We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
41
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome stayhis wifemillet beerhome grownwonderful hostslocal monasterygurgling rivernorth sikkimhome away from hometwo nightsan amazing experienceno doubtsit outschirping birdslonger stayculinary skillsnettle soup
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We visited this place for the second time, within a span of six months. This says a lot. But this experience was completely different than the one when we last visited in December. This time it was during rains. Last time we could see oranges and snow clad mountains this time there were no oranges but a riot of green, lots and lots of colorful birds, butterflies and clouds had come down where we were staying. If you want to imagine the forest here in rains, think "Avatar (2009 movie)".

Now its difficult to choose when to come here. This time we stayed for a longer time (8 days) which was a good decision. We could walk to many nearby places everyday, each place breathtakingly beautiful! The waterfalls of Lingzya, holy lake of Thunkyung, mighty Teestha, holy Rhongyoung river, and Kanchanjangha mountain viewed so very close by from Lingthem!

Hygiene, comfort and hospitality was as top-notch as last time. This time, we chose to have only local Lepcha cuisine and it was just too good! Splendid dishes made out of fern, nettle, mushrooms, creepers, bamboo and flowers. And last but not the least just spending time with beautiful Lepchas and Chi (millet wine) with the wonderful hosts. Of course there is going to be a next time and then the next time....as I had said its a home away from home!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suwarnadatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Gorgeous location, great company, tasty food and lots of insights into the life of the Lepchas - need one ask for more? We were warmly welcomed to this delightful homestay by Gyatso and his family (including their pets)! The surroundings are serene and the gurgling river and chirping birds added to the charm.

Gyatso is most passionate and committed to saving the Dzongu reserve from man-made destruction such as dams, and we had several discussions about the Lepchas' struggle. We were served the Lepchas special millet beer 'Chee' which we enjoyed. Many of the dishes served were sourced from the forest such as stinging nettle soup and wild fern vegetable. Unfortunately Samsay was not in town and we missed sampling her cooking which has been praised so much.

On the first day, we were taken for a walk around the village up to the monastery which has a beautiful of Dzongu. The next day, we went to Lingzya waterfalls where we had to trek from the road to reach the falls. We had the beautiful falls all to ourselves to swim in! Suraj, our expert guide, enlightened us about life in Dzongu. He is also very resourceful and made us yummy bhelpuri on a hill which we relished.

The two days passed by in no time and we started making plans for our next visit! The place is truly a delight for those who are looking to spend time marvelling at nature's bounties and who would like a peek into a different culture, one that is so harmonious with nature.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NimishaNitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

An amazing experience. The homestay is in a somewhat remote location, which only adds to the charm. It is about an hour's drive from Mangan. It is located in the very heart of dzongu valley. The couple that runs it, Gyatso and his wife Sansay, is very welcoming. You get to live with their family. The food is organic and homemade, and Sansay is nothing short of genius with her culinary skills. Gyatso was generous with his time, and showed very moving documentaries about the movement against damming of the river Teesta. Because of Gyatso, Sansay and Dorji, we got to experienced very interesting and novel things, including the super yum local millet wine. The views from the room were gorgeous. The treks with Dorji to the hot spring (divine) and monastery were highlights. A great place for winding down, being one with nature, and some adventure. I would strongly recommend this trip. There is so much to be learnt from the lepcha community!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Aditi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Colourful prayer flags fluttering in the wind, gurgling springs, chirping birds, the varying shades of green and flowers dotting the landscape in every colour possible. This is what meets the eye at Mayal Lyang homestay.
When we planned our tour of north Sikkim, Dzongu was suggested by a discerning few as one of the must-see places. And we are glad we accepted that piece of advice.
No doubt we enjoyed our stay at Lachen and Lachung, but our stay at Mayal Lyang Homestay in Dzongu was easily the high point of our holiday.
We arrived at the homestay rather late on a dark rainy evening.
Gyatso Lepcha (who owns this place) and his family warmly welcomed us with cups of hot tea followed by a hot delicious dinner comprising of stinging nettle soup and other dishes hitherto unknown to us.
We were woken up early the next morning to birdsong and the gurgling of running water. At first we thought someone had left a tap running, but it turned out to be water from the numerous springs. “Mayal Lyang” means land blessed by God in the Lepcha language and it is truly so.
Blessed are the people and the flora-fauna of this land. We saw an amazing variety of exotic birds feasting undisturbed on the fruit trees around the homestay as well as on the short walks we went on. The very fact that the birds didn’t fly off upon our approach told us their existence has never been threatened by the local people.
The rooms at the homestay are neat and comfortable with wide beds and have sit- outs facing the path to the river. Rooms are not ensuite, but the three common bathrooms are clean.
Gyatso and his family made our stay very enjoyable. His mother even packed a bag of the juiciest home grown oranges for us for our onward journey. Every meal was something we looked forward to as they comprised new ingredients, sometimes picked from the wild. No dish was repeated. We found the people warm, generous and absolutely uninterested in commercialising the place.
Gyatso’s nephew Dorji accompanied us everywhere educating us on the different medicinal plants the Lepchas use. He accompanied us to the local monastery, where we shared delicious grapefruit with the monk in charge and his students. We also trekked up to a village across the newly formed Mantam lake to take a look at the Khangchendzonga mountain range.
Gyatso our host at Mayal Lyang spent a lot of time with us relating the Lepcha history and their fight to preserve this pristine region. There is a bookcase at the homestay full of books about Lepcha culture and history. The Lepchas are the indigenous people of Sikkim, truly in tune with nature, and seem to be a contented lot. In fact, there is a milestone just at the entrance to the homestay which reads “Happiness – 0 km”, and we did find happiness here.
The two nights we spent at Mayal Lyang were vastly insufficient to get our fill of this place and we definitely intend to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preeta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Dzongu is a hidden treasure....lush green with some amazing hospitality provided by the ever friendly Lepcha people. The homestay is in the heart of Dzongu proiving you Lepcha cuisine which was made by the lady of the house !

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews