We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
925
88
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
925
88
11
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small village turkey nearest town unique experience unique hotel king suite honeymoon suite amazing place jacuzzi bath stayed nights kayseri airport yogurt day tour cave cappadocia emre fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Gamirasu is one of the best places to stay in Capadoccia. Very helpful team who manage the place, and take care of all your needs. Food is simply superb since most of it is grown by them. So it is natural and all homemade (or selfmade, to put it in a better way). The place is in a quaint village where i never saw people around.
The only thing which goes against it is that it is far from Goreme, which is the main city in this area. Due to which, all the facilities are not available and you certainly need a transport to travel around the place, unless you would want a quiet holiday away from everything.
All in all, a beautiful place to spend your solitude.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iAshutosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahimbastutan, Owner at Gamirasu Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Gamirasu.
I am sorry to hear that you felt our hotel is far from "the center".

As you have already been in the area, you have probably seen that Cappadocia is a large region with several "centers", one of them is Goreme but there is also Urgup, Avanos, Uchisar; without counting, Kaymaklı, Ihlara, Soganlı, Mustafapasa and Cavusin.
Goreme is only about 15-20 minutes to Gamirasu.

Cappadocia is the name of the region and it is spread to a surface of about 100 square miles. Where ever you stay in Cappadocia, you will be close to one of the towns but away from the others. You will definitely need transportation where ever you stay in Cappadocia to go to any one of these centers or to go sightseeing.

We are in Ayvalı village where our guests enjoy a tranquil stay after visiting all the touristy towns during the day.

Our hotel provides a free service to and from Urgup which is one of the biggest centers in Cappadocia and is only about 10-15 minutes drive to Gamirasu. You may request this shuttle service to town from morning till evening.

Thank you very much, we will be happy to see you again…

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The Good: Feeling of Isolation, Staying in a cave with comforts, unlimited bottled water, Cave views around the area, superb WiFi connection in the room, ironing board, coffee and tea making facilities, mini bar, ever cheery and hospitable Hamide and staff. The Bad: stuck in the hotel with a food menu in Euros. So even if by Istanbul touristy restaurant prices, this goes beyond. I suggest that the hotel's dinner menu is updated nightly. Thumbs up on the Pepperoni Pide (Turkish Pizza) and the Pottery Kebab. Breakfast is uneventful. I also suggest that the hotel provide scheduled shuttle services for free to Urgup which could be tacked into the hotel's room rate. The Ugly: None.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseRizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahimbastutan, General Manager at Gamirasu Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Dear Jose,

Thank you so much for writing this review.
I am sorry to hear that you felt "stuck at the hotel". As it is also advertized in our web site and we try to tell on arrival to all our guests that we provide a shuttle service to and from the town free of charge between 09:00am in the morning and 22:00pm in the evening anytime the guest request. It s our fault if we failed to give this information clearly.

The price of meals in our hotel can be comparable to any clean and nice restaurant in Cappadocia. Our rates range from 4 EURO to 15 EURO for a main dish which may include a selection of fish food. I am sure it is possible to find cheaper food at the restaurants in the backstreets but we try to use organic food in our kitchen and we are keen on cleanliness and taste of our food for breakfast lunch or dinner. All the meals are freshly prepared, ingredients are carefully selected.

I am happy to hear that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will be happy to see you again at Gamirasu.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Gamirasu is a beautifully-done up cave-hotel in Urgup Village, Cappadocia, Turkey. This was our first stop on our 2 week Turkey and Greece tour. From the moment we stepped in, we were overwhelmed by the warmth of the staff (Special mention of a girl called Hamidiye). From the welcome drinks to the dinners every-night; we had a very memorable stay. The rooms themselves are done up like caves and are comfortably furnished. One outer-sitting room, one bedroom is what we had booked ourselves into. The restaurant too is amazingly done up with a big central fireplace, and serves lip-smacking food. The only downside (if you may call it) is the location. There's not much to do immediately around the hotel. So no late-night post-dinner walks. In places like Goreme etc. you can explore the town at night, which we missed out on. But other than that, as a hotel, 2 thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tanmay_Joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Our tour company booked us at Gamirasu, and we absolutely loved it. Our room was gigantic, with a large living room and separate bedroom, plus a standalone jacuzzi shower unit in the bedroom, each their own cave room. The entire place was decorated with beautiful Turkish carpets and artifacts, plus embroidered sheets and one of the most comfortable beds we had sleep on in a long time. When we arrived, the friendly staff offered us a welcome glass of local wine before showing us to our rooms - a nice touch. The pool wasn't open during our stay, but it had a nice view of the other caves on the hillside; the hotel also had several pretty terraces to sit outside and read a book and enjoy the view. The breakfast spread was extensive and delicious, as was the on-site restaurant for dinner - including live Turkish music and a cozy fireplace. The location is a bit out of the way and there's not much of anything within walking distance, but the town has its own rustic charm.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Like many others, we stayed here because we were on a Euphrates tour, but you must consider this hotel even if you're on your own. It was hands-down the most incredible hotel of our two weeks spent in Turkey (although to be fair, we'd been staying in hotels in the EU100-120 range and Gamirasu was around EU160). The character of the hotel and the room was enough to make it worth it - stunning surroundings, charming grounds and the best mattress we slept on (most Turkish hotels have very hard mattresses). But that was just the start - the service was so attentive, especially on our early morning...

We got up at 4am one morning for a hot air balloon ride and they'd already laid out the breakfast because they knew we'd be up early! When the driver didn't show up, the manager called to yell at them to pick us up. Unfortunately it rained and when we got back around 7am they offered us breakfast again; instead we slept for a few hours and woke up starving around 10am. By then they had removed breakfast because they thought we didn't want any ... but immediately they made up two breakfast platters and fresh coffee just for us.

Speaking of breakfast, it's one of the best spreads we had in Turkey. The dinners aren't the best but you don't have to order the whole set menu (we ordered soups and a few dishes).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexa_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews