We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$82
View deal
Priceline
US$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Agoda.com
US$76
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
eDreamsUS$82
FindHotel
Trip.comUS$86
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
168
63
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
168
63
13
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fillet steak first floor lovely lunch cooked to perfection room was spotless booked this hotel meal proprietor esk mushrooms rear portions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2021

We didnt stay in the hotel, but dropped in looking for dinner. We hadnt booked but were well looked after, and enjoyed our meal( coming back another evening, when we had booked!).Mushroom, black pudding and goats cheese starter was lovely, as was the soup. Mushroom rissotto , sea bass, and the rosie pork were all very tasty. Good sides and portions ideal. Staff attentive and all covid aware.
Dont hestitate if you are down this way!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Galloway, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Dear Sylvia, Many thanks for your kind review, the team and myself were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your food and that the team looked after you well.
Many thanks for coming back another night and we hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2021 via mobile

It’s hard for hotels under Covid when there’s few guests around, but we couldn’t have been made more welcome.

The hotel is charming with tartan carpets setting the atmosphere and a very attentive level of service in the bar and during dinner and breakfast. The food was excellent, from scallops on Stornaway black pudding to haggis-stuffed chicken with whisky cream sauce. Breakfast was varied and filling, just what you need to set you up for the day.

Our room was comfy with a large en-suite bathroom. Despite facing the main road, there was no undue traffic noise when the window was shut. Even the church clock refrained from striking the hours during the night, so all peaceful.

Lovely town, superb bird life seen along the River Esk and out into the surrounding woods. Do visit!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Galloway, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Dear Allicia, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team made you welcome, also great to hear how you enjoyed the food and found things of interest near by during your visit to Langholm.
We do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

Although we were not staying in the hotel so can not comment on these facilities, we had a meal here in the beer garden on Wednesday evening. Very good service and the food was delicious (fillet steak, which was cooked to perfection). Would highly recommend a visit.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Galloway, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Hi Sam , many thanks for taking the time to review your meal with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed he food and the team looked after you, also great that the weather allowed you to dine al fresco.
We hope we can welcome you back soon, and maybe even an over night the next time.
Kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2021

Booked this hotel as an impromptu night away. Cannot fault the place, service and food were excellent and the room was spotless. I would definitely recommend here and will most definitely visit again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Teuchter_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Galloway, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2021

Many Thanks for taking time to review your Visit to the Eskdale Hotel, The team and myself were delighted to hear we ticked all the boxes for a night away. Hope that we can welcome you again soon.
Kid Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2020

We have been staying at the Eskdale hotel several times a year for the past four years
We keep going back as the service at the hotel is fantastic as are the meals, all the staff are very welcoming and the two directors of the hotel go out of their way to make sure our stay is always special.

Room tip: we always stay in the suite when we go which is excellent
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B9018ZLchristinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews