We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orbitz.com
Vio.com
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
35
17
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
17
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very friendly and helpful staff ski boots great hotel eggs spa shower breakfast skiing location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2022

We loved our stay at the E xplorer Hotel Zilleftal. Perfectly situated, very friendly and helpful staff, and ideal location for skiing. We loved the breakfasts and the staff recommended the most amazing restaurants for dinner. Only discovered the spa at the end of the holiday-it’s awesome. Rooms are small, but very well laid out with everything you need. Will certainly be back.

Room tip: Top floor with balcony
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Manager, Marketing at Explorer Hotel Zillertal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2022

Dear Elizabeth,

many thanks for your perfect rating and your comment!

We are glad to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful ski holiday in Zillertal.
Great that you had a good start in the day with our healthy breakfast buffet with many regional items.
And yes, our team loves to give recommendations for the best restaurants nearby. :)

We regret that you only found out about the wellness area with mountain view at the end of your holiday. We usually tell our guests about it at the check-in.

Thank you for mentioning the well laid out design rooms with everything you need.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again, and wish you all the best in the meantime!

Best regards

Lukas & the entire Explorer Hotel Zillertal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2022

Pro's:
Location across from railway station Kaltenbach and within walking distance to ski lifts (10 minutes). Practical and modern rooms. Friendly staff. Early check-in and late check-out were possible against a small fee per person (upon availability).

Cons:
The hotel staff were very strict in adhering to the terms and conditions of my reservations and they showed close to no flexibility when I requested to make some small changes, more than one month before arrival. When I asked to change the number of guests per room the rate would increase dramatically. The responses I received lacked a sense of pragmatism and hospitality and they did not make me feel as welcome as I would have hoped.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pverburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Manager, Marketing at Explorer Hotel Zillertal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2022

Servus pverburg,

Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you liked the hotel concept, the location and the staff.
Each guest has the possibility to book a flexible rate, which can be rebooked and cancelled. In your case, you didn't choose to do so.
I still hope you come back.
Greetings from Kaltenbach

Lukas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff in perfect skiing location in Kaltenbach. Rooms were clean with lots of storage space, good breakfast and overall very fair prices.
Highly recommended hotel - we will visit again next year!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank niklas9012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DeinGastgeber, Manager at Explorer Hotel Zillertal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Hello Niklas9012,
yes - full score! thanks a lot for that
check out our homepage for nice deals for your next vacation!
We are looking forward to see you next year!
Have a great time
All the best
kind regards
manager monika and the explorer buddies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

We were a party of 6 friends staying in Kaltenbach for a long weekend on the slopes of Zillertal. The Explorer hotel suited us perfectly, located just a 5-minute walk from the main cable car.

All the staff were super-friendly, the rooms were modern and clean, and the breakfast was superb. A bright and cheerful hotel with the added bonus of an in-house spa to relax in at the end of the day.

The only disappointments were the absence of body soap and shampoo in the shower, and the lack of complimentary tea & coffee outside of breakfast time.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Ingofink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
DeinGastgeber, Manager at Explorer Hotel Zillertal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Dear Ingofink,

thanks a lot for your great feedback.

See you again.
Best regards,
Monika and the Explorer buddies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2019 via mobile

On the way to Germany, we had to stop for the night and we found out a very nice place for spending the winter holidays...or hiking in summer for who likes...Simple, clean, large room and modern style

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ziocapellone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
orundexhs, Manager at Explorer Hotel Zillertal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Dear Ziocapellone,
thanks a lot for your feedback!
Check out our homepage - there you'll find all the information about our 9 explorer hotels in the alps of Germany and Austria.
Yours sincerely manager Monika and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews