We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel is set in a real cave. It is true luxury. We stayed in the Eagles Nest and it was an incredible suite. The grounds are stunning and unlike anything you have ever seen. We were blown away. The staff was truly something special. Best hotel staff in recent memory. I can see why they get all the service awards they do. Stay here for a truly special, romantic stay. We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carriebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 379 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

I recommend this hotel for romantic couples, not for intrepid and very urban travelers like me. It was part of my package, so... but it is a good hotel. You must have in mind: it is so far from downtown! Prices (at its own restaurant) are expensive (and they charge you in Euros, not Turkish Lires). The breakfast is included (very good). Service is great, no complaints - and the rooms are really nice: good amenities and lots of towels.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrahimbastutan, Owner at Gamirasu Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review . It is really nice to hear your are recommending our place for romantic couples and you have enjoyed your stay with us .
The menu prices are not only Euros but also Turkish Liras , our clients has a chance to pay which currency they prefer , even USD . The close towns ,the first one MustafaPaşa is only 5 km and the second one Urgup is only 10 km far away to our hotel. We also provide a free service from / to MustafaPaşa and Urgup city center requested any time between 08:30 am and 23:30 pm everyday .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This place is incredible.The site is truly Cappadocia, the rooms are built in the mountain so you feel like you've travel in time once you're there. Each room is different, but all of them are beautifully decorated. Ours had a little terrace with a table and two chairs that overlooked the pool. It was huge!Impeccable and very well appointed. The restroom was big and had a tub and a shower.
Staff was very friendly and always willing to help. Always trying to meet our needs. Everybody always with a smile. We were here with a group on 24 people and everyone had a pleasant experience.
The food was great. Breakfast delicious with lots of choices, eggs made to order. Dinner was also very good.
We had a wonderful time here. Wish to go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karla014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Over the years I have had the opportunity travel extensively throughout Europe and the United States. I have stayed in all sorts of hotels including as few castle hotels, but I have to say, that our recent stay at the Gamirasu Cave Hotel was one of the best experiences we have ever had. The rooms were luxurious and the whole hotel staff went above and beyond the call of duty in making us feel welcome. The food was out of this world and the excellent service from Osam and Mustafa was some of the best I ever had. The combination of the great rooms, excellent food, service and the live entertainment made for a truly magical stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This is not a luxury five star resort, but it is the perfect place to stay when visiting Cappadocia. Some of the rooms are actually built into caves, while others are simulated with rock material on and around the actual caves. But the whole experience is a wonderful balance of authenticity and comfort. You're in an isolated location in a not-so-developed part of Turkey, but then you get inside to find comfortable beds, jacuzzi tubs, a large living room area...

Best of all are the staff. They work long shifts, but all maintain a positive attitude and try hard to be helpful and quick. When the hotel itself ends up being one of the top attractions on your trip, you know they must be doing something right.

Room Tip: Make sure to check out their own historical attraction, an early Christian church built into one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
10.5 km away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
9.9 km away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#9 of 69 in Urgup
365 reviews
11.2 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#12 of 30 in Uchisar
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
11.4 km away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
10.9 km away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#9 of 30 in Uchisar
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range: $143 - $883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing