We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure to return”
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta do Scoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2017

My second visit to the Quinta Do Scoto, I'm not sure if you could call this just a B&B it is so much more..Lovely pool area, rooms are fantastic and enormous, beautifuly turned out. Penny, Charlotte & Tony make you feel so at home, hospitality to rival any major hotel, facilities to prepare your own meals, have a barbecue, simply glorious. local train 10 minutes walk, gets you into Lisbon, Sintra, Belem, Caiscais, the perfect location and without doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in and I will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: lower rooms give best access to pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dsmith102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

The Quinta do Scoto is a lovely place. Really unusual and a very welcome oasis in the middle of our crazy, busy trip to Europe. Tony and Penny and Charlotte are great people and have restored the Quinta lovingly and created a beautiful and special place. The story of the Quinta and their passion about restoring it is inspiring. The Quinta itself faithfully restored, beautiful rooms and the pool is wonderful. Breakfast only.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TGPhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Quaint, beautiful B&B in the country near Sintra. Our family visited in August and loved the place. Tony and family did a wonderful job restoring this Quinta and are so helpful and hospitable. They gave us great recommendations on restaurants and sights in the area. We can't wait to return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We booked the Quinta for family and friends to stay for the weekend of our wedding.

Tony and Penny were wonderful hosts, so very thoughtful and considerate throughout our stay; making sure that all our guests had breakfast in the morning (or early afternoon), arranging a local restaurant for 40 people at the last minute, preparing the BBQ area for our guests, chilling so many drinks for our guests in their freezer, driving some guests to the train station, and so many little considerations that added up to making us all feel very welcome - a home away from home.

As well having over 35 people staying at the Quinta, we invited other guests to join us for a BBQ and a day by the pool During our stay. Tony and Penny made everyone feel very welcome.

The Quinta itself is a beautiful historic building, carefully restored by Tony and Penny our guests could not believe that it is over 200 years old. The grounds are wonderful; so nice watching children run through the maze chasing chickens and dogs or running across the field when they spotted the horses.

Thank you so much Tony and Penny. Words aren't enough to say how thankful we are, Stuart and Alex.

We'll be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the end of July with our 6 year old grandson and my stepdaughter. It's one of the best holidays we've ever had. The quinta is gorgeous- lots of character, lovely pool and kept extremely clean. It's very quiet and relaxing. However, what really made this special for us was the hosts- Tony, Penny and Charlotte. They couldn't have been kinder or more helpful and their thoughtfulness didn't appear to be driven by a focus on the business but by a genuine desire to ensure we had the best time. We've never come across such unassuming, sincere hosts. Our stepdaughter has celiacs and was presented with a basket of gluten free bread and biscuits at breakfast every morning. Charlotte baked different cakes for breakfast each day. Breakfast was never exactly the same and there was always plenty. Both Tony and Penny gave advice and assistance on where to go and how to get there, offering us lifts and printing off train timetables etc. Nothing was too much trouble, everything was done with a smile calmly. The other guests were friendly and the kids played together. Will definitely stay again if we go back to that area and highly recommend it. Amazing experience. Can't think of any way they can improve. Absolutely loved it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anne-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algueirao - Mem Martins
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
790 reviews
Pestana Sintra Golf
#7 of 15 in Sintra
697 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
The Late Birds Lisbon
The Late Birds Lisbon
#5 of 274 in Lisbon
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 274 in Lisbon
428 reviews
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#9 of 274 in Lisbon
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18, | Melcas, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range: $130 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away with access to Lisbon, Sintra, Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing