We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“goa trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2010

goa is a bautiful place and this hotel made it a lot more beautiful.i ewnjoed my stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Thank gigobe4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,161 - 2,165 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2010

My friend and I (two hyper-active English girls in our early 30's) have recently just got back from a 2 week holiday with the fantastic Thomson Holidays at the Taj Holiday Village and I must say that it was pure luxury in everyway! It is located on Sinquerim beach which is not a big beach in length and within about 5 minutes of walking right out of the hotel beach gates you'll hit the beach of candolim. Nevertheless this section of the beach is heavily guarded by the hotels security and anyone pestering their guests are quickly ushered away which sometimes was extremely irritating especially if you wanted to buy something from the beach sellers and actually required their services. However I found this section of the beach highly entertaining, which I loved as it is home to the watersports companies and enjoyed watching the boys play cricket. Therefore the beach was our favourite place to be and never sat around the pool once, however there is only about 18 sunbeds on the beach so if you visit at a busy time in the season be sure to reserve yours in the morning.

We booked a sea view room which therefore entitled us to one of the detached sea facing bungalows complete with garden, table, chairs, hammock, sun lounger, door bell, and a newspaper that was delivered every morning. This was definately worth the extra money!

Our meal plan was half board which at first I regretted booking as there are so many fantastic restaurants in Goa but this actually worked out ok as the hotel are flexible and allow you to choose each day whether you want breakfast and lunch or breakfast and evening meal. Just to let you know throughout our stay the only thing that was buffet and self serve was breakfast, lunch and dinner were al la cart, but we dont know whether this was because the hotel was only half full. If you want a cheap lunch and dont want to stray far from your sunbed there are plenty of beach shacks around. We used the one situated first on the right towards candolim, the food was great and they will even come and get your food and drinks order and bring it to your sunbed, the food was cheap and tasted great also. We ate outside the hotel in many of the restaurants but my favourite has to be the famous Fiesta in Baga. Just get a taxi there from outside the gates of the hotel (its cheaper than the taxis inside the hotel gates) and you'll be there in 15 minutes. The food is as good as any Gordan Ramsey restaurant and the setting is even better, no wonder it has excellent write ups in all the travel guides! The hotel front desk will be happy to pre book any restaurants for you.

I can not write this review without giving a special mention to the hotel staff. From the guys in the restaurant to the lady who swept the garden path of my bungalow, it was always service with a smile and they were so geniune in their service. You can also use the amenties of the sister hotel The Taj Fort which is just a couple of minutes away in a courtesy car. We went for dinner and the service was just the same. Also their bar is definately worth a visit as it is very chic in style and overlooks the Fort, which looks beautiful lit up at night. I still preferred the Taj Holiday Village over the Taj Fort as the Holiday village was more traditional and its accomodation has more character and it also has a bigger section of the beach.

All thats left to say is that their are many places that you could stay in goa for a fraction of the price of the Taj Holiday Village, however if you want to treat yourself to something special this hotel is the one for you. Also it says a lot if you see some of the Indian cricket team and Indian ministers staying in the hotel also, as I thought if its good enough for them then its definately good enough for me!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We selected Taj Village Goa for our second anniversary after we couldn't get any accomodation at all in the much recommended Taj Exotica. We chose it over the Taj Aguada as it offered more privacy and quiet. We got a pretty nice and secluded cottage facing the beach on arrival ... the formalities were smooth and the staff friendly and courteous.For a couple of days we dined at the inhouse restuarant Cabana, but found the service really lax and had t wait long times for our orders. We started eating out of Aguada and found a lot many options there with the service extremely prompt.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NarayananVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Taj lives up to its name and is truly one of the best in hospitality industry. From the time we step in the hotel we get into the mood with musicians welcoming us with traditional goan songs, welcome drinks and a beads necklace. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious with a cozy balcony and amazing landscape views. The connected beach is very clean and you can use it at any hour of the day. There are small cottages done up in local goa's architecture, the pathways and the gardens are simply amazing and gives a feel of a private village. The reception people went out of the way to accommodate our many requests and helped us plenty with all the directions of the city at any time or hour. I think it was one of the best experiences i have ever had and would recommend taj to anyone travelling to goa. Me and my friends entered and left the hotel with a big smile on our faces. the stay at taj made our goa trip absolutely unforgettable

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garimatewari87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

This is one the best 5 star hotels in Goa and the only 5 star in North Goa.
I stayed at the Taj Aguada, the facilities are shared between Taj Holiday Village.
You can enjoy the facilities of both the hotels which are touching each other.
The rooms with a sea view are simply amazing, even the rooms which offer a view of the Aguada Fort.
Excellent buffets and excellent staff, go get yourself pampered...

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red_indian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sinquerim
4.5 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
33 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
10.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
2.3 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa

Address: Dando, Candolim, Sinquerim 403515, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Sinquerim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sinquerim
Price Range: $284 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa, is different, yet the same in many ways. Still the charming village, that flirts with the beach. Where fun lovers come for repeat doses of delight. There's a nice new buzz however. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the island bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Holiday Village, Goa Hotel Sinquerim
Taj Holiday Village Sinquerim
Taj Holiday Village Hotel Sinquerim
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa Goa/Sinquerim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing