We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm place with ocean view”
Review of Colina da Faja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colina da Faja
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Getting to Colina da Fajã is a little bit of an adventure, first of all because not all navigation systems seem to be able to direct you to the address. I used two different ones and always as led to the village Fajã da Ovelha which does actually sound right. After a bit one realizes though that the B&B is elsewhere on the map, higher up.
So coming from Funchal and Prazeres don't follow the last road sign down into Fajã da Ovelha but keep going until you see a sign on the left pointing down a small alley to the B&B, right in front of a bar and mini market.
Furthermore be prepared for a steep road down and try to postpone worrying about how to ever get back up. There is parking in front of the house and I think it is advisable to turn the car around when you get there should there be space enough.

Once you're there you'll appreciate the beautiful ocean view from the balcony, the terrace and the small but great infinity pool. This is actually one of the features I liked most about the house; that there are various shared seating areas both outside and inside where one can plan the next trip or simply read a book.

The rooms are spacious with wooden floor panels and mine had a door to the balcony which also had access to the pool. The only disadvantage in that part of the house is that you have to go a couple of meters for Internet.

Breakfast had everything but hot milk for a nice galão. I have had better on the island but it was still good.

All in all I would recommend the place to people who prefer tranquility over the proximity to a town with opportunities for. shopping and partying.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2016

Upon arrival there was no one at the reception, we had to search throughout the hotel.

Our "Superior" room was on 3rd floor, we had to drag up the suitcases ourselves; no elevator!

The room itself was spacious but sparingly furnished, the wooden floor by the door to the French balcony full of stains, one of the windows closed badly. The room was cold and the heating was turned off; we weren’t able to get warm that night, so we went to bed wearing fleece jackets and socks (the present extra blanket we did not dare to use, it was not clean). Later it turned out that the heating was on a timer; not very useful if it is wet and cold and you want to stay at the hotel with a good book! The internet connection consisted of a dead loose UTP cable; there was wifi on the ground floor and first floor though.

Our bathroom was cold also and upon turning on the radiator water squirted out of the pipes. A bath was not present, only a shower that came with a floor full of cracks and a hole; the shower hose was moldy. A fan located on the ceiling responded to movement with a loudly humming (even in the middle of the night when everyone was asleep). The fan wasn’t properly fixed and could drop down anytime. The towels were frayed.

Breakfast was possible during one hour. There was only one breakfast table which was suited for 12 guests (they have 9 twin rooms). You could also have breakfast in the lobby at a coffee table, but in that case, you had to lay the table yourself. There was insufficient dishware and cutlery; during breakfast staff had to do the dishes. Most teapots had a broken spout. The boiled eggs we had to eat with a spoon, apparently there were not enough teaspoons for everyone.

The hotel itself was badly in need for a lot of maintenance: rotten window frames, peeling paint, holes in the stucco, etc. The “heated” pool was only about 3 by 3 meters and not heated. As said, the heating in the hotel was on timer, so most guests walked around in a fleece jacket.

You could cook small meals yourself in the "kitchen" (where the plaster fell from the walls). A restaurant is not present on the premises.

During our stay on Madeira it was wet and too cold for the time of the year. Under normal weather conditions some of the shortcomings wouldn't be noticed. We however do not recommend this hotel, it is uninviting and unkempt and definitely not worth four stars, in our opinion not even two. We were glad we could change to another hotel on short notice; high praise for our travel agency!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hendrik077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015

This hotel really lives up to its beautiful pictures - everything was new and spotless clean, wonderful peaceful surroundings for holidays. It offers a pool and roof terrace with views over the sea (waaay below), a fire and big common room inside.
Breakfast is served at one big table (which doesn't have space for all rooms at once, but that wasn't an issue at least when we were there), which can be good or bad, depending how social you feel in the mornings. For us, it was quite a nice atmosphere.
The downside of the hotel is the location: It is basically in the middle of nowhere, there is no restaurant in walking distance to have dinner at (the hotel DOES have a fully equipped kitchen for guests to use though!), and the hotel is down a very, VERY steep hill. There is parking right at the hotel, but getting up the hill can be frightening: We had to use first gear and full gas, hoping no one was coming down around the corner while we were trying to go up without stalling the motor.
Also the neighbouring plots of land looked a bit unkempt, which might change soon (they looked like there might be some development going on soon, also it was only just spring when we arrived, so may look different in summer). At the moment, views of the immediate surroundings aren't the nicest, so keep your eyes on the sea.
Another annoying thing was that it was impossible to contact the hotel: I had booked through a third party, and tried to contact them about my booking, but never received any reply to my emails or messages on social media.
Staff was very friendly but didn't speak much English. Wifi was available in our room, but apparently didn't reach the upper floor of the hotel, so those guests had to come to the common areas to use wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyArctica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A unique hotel! The location on the Western side of Madeira Island is special, high above the Sea at 700 m! The room we had was very large (about 40 m2) with unrestricted view over the Sea. Communication with the owner during reservation was easy, and the staff was friendly, proficient and always helpful. The hotel is about 8 years old. It is in most parts new, just some room-related issues, not critical to visitors but somewhat bothersome, keep it from giving the 5th star.

Madeira during Spring can still be cool, especially at this altitude. We were very happy that there was central heating. A funny item is the availability of only one breakfast table: It has its advantages, as opinions flow freely about destinations, good restaurants and levadas worthwhile to visit.

If you are looking for a place to stay in Western Madeira, this place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Levada Nova flows through the property, try it out towards the West. Perhaps the part from Pedre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miehinkisaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for one week. The hotel is very nice. Right above the little town faja de ovelha about 700m above the sea. The personal was very nice. Every morning, we had breakfast with many other hotel guests. THW man disadvantage is that the hotel is in the nowhere. You need definitly a car to get to a restaurant er to tourisitc attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastian_ohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faja da Ovelha
9 km away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,350 reviews
16.2 km away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
506 reviews
26.6 km away
Quinta Do Estreito
Quinta Do Estreito
#1 of 1 in Camara De Lobos
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
439 reviews
18.1 km away
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sao Vicente
196 reviews
1.4 km away
Paul do Mar Sea View Hotel
Paul do Mar Sea View Hotel
#1 of 1 in Paul do Mar
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina da Faja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina da Faja

Address: Sito de S. Joao, Faja da Ovelha, Calheta, Madeira 9370-303, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Faja da Ovelha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Faja da Ovelha
Price Range: $70 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina da Faja 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colina da Faja is the ideal place for nature lovers and walkers who wish to discover the beauty of Madeira Island trough the "Levadas" (walking trails constructed to transport water). In front of the house, you can enjoy one of the most beautiful and long Levadas called Levada Nova. It starts on Ribeira Brava and ends in a small village after Ponta do Pargo. This small house, with 9 rooms, is situated in Faja da Ovelha, Calheta, in the south west coast of Madeira Island. This is both the sunniest and most intact side of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colina da Faja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing