We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet La Mar
Nearby Hotels
Tet Rouge Resort(La Pointe)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$521
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$548
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$312
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
11
6
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
6
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housesimplicitydownhilltranquilitybirdsnaturebayvillagecottage
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2015

My husband and I are actually locals who wanted a break from Castries. I discovered this little gem and from time to time I catch myself daydreaming about it. We stayed in the wooden cabin, it was well equipped with towels, hot water and basic utensils. Evelyn was very helpful and the place is just heavenly. The quiet and sea breeze was a real treat. We are going to go this year again for our anniversary if the cabin is available.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

This is a special place located within a special village on a special island. The host and caretaker are kind, helpful and work hard to ensure your stay is exceptional.

The view from the deck is the best I've ever had the joy of experiencing. The accommodations are simple, if a little rustic, but clean and comfortable. Reliable hot water and reasonably comfortable beds, which can sometimes be a challenge in this part of the world. You will experience an "intensity of nature" in the form of a few bugs, but they are manageable. This is really the only reason I don't give it 5 stars.

Laborie is wonderful, but not built for tourists. For me, this is a positive, but for others it will be a hassle. Restaurants don't necessarily have reliable hours, there are only a few of them and the menu options are limited. But so what? The people are among the kindest I've ever met, the meals are delicious, and it's all very affordable. The Saturday market is something not to be missed. Thursday karaoke night at the Big Bamboo is also wonderful. And for my money, the beach in Laborie is one of the most beautiful on the island (you can also get $2.50 USD beers from the beach bar).

All-in-all my families trip to Laborie will go down as one of our favorites. I don't think it is a good fit for most typical "vacationers" but for travelers used to being self sufficient it is great.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank thinkjeffthink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I already wrote a comment last time I came . i m back, the place is as beautiful as ever .. But this time i could try Evelyne's cooking (she will come and cook at home for you ) and a new neighbourg giving delicious massages and Yoga class . I also discovered this very good restaurant in laborie village called Mama Rose . Ask for Minell !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This place might not be the luxurious paradise you think about when we think Ste.Lucia (for that there is Castries and Rodney bay) but you'll still find treasures here! Like silence, community, local food, real creole ambiance, fresh fish, amazing people...

The house as well as the cottage are amazingly well kept and designed. We found there a place our family will for sure come back to for vacation. Laborie, the village where the cottage is, is crazy cool, as long as you can handle some frogs singing at night and birds at day time.

Yves and Evelyne are extremely welcoming. They will do everything in their power to facilitate your stay! And if you want a real taste of the caribs, ask Evelyne to cook for you one night. Have an amazing stay...lucky people!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel_claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I wanted a place where I could feel fairly isolated, to reflect and do some writing and relaxing etc. yet not so cut-off that an evening's beer and meal and a taste of island life would be difficult.

I know from experience that such places are not always easy to find on a reasonable budget, but Chalet La Mar was just perfect!

It is a 5 minute walk (down) into the village of Laborie, which is friendly, quiet, safe and certainly not full of tourists. Everything one needs is there: meals, provisions, a lovely beach and a bar or two. And it has a particularly lovely feeling - traditional and quite different (in the best possible way) from towns further to the North.

The Cottage itself is just as shown: simple and elegant in design. A very lovely place to simply 'be'. And the balcony and its view are wonderful, looking down at the beach on the other side of Laborie bay that is only 5 minutes walk and (at least every time I was there) completely private - though admittedly small, as well. The cottage wouldn't suit people who want a holiday where they spend a lot of time indoors, recreating home life, though perfect for people alone and wanting a trip like mine or couples or friends wanting a simple and warm base to explore the island.

Yves, the owner, and Evelyne, the property manager, couldn't be more welcoming or helpful.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews