We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with rambling group”
Review of The Full Moon

The Full Moon
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Southwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The New menu at The Full Moon incorporates fresh local produce and original recipes with a unique flare for presentation and good honest cooking. The dishes are stylish and modern with classic taste. Eye catching starters and hearty mains. Try the new experience now.
Reviewed 7 June 2017

What a delightful place,trendy pub, beautifully and tastefully decorated and they put on a special lunch menu just for out walking group! It was an awful day weather wise but the pub was inviting and the lady who served us was very pleasant. We had a great table, all together and our food was all served at the same time.
My haddock and chips was well cooked and the portion was not too huge for lunch time, my husband had a chicken baguette which was well filled and very tasty. The men in our group all said the beer was well kept and my glass of Sauvignon Blanc was just right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Stopped here on a Sunday lunchtime. Enjoyed a sharing platter of meats, baked camembert, olives and bread sat out in the garden. Helpful polite staff, clearly quite busy and having some issues with the till system it seemed, but overall, keen to ensure we got what we wanted. Nice feel to the place, clean and tidy and a well maintained garden.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maudzmxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missctg, General Manager at The Full Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to The Full Moon Inn. Pleased you were able to dine alfresco and enjoy your lunch in the sunshine. Hope to see you again soon - Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

In March the Moon hosted a birthday lunch for my mother for over 30 people. It was exceptional in every way and everybody continues to say how much they enjoyed the Moon and the food. The food was not only delicious but the service was very good, the staff moved amongst the tables unobtrusively and all the food arrived quickly and at the right temperature. It was a lovely occasion, week it isn't everyday someone is 95 !
Thank you to all the staff and to Cathy and her team for looking after us so well. We have been back a couple of times since and it has not disappointed and we have no hesitation in recommending the Moon to anyone who will listen !
Thank you once again.

Thank JCKrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missctg, Manager at The Full Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was lovely to see you all again when you recently returned to The Full Moon, and I hope it won't be too long before we see you again. Kind regards Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We (4 of us) were on a 2 week holiday through the UK starting in Edinbourgh and winding through towards London. One our stops was In Southwell. We arrived at our Air BNB in Morton late on a Sunday afternoon. After unpacking we decided to head around the corner to the local pub (full moon). My wife and I headed over ahead of my wife;s mom and son. We walked in and inquired if they were serving food and sadly they were not as it was late Sunday. We decided to enjoy a pint of local ale until the other 2 arrived. We were advised of another pub a few minutes walk that did serve food. Through casual conversation with a lovely couple sitting at the bar we soon discovered they were the owners, Cathy and Paul. When the other 2 in our party arrrived we explained to them that we could enjoy a beverage but would have to go elsewhere for food. At that moment Cathy and Paul said no....you have been travelling and are tired, we will whip something up for you. A few minutes later they came out with a couple of trays of gourmet cheeses, breads, scotch eggs and moore. It was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! They were very gracious and appreciative that we were visiting and went out of their way to make us feel like VIP's. They were our first exposure to the Southwell area and it is part of why our time in Southwell stands out as the most memorable of our twoo week visit.

The atmosphere is bright and a great mixture of new and old decour. Cathy and Paul are so lovely and enjoyable to talk with....we plan on returning and will definitely have a few pints and food here again...only this time we will be paying guests.

This is a must do if you are ever near Morton......

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank twopiratestavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missctg, General Manager at The Full Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. It was a pleasure to meet you all when you recently stayed in Morton and popped into The Full Moon.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the snacks that Paul rustled up for you.

We look forward to meeting up with you again when you return to the UK, and wish you lots of luck with your book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Visited on a Monday as all mains which are normally £10 and above are £7 all day on a Monday. I had the stilton burger and fries. The burger was huge! The burger within the bun must have been an inch thick and tasted home made, beautifully cooked with loads os melted stilton and bacon within. Side salad and fries were also nice. Mrs H had crispy chicken with leeks and potatoes which was presented as if the chef was competing in Masterchef! Good friendly prompt service and good range of real ales in a really homely atmosphere. I'll be back!

Thank BJHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Full Moon also viewed

Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to The Full Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing