We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy but eccentric”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villerville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We had a seaview junior suite during our stay. The space and furnishings were lovely, however, be aware that the bathroom is not private with no dividing wall between it and the main bedroom, which is a pain if one of you wants to sleep and the other wants a bath. Naturally, the toilet IS enclosed but this is situated in the lounge area and the acoustics are pretty good, if you follow my drift...
The hotel itself boasts an excellent restaurant but it's all formal dining so if you hanker for just a snack, you will have to look elsewhere. The beach is a 10 minute walk away down a very steep road. It's fine getting down there but coming back is a challenge - especially if you've taken deckchairs with you.
The reception desk is hilarious - it appears to be pot-luck whether someone is there to serve you or not. On two occasions we waited 5 minutes for our room key and then, when the place was still deserted, we just walked in and took the key ourselves - no one seemed to notice or to care, but it seems a little less than secure!
The staff are all friendly, and some speak English, but prefer it if you engage them in French.
Not sure if we will be back because of the bathroom arrangements, but would otherwise recommend it heartily.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miss_Horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

We wanted a quiet start to our vacation after driving to Normandy from Paris. The Hotel Le Bellevue was a perfect spot. We enjoyed our spacious room (#20) overlooking the water and sat on our small balcony each day. We opted to have dinner at the hotel restaurant the first night of our stay and then decided to return for dinner on our second night after a day of exploring Honfleur and the Cider Route. Marc and the rest of the restaurant staff were gracious and helpful. The hotel is beautiful but not pretentious and the town has a few shops, a museum and a waterfront walkway. We are very glad we opted for this experience.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our third-floor room, #20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Stayed here for a week with the original intention of bringing our two dogs. Unfortunately we had to leave the dogs in the UK (rabies jabs not up to date) but I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

The staff are extremely friendly and we were given a warm welcome after a long day of driving. We had been warned about the need to reserve a table in the dining area and were glad we did. The restaurant has a top reputation and the standard of food was exemplary. We had five evening meals throughout the week and the standard did not falter at all. People clearly travel from far and wide to experience the cuisine.

The room was comfortable and quiet and would have been ideal if we had bought our dogs. The only criticism I would highlight is the lack of air conditioning. The only way to circulate air through the room is to leave the patio door open and keep the shutter up at the bottom. Not exactly ideal and when the nights are warm this can impact on getting a good night's sleep.

Some lovely views from the garden and we were able to dine outside on one evening. The staff humoured me by conversion with me in French. A good place to stay if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of Deauville and Trouville.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms probably provide a better view of the channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Everything perfect, wonderfull , staff, room, food, location .Everything...Big clean room, very good breakfast, amazing sea view from the restaurant terrace. Free parking, exceptional food, well Normandy in a pill.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank sebmaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

This place is stunning.

The building: an old building, more recently extended. It has character, is very well maintained, is built on a slope over several floors (but has a lift) which facilitates the beautiful views from most of the rooms.

Parking: plentiful and convenient. Well maintained car park.

Cleanliness and hygiene: absolutely spotless. It was noticeable to us how hard the cleaners worked on our room (and in the common areas) and how thorough the cleaning was. The cleaners are also charming and accommodating.

Staff: superb. Charming, sense of humour, highly professional, extremely helpful.

Rooms: ours (19) was an 'accessible room' (because of our dog). It was roomy, with a large enclosed balcony (ideal for dog owners) and had everything we needed for a comfortable 7 night stay.

Common areas: clean, lovely decor and art, very comfortable. Done by someone with good taste.

Restaurant and food: very high standards. We only had breakfast (excellent) but other residents were complimentary about evening meals.

Dogs: some hotels say they take dogs but they obviously do so reluctantly. This hotel TAKES DOGS(!) and has one of its own. Our dog loved staying here. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant - our dog is extremely well trained and well behaved (she's a working Therapy Dog in schools and psychiatric wards) but she is large and takes up a lot of space(!) - OK at breakfast, sometimes more challenging in a busy restaurant in the evening. That was our decision, though - the hotel had no problem with us taking the dog into the restaurant and made that very clear.

Gardens: terraced (because of the slope which gives you the views), small defined areas, some shaded, well maintained and a lovely place to eat, if the weather is fine, or to have drinks or coffee. Comfy garden furniture. Just outside the restaurant's folding doors (which let out on to the garden) is a beautiful mature pine with a curled trunk that is a bit of a feature. Some topiary has been done very thoughtfully (and clearly over some years) to maximise the views from all rooms.

In the interests of balance we've tried hard to think of negatives and we've struggled. The only thing we can come up with is that there is no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms and whilst we accept there's a debate on that, we prefer to have it (but not instant!) Also the entrance gates are almost adjacent to a garage which might be a bit off-putting for some, initially (if so, get over it - the drive is quite long, the garage is left behind, and once in the hotel grounds you're not aware of it at all).

If you have physical challenges the beach is a steep climb (but you can drive if it isn't too busy).

We think this place is absolutely magical. The village itself is lovely, there are good local walks for dog owners (though we do wish more French people would pick-up after their dogs - it still isn't part of the culture of dog management in France; but that applies anywhere, not just here).

We have stayed in some far more celebrated and exalted hotels with five stars and enjoyed our stay a lot less. If you love this part of France, as we do, try it. We'll certainly be back.

Some of the pictures show the hotel, others the surrounding area (it was the location of some famous film noir, apparently, hence the style of some pictures!)

Room Tip: Some of the ground floor rooms close to a very quiet road at the back have no view (but are presumab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavidofEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villerville
4.5 km away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
564 reviews
21.5 km away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
6.7 km away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Hotel Les 2 Villas
Hotel Les 2 Villas
#1 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
407 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 32 in Honfleur
555 reviews
7.2 km away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue

Address: 12 rue du General Leclerc, 14113 Villerville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Villerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villerville
Price Range: S$226 - S$321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing