We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
29
31
16
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
31
16
7
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Not for most cyclists, this hotel is not in Grein which is beautiful, which is what we came to see. This hotel is 5km from Grein up a long steep windy road, great for a pro-cyclist but unsuitable for the average tourer. Place was a building site, literally!, fire escapes blocked with boxes, wood, tools and plastic, these were cleaned away some time later, building work started at 7:30, place was covered in scaffold and a large crane.
Food was average compared to the other hotels.
Gentleman/chef was helpful but the rest of the staff all seemed rushed and stressed. Wouldn't recommend this hotel - certainly not until it's finished!

Room Tip: not even near Grein, not for tourers
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Automation_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Stayed here as part of cycling tour. Comfortable rooms albeit they are undergoing refurbishment. Reception staff brusque and unwelcoming. Dinner (we were half board) was very poor: paella was a congealed mass dolloped in a dish......totally inedible. Dessert was semolina noodles with jam....yuk! We paid £20 each for that rubbish and made to feel like second class citizens just because we were part of a tour.....hotel needs to realise that we have paid good money to the operator and expect first class service and food....the waiting staff were really pleasant and tried their best to be helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HMG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We went to Austria for Christmas and stayed at this hotel.
Hotel - Very Good
Location - lonely area if we had not been on a coach tour would have been very very isolated.
Staff - Excellent
Food - very good, different but plenty of it.
Only problem was that guests were able to smoke anywhere in the hotel and being a non smoker found very intrusive.

Room Tip: The hotel is currently being altered so could not give and accurate decision, however, the plans look really good.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We came as a family group on a coach tour. Having reviewed the hotel prior to arrival I was slightly concerned and when we arrived in the dark to see scaffolding and a large crane I was not optimistic. However....the rooms were generally good, although my mother-in-law had a very small single. she complained and got changed it was just about passable though. The food and amenities were excellent, as were the staff. The location is stunning and once the extension is complete it will be near perfect. I went on several walks in the mountains/hills...still, calm and serene tranquility. On balance i thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Stayed as part of cycle tour. Room was one of the 'better' ones with balcony. Room cramped with beds that are NOT suitable for anybody over six feet tall. Wifi didn't work in room. Food served was very limited and of very average quality. The impression I got was that no guest had selected this place but had been dumped there by their tour company .
Marooned at the top of a hill , there was no place else to go. It would have been nice if there had been some form of entertainment (eg somebody with a guitar) to make this feel like a holiday rather than a holding place for package tourists. Off to Melk next.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Danny064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews