We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
267
37
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
267
37
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjumping pillowholiday parkglow wormspa sitegreat facilitieskids clubself contained cabinthe kitchenpowered sitecamping groundride their bikesgreat campgreat spotgreat place to stayenjoyed our staysand dunesan added bonus
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

This was our first visit to Ohiwa, but it certainly won't be our last. What a lovely camp. Despite it being mid-winter and very quiet, the ammenities were spotless and the grounds and gardens looked amazing. The beach is wonderful. A particular highlight was a little Weka that joined us each evening for happy hour.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mintyopotiki, Manager at Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Park glad to hear we will see you again. Yes the Weka birds are very friendly and enjoy walking through the park. We look forward to seeing you again.
Safe travels from the Team at Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We frequently travel back and forth to Gisborne so Ohiwa is a convenient half way point. Usually, we use one of the camp's tourist flats. They are good value, very clean and well appointed, yet retain that basic camp ground atmosphere.
The hosts are always very friendly and welcoming.
The location? Well, what can one say? Ohiwa is just stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whosemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mintyopotiki, Manager at Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Yes Ohiwa is certainly stunning and the walks are very relaxing - great for a break away.
Safe travels from the Team at Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

This park is beautiful. We were in our camper but the facilities are great. The ocean is just at your doorstep and there is lovely walks to do. It’s a perfect place to rest. I would recommend this to anyone wanting good time out

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kls2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mintyopotiki, Owner at Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi there, thank you so much for taking your time to write a review on your stay with us last weekend. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

I have pulled in because of the w rather - not because I want to go to the beach or play on the balloon tramp.

A very nice park no doubt, but as per top tens (tourist greed), I get charged per night for TWO people and can't use my nzmca discount unless Iv been here for 3 nights.

And even more crazily - they only gave me 100 mb for one stay... other camps realise that you CAN have unlimited wifi now.

Am also surprised at what they charge for washing - $4!! Per load. (Am quite sure that the washers and dryers have paid for themselves now many times over.

I'm disappointed that these parks have become just greedy really.

When are they going to start changing the rates for solo travellers and lowering machine costs???

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank JTDAWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mintyopotiki, Owner at Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I am though a little confused as at this time of the year our charges are per person, not per camp site as you seem to think they are. In fact at all other times other than peak our prices for camping are per person. We do offer an NZMCA discount which will apply out of season and after the first nights stay.
The price for a load of washing @ $4 is fairly standard at most laundromats and holiday parks. Hoping you do not have Ohiwa Beach holiday Park confused with somewhere else.

thanks
Nola Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

We were so impressed with this lovely spot and our warm reception. Would love to stay there again for sure. Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park was recommended by other family members who know it well. It certainly lived up to its reputation and more.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbP350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mintyopotiki, Owner at Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi there Barb P,
thank you for taking your time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are really glad you enjoyed it and hope we see you again soon.
Nola Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews