We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Gamirasu!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

If you want to enjoy a unique stay in a beautiful cave environment without sacrificing on ambience of this amazing region, this is your place to be! The employees at Gamirasu were wonderful! From the initial stages of email planning, Hamide was our genuinely helpful and amiable liaison. She did an absolutely tremendous job with our reservation changes and even graciously upgraded us to a suite, which was beautiful. You really do get a great night sleep in this unique cave environment. Gamirasu provides an excellent spread for breakfast/lunch. We only stayed one night, but we made sure to have dinner on their beautiful terrace setting, and enjoyed arguably some of the very best bread in the world! On a side note, as this hotel works with the guided tours in the area, make sure you are very clear beforehand on what you would like to see during your tours. We thought we were on the same page with the itinerary, but apparently not. We were disappointed that we seemed to spend more time being plied/lectured into buying a carpet for over 45 minutes inside closed doors at a famed rug factory. We also went to a famous pottery house, which was a similar scenario but it went by quickly and there was less pressure to buy something. Clearly, there's an incentive with the tour guide to take you there based on commissions, which is okay if that's what you agree to beforehand. We would have preferred to have spent more time at the outdoor sites, which is what makes this region so special. In several instances, we were rushed and didn't have much time to take pictures, which wasn't good. Last but not least, make sure to sign up for the balloon ride (deluxe is better, it's more money but you'll have fewer people packed in with you and you'll be able to spend more time up in the air), it is truly the highlight of Cappadocia. Enjoy the Gamirasu, it's exquisite!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank worlditraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGamirasu, Manager at Gamirasu Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Gamirasu.
I was sad to read you did not like the experience at Carpet manufacturing. I understand that as you had only a day, it was a sacrifice of time as it was not in your interest. Our guides are usually very careful about this matter and we cleary state them that this is not our business. Guides may offer such "optional visits" but the guide will not be able to take you there without your approval. From now on, we will be more careful when we give itinerary instructions to the guides.

We would love to see you, your freinds and family again at Gamirasu,

Warm regards,
Hamide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 559 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

We reserved on booking.com for EUR 190 and were upgraded to the Byzantine King Suite! This suite is enormous, featuring a large jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath area, balcony, and more.

The staff are incredibly helpful and eager to please. Four of five of them accompanied us into the suite when we arrived because they wanted to "see our reaction" when we saw the room!

Overall great experience. I only wish we had more than one night to enjoy this special hotel.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
7  Thank JB854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were part of a small group tour of Turkey who have been coming to this hotel for many years. Unfortunately we only had 2 nights at this amazing hotel but the memory will live on. We had a cosy little room on three levels with separate bedroom, bathroom & sitting room. We actually felt like we were in a cave apart from the lovely furniture & fittings & the bed linen was exquisite. All members of our tour had entirely different room configurations & not one was disappointing. The entire region is spectacular and the balloon flight is a must.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bellaPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Was thrilled by the beauty of Cappadocia and so happy that we stayed at this amazing cave hotel "hidewaway" at Ayvali. Great and peaceful location at a tiny countryside village, but still in the center of all sights (12 kms from Urgup).

Stayed 3 days at a unique suite, with lots of history, space and style. Never slept in such a big bed. Huge jacuzzi. Big LCD-TV, free wireless internet access with good signal, and a "natural aircon".

The hotel is extremely well managed and the staff was most helpful in organizing our trips and encounters. The food was good and fresh, however no gourmet thrills, and the breakfast well filled the stomach. Loved the yoghurt with honey and almonds! Evening dinner at the rooftop terrace was quite an experience with the mesmerizing views and sounds!

The hotel offered free horseback riding, but due to our heavy schedule, we didn´t have time to do this.

During our stay, the swimming pool was under renovation, but it looked very tempting.

Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: stayed at suite number 6 and this was really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Gamirasu was an extraordinarily special experience from the moment we arrived and were welcomed by the staff and provided the opportunity to sit together and discuss a plan for our visit. The plans was magnificence as was the execution and every part of the Gamirasu experieince: the rooms, the staff, the food, the service – everything was exceptional!

Ayvali is a small village approximately a 15-minute drive from Ürgüp that provides a most unique perspective of Cappadocia. While the hotel offers everything you'll need, short walks into the village were most gratifying for truly authentic small village life. My wife and I were invited into a family's home, and despite the fact that we shared no common language, ended up spending a memorable 1.5-hours – leaving with a bag full of fresh bread and vegetables from their garden! We also attended a wedding in Ayvali! Unforgettable!

It's worth noting: despite our overall extreme satisfaction with Gamirasu one issue did arise regarding transportation to the airport. Problems, of course, can happen anytime, anywhere on holiday. The true test of superior service is the response to adverse situations. In the face of this problem the response was immediate, appropriate and helped make things right.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank long_gone_train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
10.5 km away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
9.9 km away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#11 of 69 in Urgup
369 reviews
11.1 km away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
11.2 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#12 of 30 in Uchisar
750 reviews
10.4 km away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#20 of 69 in Urgup
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range: $173 - $885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing