We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
13
16
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
16
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rental car shampoo colina tv beds
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Upon arrival there was no one at the reception, we had to search throughout the hotel.

Our "Superior" room was on 3rd floor, we had to drag up the suitcases ourselves; no elevator!

The room itself was spacious but sparingly furnished, the wooden floor by the door to the French balcony full of stains, one of the windows closed badly. The room was cold and the heating was turned off; we weren’t able to get warm that night, so we went to bed wearing fleece jackets and socks (the present extra blanket we did not dare to use, it was not clean). Later it turned out that the heating was on a timer; not very useful if it is wet and cold and you want to stay at the hotel with a good book! The internet connection consisted of a dead loose UTP cable; there was wifi on the ground floor and first floor though.

Our bathroom was cold also and upon turning on the radiator water squirted out of the pipes. A bath was not present, only a shower that came with a floor full of cracks and a hole; the shower hose was moldy. A fan located on the ceiling responded to movement with a loudly humming (even in the middle of the night when everyone was asleep). The fan wasn’t properly fixed and could drop down anytime. The towels were frayed.

Breakfast was possible during one hour. There was only one breakfast table which was suited for 12 guests (they have 9 twin rooms). You could also have breakfast in the lobby at a coffee table, but in that case, you had to lay the table yourself. There was insufficient dishware and cutlery; during breakfast staff had to do the dishes. Most teapots had a broken spout. The boiled eggs we had to eat with a spoon, apparently there were not enough teaspoons for everyone.

The hotel itself was badly in need for a lot of maintenance: rotten window frames, peeling paint, holes in the stucco, etc. The “heated” pool was only about 3 by 3 meters and not heated. As said, the heating in the hotel was on timer, so most guests walked around in a fleece jacket.

You could cook small meals yourself in the "kitchen" (where the plaster fell from the walls). A restaurant is not present on the premises.

During our stay on Madeira it was wet and too cold for the time of the year. Under normal weather conditions some of the shortcomings wouldn't be noticed. We however do not recommend this hotel, it is uninviting and unkempt and definitely not worth four stars, in our opinion not even two. We were glad we could change to another hotel on short notice; high praise for our travel agency!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hendrik077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015

This hotel really lives up to its beautiful pictures - everything was new and spotless clean, wonderful peaceful surroundings for holidays. It offers a pool and roof terrace with views over the sea (waaay below), a fire and big common room inside.
Breakfast is served at one big table (which doesn't have space for all rooms at once, but that wasn't an issue at least when we were there), which can be good or bad, depending how social you feel in the mornings. For us, it was quite a nice atmosphere.
The downside of the hotel is the location: It is basically in the middle of nowhere, there is no restaurant in walking distance to have dinner at (the hotel DOES have a fully equipped kitchen for guests to use though!), and the hotel is down a very, VERY steep hill. There is parking right at the hotel, but getting up the hill can be frightening: We had to use first gear and full gas, hoping no one was coming down around the corner while we were trying to go up without stalling the motor.
Also the neighbouring plots of land looked a bit unkempt, which might change soon (they looked like there might be some development going on soon, also it was only just spring when we arrived, so may look different in summer). At the moment, views of the immediate surroundings aren't the nicest, so keep your eyes on the sea.
Another annoying thing was that it was impossible to contact the hotel: I had booked through a third party, and tried to contact them about my booking, but never received any reply to my emails or messages on social media.
Staff was very friendly but didn't speak much English. Wifi was available in our room, but apparently didn't reach the upper floor of the hotel, so those guests had to come to the common areas to use wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyArctica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A unique hotel! The location on the Western side of Madeira Island is special, high above the Sea at 700 m! The room we had was very large (about 40 m2) with unrestricted view over the Sea. Communication with the owner during reservation was easy, and the staff was friendly, proficient and always helpful. The hotel is about 8 years old. It is in most parts new, just some room-related issues, not critical to visitors but somewhat bothersome, keep it from giving the 5th star.

Madeira during Spring can still be cool, especially at this altitude. We were very happy that there was central heating. A funny item is the availability of only one breakfast table: It has its advantages, as opinions flow freely about destinations, good restaurants and levadas worthwhile to visit.

If you are looking for a place to stay in Western Madeira, this place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Levada Nova flows through the property, try it out towards the West. Perhaps the part from Pedregal to the end is the nicest (about 7 km). Another interesting area is the Levada do Janela - but follow it only during the first hour (to the third table). Thereafter, the abyss to the side is extremely steep. It's not really getting nicer either, as the valley narrows and view perspectives get smaller.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miehinkisaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for one week. The hotel is very nice. Right above the little town faja de ovelha about 700m above the sea. The personal was very nice. Every morning, we had breakfast with many other hotel guests. THW man disadvantage is that the hotel is in the nowhere. You need definitly a car to get to a restaurant er to tourisitc attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastian_ohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a really nice hotel. It has 9 quite modern rooms and is a very good choice for the west end area of madeira. This is not a touristic place but very modern and silent. The infinity pool is small but really refreshing and nicely made. Note, that breakfast ist served in the little kitchen of the house, so if the hotel is fully booked and everybody comes for breakfast at the same time (what actually happened) it can be quite full down there and you need to wait. All guests are sitting at one big table at breakfast. Really an advantage: after the breakfast, the kitchen can be freely used by the guests and this offer was really enjoyed by the guests when we were here, and so we cooked our own dish as well one day. There is even an extra fridge just for the guests. Sufficient but narrow parking space is available directly at the hotel. It is a bit hard to find and the street down to the hotel is really steep. Going up by car again is a small challenge.. do not rent the weakest/smallest car when going there. Towels are not changed daily, this must be improved. Also provided toilettries (shower gel, shampoo etc.) are only provided on the day of arrival -> why? I pay the same nightly rate everyday, so there should be the same service everyday. Staff, however, is very nice and helpful. Wifi is available for free in the public areas but not in the hotel rooms, but there are sockets for cables, so if you own a personal wifi-hotspot device for cable connections, bring that for ensuring sufficient coverage. All rooms are equipped with a digital satellite receiver that has all local and international stations available. The TVs are flat screens but with just approx. 17" picture size. Note, that all double beds are very narrow, just 1,40m. Beds are quite hard. Those, as well as its linens could be really improved. Rooms are also in general a bit too humid. We recommend driving to Prazeres for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews