comUS$24
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
26
4
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
4
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocky beach per night enjoyed our stay no hot water net valerie reception oon hill bugs nature monkeys rocks resort ferry island sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

A lot of reviews about the hike up to reception and the wildlife in the rooms in the evening, ignore them! The walk up to reception is made easy by the gentleman who carries your bags all the way up for you. The only other time we went up to the top was for food, which was amazing so the worked up appetite was welcome.

This is the nicest island bungalows we have stayed in yet. Valerie and Oon are lovely people to deal with, they remember you by name and are honestly the most helpful people ever.

The beach is rocky however if you head out directly infront of the bungalows when the tide is in you can easily swim out past the rocks to cool down in the afternoon heat.

The pop up bar by the beach is perfect for a few cheap cocktails whilst watching the sunset before heading upstairs for dinner.

We strongly reccommend this for staying if you're a couple travelling the island and don't fancy one of the beaches that are to lively. This is the perfect balance!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dyltravel94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

We only stayed 2 nights with Valerie, Oon and their team but we wished we were staying longer.

The bungalows were lovely- yes you have a few bugs, and ants however their is a net over the bed which is perfectly fine. We stayed in island accommodation in Cambodia paying much more and the standards were much lower!! The shower is hot..result! Some of our mainland showers haven’t been. The breakfast was delicious so definitely add it to your booking! The food in the evening was also lovely and the service and atmosphere was very nice.

Valerie and Oon clearly take great pride and this is passed on to their team and the sons who we met. There is a beach bar at the bottom that gives you a great chill zone 5pm onwards and a beautiful sunset! 100baht cocktails also :)

The only thing to note is if you have mobility issues there is a lot of stairs up to the top, I myself have hyper mobile joints and just needed to take it a little slower! - the guys are more than helpful with taking your heavy bags!!

There are lots of activities for you to do if you wish, we just wanted a full chill out few days.

People have noted that the beach in front is rocky, yes it is but if you walk a few metres to the left you hit beach!

Thank you to the whole team, we really enjoyed our stay on the island and will be recommending it to anyone who is considering travelling Thailand.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ridgcoltsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2019

It didn't start well from the beginning. Because we came there in low season the ferries did not work. I emailed the owners about options how to get there, got some, but they did not told me that they can organise free pick up from pier so we had to pay for that. Anyway once we got there we found out it is not a beach front hotel as they advertise. The view is nice, you will see the ocean but forget the beach - a lot of steps. The road to the hotel is extremly bad. If it rains it is very hard to collapse on the scooter - i did it twice. We were not able to rent scooters from the hotel, had to do it in some other place. Because I collapsed 2 times they charged me 1100 BHT on return, and than additional 400BHT when I was checking out from the hotel(weird hat the owner just decided to add up 400 BHT but I just wanted to leave..) Food at the restaurant is acceptable, ok but nothing great. Much better options on this island. Make sure to take watershoes - a lot of rocks. Rooms - nice, but prepare your self for meeting with cockroaches and other bugs. It is how it is. If you're lucky you will find a monkey on your porch once - it was a highlight of the visit. Be aware that they add 4% commision on every card payment - they do not write it on booking or other websites.

Room tip: Ask precisely for a room next to the beach, otherwise you will get one next to restaurant which is not nice.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michał Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019 via mobile

Firstly, if you don’t like geckos , snakes cockroaches and spiders ... this place is not for you. There are holes in the rooms so these creepy crawlers WILL be in your bedroom . No air con in rooms, just a fan. (We were absolutely fine with the fan, it was hot but your in Thailand so it’s to be expected!)

The rooms were very clean with great maid service. There are monkeys on the island so don’t leave your items laying around, they will get taken There were a lot of stairs from the bar&beach to the bungalows and diner. (I was quite ill on the island because of the heat and I was bitten by mosquitoes and sandflies which resulted in awful itching on my legs). This is no fault of oon lee bungalows, I just want to give you an idea of how remote this place is.

The restaurant is quite expensive, but the food is very nice. You can get cheaper food around the island though. We hired mopeds and drove around the island, would highly recommend coconut beach, lots of large starfish to see. We also did the boat trip and saw 4 different islands. We got to swim in the bluest water I’ve ever seen. The fish and coral was just breathtaking.

Valerie and oon were incredible hosts, we couldn’t have asked for more. All the staff are so friendly, we would go back in a heartbeat if we could! Thank you for making our experience in Thailand so incredibly special. We hope to see you again soon! ❤️

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We stayed at Oonlee for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon (we booked the Grand Seeaview Bungalow... which didn't have a Seaview). Our transfer dropped us at the top of a hill and we had to walk the last section with all our luggage which was not ideal. The resort itself was very pretty, and quite unique in that it is built up a hillside from a very rocky beach. Our room was near the restaurant and didn't feel very private. To go down to the bar or the beach you have to battle almost 100 steps. We didn't mind this so much but not great if you're unfit or suffering with any disabilities.

Valerie and the staff were very pleasant and helpful, though we didn't spend much time at the resort. Unfortunately there is no swimming pool which is a must in that heat & no aircon in the rooms making it virtually impossible to sleep. The food was tasty, if a little overpriced. We therefore spent most of our time eating & swimming at one of the other resorts along the beach. We rented 2 scooters from the resort to explore the island which was nice, but a bit of a surprise that we had to walk a few kilometres into town to collect them.

For the same price there are more appealing options on the island.

Room tip: Not the place is you're looking for a room with a view.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 192jadesBAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews