We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic place in Cappadocia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gamirasu Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I was at Gamirasu hotel for three nights during the this past summer. Arriving from the the airport to Ayvali is like being transported to what real Turkey is and not were rest of tourist go. Ayvali is a really beatiful small village 10 km away from Urgup, the closest big city around. The 10 minutes driving from Urgup to the hotel gives you a great oportunity to enjoy the breathtaken views from the valley were the hotel is located. Transportation is really easy and is not an issue.

One of the best things in the Hotel was the staff. The were very friendly and helpful. They made you feel like you were at home.
The room I stayed was really special and beatiful. The bed was really confortable, furniture was awesome and there were everything you may need during your stay.

Sleeping in a cave room feeling the turkish atmosphere was really captivating. I felt in love with Cappadocia and I hope I can came back soon. For sure, Gamirasu hotel will be my choice.

Carmen

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CarmenBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 691 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2008

We weren't sure what it was going to be like to stay in the cave suite on our honeymoon, but it was certainly a unique experience that we'll always remember.

The trip in had us a bit concerned - we rented a car and drove to the hotel, got lost a bit and finally found it by working our way through a village. The village is a bit run-down, which detracted a bit from the hotel honestly. We also expected the hotel to be more spread out with more property, but it was nestled between two cliff walls. Once we settled in though we were happy with the accomodations.

The room itself is hard to compare to other experiences. I mean, it's a cave. At first it was a bit strange to be staying there but once we learned more about the region and its history, it made more sense to us to be staying in a cave and we felt more cozy there. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was pretty nice and modern.

The hotel staff were very nice and accomodating - they set us up with a wonderful guide named Remzi. He had been giving tours of the region for 22 years and had a true passion for history and for his work. Having a guide really made the time we spent there much more interesting and worthwhile, and we wouldn't have done it had the hotel staff not mentioned to us that we could.

The food was very good - not incredible but satisfying. We liked eating some of the local foods. In particular, we loved the soups (yogurt, lentil were very tasty). It was a bit pricey though - 28 Euro was a lot for the amount and overall quality of the meal. Also, the wine list did not specify that the prices were in Euro, so I had a small surprise when I checked out and settled the bill.

Overall we were very happy with our experience at the Gamirasu. If you're looking for the typical hotel experience there are plenty of other choices in Urgup, but if you want to experience Cappodocia in a more personal, local way this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yellowbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Lucky us (*-*) we chose well when we booked our recent trip to Turkey by using Tripadvisor.com. We booked our trip through the amazing Suleyman Cakir (www.cappadociatours.com) and Euphrates Tours. When Suleyman sent a proposed list of hotels, I asked for a cave hotel and he offered the Gumirasu Cave Hotel.

This is an amazing hotel, with just 21 rooms that are breathtaking. We were told that we were being upgraded to the honeymoom suite and that was fine with us. Our "room" was huge with a fireplace, sitting area, a large shower and a walkin sauna.

We had dinner there each night as the dinners are wonderful all prepared with fresh ingredients.

The only problem was that we were there just to eat and sleep, could have used a week rather than the three nights that we had. I loved the staff, very attentive, the food, our room, the quiet setting. This was a perfect place to relax and enjoy.

There are other cave hotels but they are too near discos etc while the Gamirasu Cave Hotel is away from everything, a definite plus. You will even get to meet and talk with the owner as he lives there as well.

Perfect perfect perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Micheljane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

The good: Lots of character – former monastery converted into a hotel. Has a chapel with Byzantine with paintings that are clearly deteriorating. They will probably be gone in a couple of years if no conservation work is done to preserve them. Small but beautiful grounds. Beautifully appointed rooms. Friendly staff (though some of the housekeepers looked a bit haggard. Quaint village filled with chickens, donkeys, and the semi-feral cats that seem to be everywhere in Turkey. Wonderful trail along stream behind hotel passes by many abandoned cave dwellings and – if you follow it as it winds around for about three kilometers – a nice range of “fairy chimneys”. It’s also possible to climb up along either side of the valley for walks along the rocks and orchards in the area. Residents of Ayvali are very friendly. Those that speak English will walk up and talk with you. When we walked into one shop to buy water, the owner shared his lunch with us, expecting no payment for bread and very tasty tomato dip that we ate. Other villager gave us directions to the local mineral spring where he (and later we) filled up empty bottles with the best mineral water I’ve ever tasted.

The bad: Tripadvisor lists this hotel in Urgup, a town of about 15,000 with a thriving tourist industry. In fact the property is in Ayvali, a village of 1,000 located thirty to forty minutes away from Urgup. Unless you’ve rented a car, expect to be completely isolated from other tourists unless you’re willing to pay a driver take you back into town and pick you up again. This was a problem for us when we wanted to have an impromptu dinner with friends staying in Urgup. Expect no night life in Ayvali. After dinner entertainment consists of solely of strolling through the largely empty streets, chatting with hotel workers and fellow guests, and playing with the many cats wander about the hotel property. This was fine for us, but may frustrate others. (Of course, the isolation of the hotel is part of its charm. Like I mentioned above, the village is safe, mostly clean and filled with many friendly people.) Dinners at the hotel cost 28 YTL per person. The dinners are undeniably tasty, but I felt that the hotel is gouging customers by charging so much. One way around this is to order a single meal and share it with your significant other. The portions are large enough to have a very filling meal this way. Also, there is also no selection in meals, no menu. If they’re serving meatballs tonight, expect to be eating meatballs. We were told there is another restaurant in the village, but it requires a reservation at least two hours in advance (from someone who can speak Turkish) because they need to fire up the tandoori oven. Our cave suite had some odd smells – smoky in the front (from the fireplace) and musty in the back (probably due to the spots of light green mold growing on the rough-cut rock ceiling above the shower). I didn’t notice the smells, but my wife found them a bit annoying.

The unexpected: Laundry service is inexpensive – 20 YTL to wash as many clothes as you can stuff in the plastic bag they provide.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank BillStickers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We have had an amazing staying at Gamirasu Hotel.

The Hotel is very nice, beautiful and clean.
The room was really big, with 2 bedrooms and the bathroom was very nice too.

The food at the Hotel is great, and the staff is very very kind and is always trying to make things perfect about your staying.

I strongly recommend people to stay here, and wish I had stayed more time there....

The only thing that is missing at this great hotel ia swimming pool, which would be great after a day out in Cappadocia...

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Linha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvali
10.5 km away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
9.9 km away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#9 of 69 in Urgup
368 reviews
11.1 km away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Perimasali Cave Hotel - Cappadocia
11.2 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 30 in Uchisar
748 reviews
10.4 km away
Golden Cave Suites
Golden Cave Suites
#22 of 69 in Urgup
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamirasu Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamirasu Cave Hotel

Address: Ayvali, Urgup 50400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Urgup > Ayvali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ayvali
Price Range: $173 - $869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamirasu Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gamirasu is the name of an exquisitely restored 35 rooms troglodyte cave house opened in 1998, in Ayvali Village near Urgup in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey. The hotel is located in a restored thousand-year-old Byzantine monastic retreat which offers modern conveniences without distracting from the spiritual feeling of the area which has been known to be inhabited for more than five thousand years. Gamirasu cave Hotel is featured in major international travel guides as one of the best cave hotels of Cappadocia. Recently Business Insider choose '' 50 incredible hotels you should sleep in during your lifetime '' It is also mentioned as a romantic escape for honeymoons in wedding magazines. A 12th century Byzantine Christian church forms part of the Gamirasu, and until recently, part of the hotel was still used by Christian monks. Much care has been taken to blend the historic facades with the natural curves of the Cappadocian landscape to preserve its traditional style and appearance whilst providing you with the utmost in modern conveniences. The finish is stylish and the atmosphere inviting and romantic. Indeed, it is the perfect honeymoon destination, with many couples choosing the intimate cave suites for access to some of the most breathtaking and unforgettable scenery in the world. The sense of tranquility and authentic village atmosphere around the Gamirasu is instantly soothing, with nothing to disturb you but the sound of birds and sumptuous aromas drifting across the warm air from the old Monastic kitchen. Breakfast consists of all local and organically grown produce, including freshly baked bread, clotted cream, honeycomb and fresh fruit. A 7km hiking trail departs from the front door of the hotel and follows a remote valley with a beautiful brook flowing down the middle. In every direction, you are surrounded by breathtaking views, extraordinary natural shapes and a myriad of cave-dwellings to explore. It really is the most mesmerizing of destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gamirasu Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamirasu Cave Urgup
Hotel Gamirasu Cave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing