We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta do Scoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I recently returned to Quinta Do Scoto for a long weekend break, the place is as lovely as we remember. Tony and Penny are gracious hosts and were only too pleased to provide us with details of excursions / information about restaurants and transport into Lisbon / Sintra.



We were glad to see that the complementary bottle of wine and soft drinks are still in the rooms. The spacious rooms are still spotlessly clean, quiet and the antique beds are very comfortable. We were able to enjoy the pool, sun loungers and utilise the BBQ one evening.



The Continental breakfast is excellent, fresh bread daily, cheeses, cold meats, yogurt, fresh fruit and a variety of cereals.



The Free Wi-Fi has been upgraded since our last visit and is very fast.



Please see my previous reviews for details of things to do in the area, but there is more than enough to keep you occupied between Lisbon, Sintra and the coast (Cascais / Estoril) all easily commutable from the local station (a 5 min walk) which is on a direct line into Lisbon, single ticket was around €2.60.



We really enjoyed our time back at the Quinta and will certainly be returning.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JRBR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Top service fantastic owners could not do enough for you.

Free wifi bottle of one of the best red wines I have tasted beer cans of pop and fruit all laid on for free as part of the room.

Fantastic breakfast laid on.

Tony is more than willing to taxi you to restaurants on a night willing to pick you up and drop you at airport.

I highly recommend the Quinta to everyone looking for a visit to stunning Portugal

Stayed: July 2017
Thank aetross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I stayed at the Quinta do Scoto for the best 5 days in a bed and breakfast I have ever experienced, the old manor house and barns have been restored and converted by the owners Tony and Penny to become an outstanding feature of the area, and well situated for easy access to all the cultural and places of interest in Lisbon. The rooms are spacious with antique style furniture well equipped with welcoming goodies ie well stocked fridge wine and fruits.
What I read on the Quinta website is only the minimum you will receive, Tony and Penny and daughter Charlotte made my stay very special by providing all the information and guidance I needed to visit all the attractions of Lisbon. It was very much like staying with family Tony and Penny would do anything within their power to make my stay as enjoyable as possible, even providing on several occasions free lifts to local amenities and rail station.
The continental breakfast was wholesome and varied with a flexible time table no getting up early after a late night. There are also excellent restaurants close to the Quinta with good food at reasonable prices.
I would heartily recommend this amazing Quinta to anyone looking for a base from which to tour the surrounding areas or just relax in comfort.
My only regret is i should have visited this wonderful place sooner and stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsteel1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Well how lucky we were to find this place. After 3 nights in Lisbon in a b & b we travelled to the Quinta . Tony & Penny, the owners, gave us directions from Rossio train station in Lisbon and Tony collected us from the train station , we didn't have a car, he gave us a short guided tour of the area and the local restaurants before arriving at the Quinta. Remember this place is more or less equi distance between Lisbon and Sintra and the perfect place to travel from to escape the city. The Quinta has been beautifully restored by Tony & Penny with a good eye for detail. We did our registration over a cool glass of wine and a beer. We were given info about the surrounding area.
We were then shown to our room Count Rendalo , WOW , 2 double beds loads of wardrobe space, draws, fruit, wine, and a massive bathroom with double basins , separate show and bath loads of towels and pool towels just gorgeous and as described on the web site . We spent the afternoon by the pool where there is a BBQ and a guest kitchen if you want to use it. In the evening we walked into the village and had a really good dinner at a local restaurant , good wholesome Portuguese food. The following day my daughter was due to arrive from Lisbon and TONY was really helpful about suggestions as to where she could leave her luggage while sightseeing round Lisbon as the left luggage was not open in Rossio Station , he just told her to ask at a hotel , she did and they agreed , thanks for the suggestion Tony.
The only sounds at night were those of the countryside.
The breakfast was a cold buffet with ample bread , cereals, jams etc tea coffee, juices everything one would expect, they don't do cooked breakfast but we were told this.
Off we went to Sintra and Charlotte, Tony & Pennys daughter drove us to the station. On our return we took a taxi from the station back to the Quinta as we didn't want to keep bothering Tony & Penny, but they would have collected us if we'd rung. My daughter arrived later and they collected her from the station.
The day we left we were going back into Sintra so we left our luggage at the Quinta and Tony arranged for the local taxi to collect our luggage and meet us in Sintra for our onwards journey to Cascais.
All I can say is this place is faultless it's everything and more you could expect and the perfect location to get out of the city.
Tony,Penny and Charlotte are the perfect hosts without being intrusive,and go above and beyond what we've ever been offered by any b&b or even hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank annette90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Where else can you stay where the owner drives you to the local restaurant so you'll be able to enjoy Portugal wine? Penny and Tony welcome you to their beautifully-restored property and make your stay memorable. We enjoyed our complimentary bottle of wine poolside. And we had the place to ourselves in early May. It is about a 15 minute drive into the town of Sintra. There is a lot to see in Suntra so wear your comfortable shoes!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank skczec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algueirao - Mem Martins
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
778 reviews
Pestana Sintra Golf
#7 of 15 in Sintra
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
The Late Birds Lisbon
The Late Birds Lisbon
#6 of 262 in Lisbon
288 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 262 in Lisbon
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18, | Melcas, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range: $121 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away with access to Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing