We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$82
View deal
Priceline
US$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
FindHotel
US$74
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Agoda.comUS$75
eDreamsUS$82
Trip.comUS$86
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
168
63
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
168
63
13
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fillet steak first floor lovely lunch cooked to perfection room was spotless booked this hotel meal proprietor esk mushrooms rear portions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with great character. Staff are a delight and the food in the restaurant is superb. Family run and very personable service. Everywhere was spotless, an utter delight!! Easy parking in the centre of an idyllic town. I will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NevGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2021

What a start to our holiday this was just a stop over hotel for us but I’m so glad we found this beauty and will definitely be back. We were greeted with a lovely man who couldn’t be more helpful. Our room was just amazing HUGE beds and the shower was just the best we had dinner here aswell and the food was fantastic. Maybe end our holiday here aswell 10/10 will definitely be recommending this wee gem to friends and family

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kirstie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Galloway, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Dear Kirstie, Many thanks for taking time to review your stay with us, we were over the moon that you found everything to your liking, thanks for the 10 /10 we would be delighted to welcome you back soon and hope you enjoy the rest of your break.
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021

We came as a family for lunch in the beer garden on our holiday and had a really lovely time. There was a very friendly atmosphere. The service and food was all great. Lots of choice and it all tasted amazing - good value for money. We brought along our dog too and the waiter gave her a bowl of water which was very kind. Would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mathscm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Galloway, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Dear Mathscm, Man thanks for your kind review, we are glad that you were welcomed and looked after by the team and that you enjoyed the food and drink.
Hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Delighted to see standards maintained and even improved on despite the challenges of the pandemic. We were made especially welcome, as always, and it is clear that the guests safety and welfare is uppermost in the proprietor’s minds. Restaurant excellent - the lamb cutlets melted in the mouth and were full of flavour. Breakfast outstanding too!

Room tip: An old building so the rooms are not uniformly shaped. This adds to the charm but may be difficult for guests with impaired mobility.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Service
Thank roddyl515
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Galloway, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Dear Roddy, Many thanks for the kind review, we are delighted that you felt welcomed and and safe and that you enjoyed your stay and the our food.
We hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2021

We didnt stay in the hotel, but dropped in looking for dinner. We hadnt booked but were well looked after, and enjoyed our meal( coming back another evening, when we had booked!).Mushroom, black pudding and goats cheese starter was lovely, as was the soup. Mushroom rissotto , sea bass, and the rosie pork were all very tasty. Good sides and portions ideal. Staff attentive and all covid aware.
Dont hestitate if you are down this way!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Galloway, Owner at Eskdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Dear Sylvia, Many thanks for your kind review, the team and myself were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your food and that the team looked after you well.
Many thanks for coming back another night and we hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews