We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayal Lyang Homestay
Reviewed 25 November 2015

This is a green haven. From the verandah you have breathtaking views of densely green mountains; a little trek down and you have the gurgling river. Gyatso and Samsay are the perfect hosts, feeding your body and your soul with their hot nourishing meals and stories of the land.

The homestay is located down on the mountain side, so people who have trouble climbing or walking should be careful... Also there are no attached toilets. Wasn't too much of an issue but it helps if one is mentally prepared.

I would love to go back in different seasons, and strongly recommend this for people who want a quiet, non commercial experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mountainside have a view, inside rooms have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank himalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2015

Great place to stay. Close to Nature and a great sustainable initiative by Gyatso Lepcha. Gives a true experience of homestay in serene Dzongu. Highly recommended for those who can connect to nature and wish to spend a peaceful time.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gautamdangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Stayed here for 6 nights and wanted to stay here for ever! Gyatso and his wife Samsay are top class hosts and they know what they are doing. Young Kalzang is their local guide related to Gyatso.Just make friends with Kalzang and he will take you out for local adventures. There are many local places to visit, but during my 6 days stay I did not go to many places. Spent a lot of time exploring the village and meeting people. The Lepchas are simple and wonderful people with a natural, everlasting smile on their faces. One can spend days on the river bank below and if you are lucky you can catch Brown trout in season. You can also go and teach in the local school. Your services are more than welcome. Otherwise laze around with your favorite book and if you brought a pair of binocs- this is a birder's and butterflies paradise. Samsay is an excellent cook. Her Wild Orchid dish is out of the world!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maltmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

River below. Sit there alone for hours. Trek upto natural got springs and dip yourself there.. trek again to the waterfalls (carry a swimsuit) and be the under them. Carry an umbrella for the rainy season. And really warm clothes for the winter. Small comfy rooms to stay in and nature all around. Gyatso and his family to have conversations with and drink che and eat organic home cooked food.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Malini_Aditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Samsay and Gyatso really open up their home and lives to absolute strangers with a lot of trust and affection. We were there for two nights; part of the time it was raining really hard so we just sat in the extremely scenic sitting area and watched the clouds float in and out while Samsay took care of our food and drink.
Her home made local alcohol is fabulous. I don't eat wheat and Samsay took care to feed me none of that and yet keep up the variety in what she served.
It was illuminating to learn about the Lepcha struggle against Hydel projects in the region from Gyatso.
The day we left, it was raining hard and instead of letting us wait for our ride, they were kind enough to give us a lift out of the Reserve on their way to Gangtok.
It's a beautiful place with hikes across mountains and peaceful naps by the riverside, all within easy reach.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank oddends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mayal Lyang Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayal Lyang Homestay

Address: 1 Passingdang Village | Upper Dzongu, Mangan 737116, India
Region: India > Sikkim > North Sikkim > Mangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mangan
Price Range: $65 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the local culture up-close. Enjoy the warmth and hospitality of the locals of Dzongu, the Lepchas, by living as a part of their family. Hike, trek, eat organic food, meditate, angle ... find peace at Dzongu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing