We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mangan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayal Lyang Homestay
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Meeting and interacting with the locals is the essence of travel without this travel is meaningless , and the way to do is to live with them in their homes .
We found Mayal lyang Homestay when surfing the net for an ideal homestay where we could experienced the Lepcha way of life,their simplicity, their customs, their food,their aspirations their love for nature and after reading their website our decision was made.
Mayal lyang homestay is a home of Gyatso and Samsay Lepcha which they willingly share with people like us . It is in a valley tucked away far down from the main road, walled one side with mountains, a gushing river and greenery all over, all one hears is the sound of gushing water and birds chirping. The rooms are simple comfortable and clean,most of the rooms have the view of the mountains . Mayallyang is spread out with many sit outs where one can spend time reading, connecting with other guests and talking to Samsay and Gyatso who are very kind with their time enlightening us about Dzongu .
We looked forward to the meals because every breakfast was different , every lunch and dinner was different , the menus were well chosen and balanced and the most importantly every dish was well prepared and tasty. We were able to taste a lot of the Lepcha food, in the four days of our stay, most of the vegetables were from the garden,organically grown and the pickles and jams were home made with the produce from the farm. Samsay is a great chef!
There is so much to do , to see and to experience.One visit is not enough, got to come back.
I have put together some photographs that will hopefully convey the essence of the place.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and during the day one spends more time outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank premila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2016

Mayal Lyang (hidden forest in the lepcha language) is well out of the way. If you want cell phone reception, you have to walk up to the main road. If you want 3G, you have to walk up to the monastery.

Gyatso Lepcha and his family were amazing hosts. The food is delicious, simple and homemade. We had long conversations about the lepcha people of Sikkim and the politics of the area.

There are some great walks away from the property down to the river at the bottom of the valley and up to the monastery.

Things to do nearby include swimming in various streams and waterfalls, short hikes, visit to a natural hot spring.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarFlungFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

In a quaint village, amidst the most beautiful jungles, close to a nature trail and the gorgeous teesta river, is nestled this quaint home stay. This stay was the best part of my sikkim travel. There's no usual tourist spot and market here. Only if you want to spend quality time with nature or yourself or someone else, this is an amazing place and most beautiful. The food by Mrs Simsay is more than awesome, the rooms are comfortable. Be prepared that there's no attached toilet and you would have to use a common loo. But given a chance I would love to go back to this lap of nature. Mr. Gyatso Lepcha has a pretty home here and lives with his family. He can guide you about the place very well. The trek down to the river is wonderful. There are hot springs also in some distance. Though he can arrange a taxi but its wise to keep your taxi with you if you want better cars, and the stay is for a couple of days.

You must let Gyatso know in advance if you want to book. Do inform some days in advance.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank shalinikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Gyatso and his family warmly opened up their beautiful home to us. Samsay provided us with delicious home-cooked meals from their garden. Gyatso share with us the history of the area and the Lepcha people. We went on a fantastic hike and camped out beneath Mount Kachenzonga. This was the most special experience I had during our stay in India.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Darrah19066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

its a wonderful place - fantastic stay.
samsay the heart of the homestay is a fantastic cook. every day she served different local specialities. the place is a treasure and definite worth a stop over - it is basic -surrounded by nature. the river/nature is amazing. if u can take the lectures of the vain man of the house - u have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mayal Lyang Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayal Lyang Homestay

Address: 1 Passingdang Village | Upper Dzongu, Mangan 737116, India
Region: India > Sikkim > North Sikkim > Mangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mangan
Price Range: $65 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the local culture up-close. Enjoy the warmth and hospitality of the locals of Dzongu, the Lepchas, by living as a part of their family. Hike, trek, eat organic food, meditate, angle ... find peace at Dzongu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing